Peeps! Help! Suggestions needed for removing litter box

Mew. It has been too long. I wouldn’t blame everyone for abandoning the Miao Chronicles. I’ve been a very neglectful for the last few months… years…? But for any of you who are still here, I need some advice! (with the promise of photos for the future)

Ever since Sprocket was a kitten we have had a litter box upstairs. When he was a teensy three-legged kitten, he needed something a little closer than the basement, and then of course everyone else started using it. Well, the time has come to banish it back to the basement where the other litter boxes are. Currently it is in a very aesthetically unpleasing place and I have wanted to get rid of it for a while now but I have hesitated because I don’t want the Miao kitties to rebel. They are very very good about their litter boxes and I don’t want that to change.

Any suggestions for making this transition smoother?

Should I just remove it and hope for the best?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Peeps! Help! Suggestions needed for removing litter box

  1. Drude says:

    Oh-oh never mess with teh litter box!
    I would maybe try to do it gradually.. move it a foot a day or something… of course that will make it transit some areas that are even less aesthetically pleasing.. but maybe everybody will get the general drift and accept the changes.
    Well, really, if it were me and my house, I would keep it upstairs but make it more aesthetically pleasing and as practical as possible – Screen it off, stick it in a bathroom where it’s easy to clean everything thoroughly and regularly, make a pretty poo-cabinet…

  2. I clicked the “like” button for Drude’s advice. When I had to place the litter box in an area that could be seen by guests when they used the bathroom, I got rid of the old plastic tray and replaced it with a litter igloo—it’s essentially a deep litter tray with a cute plastic “hut” that clipped on over it. Cat loved it. I think yours would too.

    Good seeing you back again. Hope everything has been all right for you and the Miao family.

    • littlemiao says:

      Ooh, those igloos look like they have a lot of potential. I should have been using one for years!

      Miss you! I am so out of touch…

      • Drude says:

        I have a ginormous covered box, it came with a transparent door flap, which I never even tried getting Urracá to understand… I just took it off… because – as many pointy bits as he has… he’s not the sharpest knife in the box.. and I really didn’t want to confuse him about his toilet. The cover was good for his insisting on peeing while standing up (i.e. out of the box), but it made the box a ‘dead end’ where he could corner Kitty which was not always so good… But as long as any low ranking skeeredy cats have alternative options it should all be good.

  3. aheikkinen says:

    Have been missing you, the kitties and your pictures. The above advice are good. If it doesn’t work what about calling Jackson the cat behaviorist.

  4. Lauri says:

    Yep! They said what I was going to say! Slowly creeping litter box!

    I haven’t been any better about posting!

  5. So nice to see you again! The slowly creeping box might just work…..also they make some incredibly NICE looking “cabinets/furniture” that conceals a litter box if you feel you just don’t dare remove it from the first floor area. As Sammy gets older and the basement stairs leading down to where his litterbox is located become more difficult to navigate, we’re thinking of the “furniture” option ourselves……..hope to see some photo updates soon!!

    Hugs, Pam (and Sammy)

  6. GanLu says:

    There’s a type of round litterbox that Joe has for Bungalow, it’s like an igloo with a little ramp going in, the ramp catches the litter from their feet on the way out. If you don’t move the litterbox altogether, I recommend getting this kind. Also, Cassie was recently talking about looking for an entertainment console type thing with double doors that open out, cutting a hole in the side for the cats to go in and out, then no one would be able to tell from looking at it that there’s a litter box inside, but you can just open the double doors and pull it out to clean it.

    • Lurkertype says:

      Foxy! Good to hear that Bungalow is still around in her multi-colored cuteness.

      Some cats don’t like enclosed igloos or cabinets. Our Miss Tortie is one of them. IIRC, Redzilla made a fancy painted screen to hide her cat box that was open at the top.

  7. Mark's Mews says:

    Maybe let it get so full nokitty wants ta use it and so goes for the other ones (which will be impeccably clean of course). Then remove the full one…

  8. Redscylla says:

    I once built a screen to hide the litter box when I lived in a tiny house. It made it a bit better, but then I’ve never had any troubles moving the litter box, either. Typically I just put it in the place I wanted, showed kitties where it was, and gave the old location a good cleaning with Nature’s Miracle.

  9. I say move it one step at a time down the stairs throughout the week. Every few hours just walk by and slide it a couple of steps lower.

  10. leendadll says:

    I tend to just go for it with the change. But I also have a billion cats who sometimes ignore the boxes anyway – so I’m clearly not the right person to give advice.
    What about moving the box downstairs but putting a much smaller box in it’s place as a transition thing? And maybe using some litter attractant in the downstairs boxes to encourage only going there?

    Also, cheaper than Nature’s Miracle is some Fabuloso (usually $1.49 for concentrate) which i find works just as well… sometimes better (sometimes not).

    Nice to see you again.

  11. LittleM!!!!! ((((((happyhugs))))))) I’m so happy to see you!!!
    Wow – litter boxes! I wouldn’t move it unless I could do it maybe an inch a day. Seriously. I did that with the upstairs box I [stupidly] placed when I adopted Pickles and Mila. They have two other boxes downstairs; the upstairs one was supposed to be an “extra” just for emergencies. But they liked it, used it vigorously, and I ended up with litter dust attacking a TV set so I decided to move it to another room about 10ft away, down a hall. I dragged it about 1 inch per day, took forever, but they adapted nicely. Yes, having it in the hallway for a few days was weird but they didn’t mind and I was OK knowing it would eventually be in a better place – the bathroom. Also, I like having boxes on both floors: (1) I need to separate the girls for meals (one upstairs and one downstairs) and (2) they sometimes shut the door to the downstairs when I’m not around. It’s more work but totally worth it.

    Btw – I’m using my other account now (if you want to see new posts):
    https://robinkingartist.wordpress.com/newsupdates/

    Gosh, I’m glad you’re back! I hope all’s well!!!

    🙂

    • littlemiao says:

      Thank you, Robin! Miss you! Thanks for the input! I want to think that the Miao kitties wouldn’t mind if the upstairs litter box just vanished, but that would be tempting fate. Because of the layout of the house, moving it inch by inch I would have to move it through the kitchen. Which really isn’t much worse than where it is now…

Miao & Purr!

