Mouse Season has started

I had to take care of a second dead mouse today. Disposing of dead mice is not labor that I am suited to, but today I had no one else to rely on. Neither the Miao Brothers nor the Miaolings were going to do it for me. The Miaolings, in fact, made every attempt to prevent me from messing with their (Chun’s) mouse.

I like mice. I don’t like dead mice. The other night, Chun brought me a bouncy ball when I was in bed. He placed it on my leg and made the sweet noise he makes when he wants to play fetch. Even though it had been ages since a Mouse Sighting, in my sleep I thought it was a Mouse, and I screamed. It hurt Chun’s feelings.

However, the real dead mice did not make me scream because the horror of having to deal with them myself paralyzed my vocal cords. Now I am afraid to go to bed because Chun might bring me a real dead mouse, but in my sleep I will think it is a bouncy ball and I will throw it for him to play fetch.


Untitled by Miao Miao Miao on 500px.com

Chun never wears his little blue beret while mousing.

This entry was posted in chun and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Mouse Season has started

  1. Redscylla says:

    The beret is not appropriate hunting gear. Maybe he needs a little mouse stalker cap. As for the mice themselves, just be glad if they’re bringing you dead mice. My Minerva used to bring me mice that had merely been maimed. That… is not a pleasant thing to deal with.

    • littlemiao says:

      Awww, a mouse stalker cap would be so cute.

      I am lucky the mouses from yesterday were both dead. Often that is not the case. Sometimes my father manages to rescue the not-dead mousies and take them into the back yard, where they are welcome to live in the tool shed with the rabbits and chipmunks.

  2. Ha! If I was a mouse, I would be both hypnotized and terrified by those beautiful, deadly blue eyes. But yah, dead mouse disposal duty is never pleasant. My Eliza used to bite the heads off, so it was especially gruesome. I still cringe when I recall the time she left the corpse of one of her victims under the breakfast table, and I discovered it with my foot as I was eating toast. Yeesh.

    • littlemiao says:

      ugh. Thankfully the only times there have been mouse guts visible, my father has been around to take care of them. *shudders* Chun seems to derive the most pleasure from carrying them around in his mouth until they die of fright or compression injuries. I’m so glad he’s not of the decapitation school of mousing.

  3. Lauri says:

    I dislike stepping in mouse guts with my toes.
    ‘Tis the season, I guess. Ick!

  4. taphian says:

    Is this a French cat?

  5. Yikes! It would be a bit icky to be presented with a dead mouse in the dark and think it’s a toy…..Chun is trying to provide you with a midnight snack I guess…..!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  6. You should go get some steel wool and start stuffing it where the meeces might be coming in. Ideally, you won’t have as many unwelcome house guests

    • Oldcat says:

      The mice will think you want them to help with the dishes and run away.

    • littlemiao says:

      It’s an old house with a scary, spiderwebby basement and I’m not exactly sure where to look… I can, of course, have my father do it, but how to identify their mouse holes would be the question. there is one room in the basement that I don’t dare even enter. I haven’t been in there for 10 or more years…

  7. Jaypo says:

    He needs a net.

    I found tons of mouse poopies on our back porch last month and knew they were planning break in if possible. The smell of Mishoo didn’t seem to phase them AT ALL, cuz he’s always out there. I did what CapnSteph suggested but couldn’t find a place they could get in.

    • littlemiao says:

      that’s what I’m afraid will happen – I won’t be able to find their entries. And I’ll get spiderwebs in my hair, and spiders and centipedes, while I am looking.

      Maybe Mishoo is the mousies’ friend.

  8. lauowolf says:

    Doc has been bringing in SMALL RATS for weeks.
    I think Sextus catches them and gives the to the boy, because he is besotted with him.
    And because once Doc has them inside he seems to have no idea how to deal with them and loses them.
    Or plays with them roughly until they squeek, and then lets them go.
    I am rather tired of all this, I confess.

    • littlemiao says:

      Yikes. Well, at least Doc seems polite to his rats. Squeaking produces the opposite effect in my Miaolings.

      It happened again, just now. I was asleep until the Miaolings woke me. Around midnight. I thought Sprocket was being silly in the laundry pile, but he was actually being silly with a dead mouse in the laundry pile. Chun watched from the doorway with a benevolent brotherly air. Makes me think this mouse was Sprocket’s catch. He must have been pretty fast to be the one to get it, and Chun, rather than being upset, was proud of him.

      I wonder how many more members of this particular mouse family I will see before my father gets home and resumes mouse disposal duty.

      Because the door doesn’t latch, it is impossible for me to lock the Miaolings out of my room (which might permit me to sleep without fear of being covered with dead mice). I secure the door shut with a washcloth but Chun muscles his way in no matter how tight I make it.

      On 19 October 2013 22:21, the miao chronicles

  9. lauowolf says:

    I lived in one apartment where in order to be able to lock the cats out of the bedroom I ended up fastening a cord from that doorknob to a closet doorknob across the room.
    But then they’d wake me with their persistent but hopeless attacks on the door, and plaintive complaints at their failures.
    Better to just wake with cats on my face.
    Don’t know about mice in the room though….

  10. Lidia says:

    Is it wrong that I laughed?

  11. leendadll says:

    I have to put on the “man version” of me these days – no one else to deal with the meeses and opossums and lizards in leenda’s safari home

Miao & Purr!

