Sprocket’s staircase

I am trying to decide which step is Sprocket’s favorite. The back staircase provides a nice view of the backyard and it is an especially attractive nap spot with the screen door. The second step from the bottom may be Sprocket’s second favorite, but after weeks of observation, I think I need to take a more systematic approach, perhaps a notebook in which I log Sprocket stair sightings. By the end of the summer, I may be able to determine a Sprocketty hierarchy of steps and compare it to next year to see if his preferences change. I only wish I had begun this project last summer, but I think that he wasn’t as fond of napping on the stairs because he had not yet grown large enough to be the purrfect step-size. I plan to present my results at the International Catnap Conference.

Here are two views of Sprocket napping on the second step. The photos are fresh from this afternoon, which is quite an achievement for me. You will have to take my word that it is the second step, but you can judge his floofiness and tripodity for yourself.

Sprocket on the stairs by Miao Miao Miao (miaochronicles)) on 500px.com
Sprocket on the stairs by Miao Miao Miao

Aerial view of Sprocket on stair by Miao Miao Miao (miaochronicles)) on 500px.com
Aerial view of Sprocket on stair by Miao Miao Miao

This entry was posted in photography, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sprocket’s staircase

  1. Marks Mews says:

    We would never DARE nap on the stairs! TBT carries large stuff up an down an cant see his feet too good, so we might get stepped on.

    • littlemiao says:

      I can see how stair naps might be hazardous. The Miao Kitties have trained us to always look before we step. Luckily if there is much activity then Sprocket will get sprocketty and forget about his nap on the stairs in order to chase after us.

  2. Cuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuute!

  3. Lurkertype says:

    Fresh Sprocket is always welcome, with or without data.

  4. martinjh99 says:

    Aww what a handsome lil kitty! How old is he now?

  5. Lucky you…….I think I’d like to have de-carpeted stairs like yours – I’m sure they are a lot cooler in summer! I’m a stair-napper too Sprockie my man!!!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  6. lauowolf says:

    That foot!!
    How can you focus enough to collect data when there is such magnificent toe floof confronting you?

Miao & Purr!

