Tashi Miao, 8 August 1998 – 25 March 2013

I don’t know how to write this post. There has been too much loss in the Miao House recently and all the beautiful words of remembrance that Tashi deserves just won’t come to me. We knew we wouldn’t have much time left with Tashi when he was diagnosed with an obstructive growth in his respiratory passages in January. The vet gave us steroids that seemed to reverse things for a while, and he was happy and active for three more months. We are grateful for that, because it is more than we expected, but now our family has lost Tashi. He was so graceful I don’t think he was capable of clumsiness, and so loving and affectionate that he didn’t believe in solitary naps.

Here he is on the right with his twin Prince Tantra
Tiger Twins

and here he is with his beloved Kemi Bear, maybe around the year 2000
Kemi and Tashi in Round Basket

a year ago January
tashi gold and blue

and then this past January
DSC_0154

This entry was posted in tashi and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Tashi Miao, 8 August 1998 – 25 March 2013

  1. Oh, LittleM — there has indeed been too much loss in the Miao household. My heart is with you. That picture of Tashi and dear Kemi brought the tears for me. Many hugs to you.

    As the rabbits of Watership Down would say, “My heart has joined the Thousand. My friend stopped running today.”

  2. Lauri says:

    Oh. Darn it.
    But, here it is. These beautiful guys have had the most incredible lives.
    For you (and us), it’s so hard to lose them in a short time. But, for them….what a wonderful life they have had.
    I have been reflecting on the pain of loss for the last week. Well, it’s agonizing.
    But, we can feel it and live through it, and then….eventually, keep on living.
    Because the ones who need us..well, they need us.
    I am sorry if I am sounding all….mystical…

    Like I have said, I have been thinking about loss. I don’t believe it is really a “loss”. To us it is. But, to them, it’s just continuation as usual.

    Hugs, Little M.

  3. Lurkertype says:

    The Prof was an amazing kitty. He lives forever in our hearts and in your footnote.

  4. Soft Purrs and big {{hugs}} from all of us at the Lounge…it’s hard, we know.

    Love, Trish

  5. Redscylla says:

    The Professor taught us many things. We will remember him from his lessons. *hugs*

  6. Oldcat says:

    You’ve learned from the cats to say everything that needs saying without words.

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

  7. Laurie says:

    A gentleman and a scholar. I’m sorry that you have to miss him.

  8. Msmouse7 says:

    Please accept my deepest sympathies. Tashi was family , or at least that’s the way it felt. Your pictures bring forth his soul, thus the feelings. I am so sorry for your loss.
    Sending good thoughts and cat memories your way.

  9. I am so incredibly and truly sorry to hear this. I can only imagine how hard it must have been to do this post. My thoughts and prayers are with you. I wish there were more I could do but I know that there are no words that can take away the pain at the moment.

  10. minlit says:

    I am so sorry to hear this. Truly sorry.

  11. derrycats says:

    So sad for you…

  12. My heart goes out to you – truly. You have had too much loss but there’s comfort in knowing Tashi and the other Miao-Angels are ALWAYS there with you – watching and guiding and loving. It never stops. The photos are magnificent – they certainly do Master Tashi justice in every way. Sammy and I both send hugs…..we know how hard it is to move through loss.

    Pam and Sam

  13. ***big hugs*** I’m so sorry to hear that. I snagged a picture of a Caturday thread which reads:

    “And now my day is done, just like the setting sun.
    Although I had to leave, please do not grieve.
    I had no cares or strife, thanks to you I had a wonderful life”,

    and it is so true of the Brothers; they have wonderful lives with you.

  14. SingingTuna says:

    ((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))))
    Can’t find words.

  15. nadbugs says:

    Remembering loss. Breathing with you through it. This is the hard part. Paw-pats.

  16. lahgitana says:

    oh dear, Little Miao. I’m so sorry for yet another loss to rock you, another fuzzy body to miss so keenly…

  17. crankypants says:

    Awwww this is so sad. What a handsome guy. Right up to the end, full of dignity. The Miaos are supposed to live furever, it’s hard to believe so many are gone now. Only physically though. *hugs*

  18. *big hug* ::quietly sits by littlem::
    😦

  19. A beautiful boy, right to the end. I’m so sorry, LIttleM. I hope seeing these pictures and knowing how happy he was with you and his brothers will give you comfort.

  20. eLeN says:

    The hardest part of loving cats is that their lifespan is a fraction of ours. I hope you find comfort in knowing he and his brothers had the best life a cat could have. So sorry.

  21. So, so sorry for your loss, Littlemiao. I’m sending you a long-distance head bump.

  22. AuntieBellum says:

    I’m so sorry, LittleM! Your sweet kitties have become special to all of us, and they are all dearly missed. (((hugs)))

    Sleep sweetly, dear Prof. Tashi!

  23. lauowolf says:

    Nothing to really add, since the peeps have pretty much said it all.
    But remember the love he gave you was just your own love for him coming back.
    It was the life you provided for him that allowed him to flower forth into the magnificence of his cathood.
    Well done.

  24. leendadll says:

    Oh my…. I don’t have words… I’m so sorry for your loss!

  25. Marks Mews says:

    We are so sorry to be late to express our sorrows and offer purrs! We dint know.

  26. Dianda says:

    But he continues to live in your heart.
    So sorry to hear about your loss.

  27. littlemiao says:

    thank you, everyone, for your beautiful comments for Tashi.

  28. Brown Suga' says:

    Oh, Little M… I’m so sorry. The venerable Prof will be dearly missed. (((hugs)))

  29. So so sorry. Hugs and purrs for all Miaos.

    Lizzie & 3 kitties

  30. SingingTuna says:

    Just came back to see how you’re doing. (((((((((hugs)))))))))

  31. Jaypo says:

    A beautiful sunny day, kitty warm. My heart hurts for you and the Miao family. Please forgive my late offers of solace. Tashi’s purrs of wisdom will live forever with us.

  32. Carlisa says:

    Oh no 😦 … I’m just reading this, Littlem. I’m so sorry, sweety. You sure have had your share of heartbreaks with your dear pets! I was catching up with all your wonderful pics which I never delete until I see them. Please accept this late, but heartfelt (((hug))) He will be missed by us all.

Miao & Purr!

