breaking the silence

Kemi passed away shortly after my last post. It’s been difficult coming back here. I miss him a lot. All of us do.

I don’t have a lot of words. He was a wonderful, huggable Bear of a kitty and I feel his absence every day, all the time. He deserves a better memorial than I can give him right now.

Kemi Miao, 3 May 1997 – 20 December 2012

jan5-kem-5
kemi desk
Kemi, Jan 2011
kemi birthday bear

This entry was posted in kemi, miao updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to breaking the silence

  1. Lauri says:

    He is absolutely magnificent. Those white ear-tufts.
    I had a feeling something had happened when we didn’t hear from you. You know that most of us understand that pain…and it’s real physical pain…of losing these babies. Go ahead and let yourself feel it. Kemi had a blessed life. The absolute best and his spirit will never stop celebrating that.
    We will never stop missing them, but the joy/good energy they had while they were with us will always be with us.
    Big big big hugs to you, littlem. I am so sorry for your loss. He’s beautiful.

  2. trishc1812 says:

    awww…I’m so sorry. Kemi-Bear was a very lucky kitty to have you in his life. Time will lessen the pain of Kemi’s passing but your memories and pictures will last forever.
    ((((hugs))))

  3. Laurie says:

    My deepest condolences, LittleM. I thought of you and him often in the absence and suspected there was bad news. We will all hug our kitties a little extra tonight and send hugs to you, Papa Miao, the brothers and the Miaolings who are missing Kemi.

  4. Lauri says:

    I know this might sound anti-comforting right now, but this is SO true…from the incredible Helen Keller…””What we have once enjoyed we can never lose. All that we love deeply becomes a part of us.” – Helen Keller
    These beautiful souls will be part of us forever. Calli died almost two years ago and I still find myself in tears…but, that’s almost a gratitude thing, now.

  5. We are sending you soft purrs from all of us…losing a wonderful kitty like Kemi is hard. Mommy sends {{hugs}} and understanding love.

  6. Oh no. I suspected as much when you didn’t update right after the post about Kemi’s health. Just know you were missed. I was thinking about you whenever I checked up on our ex-Voxer neighborhood of friends.

    When I was grieving for my cat Eliza, someone said to me, “She had the most wonderful life a cat could ever have with the best owner she could’ve had.” I believe that’s true for Kemi as well. ((Hugs.))

  7. We are all sorry to hear this sad news. Our best Purrs of Comfort to you…

  8. eLeN says:

    We have missed you, so sorry for your loss. Kemi was a gorgeous cat and so lucky to be owned by you.

  9. amelie says:

    Oh no, not Kemi! He was such a wonderful boy! I am so sorry.

    I cannot imagine a more caring guardian or a more loving home than yours. Cat spirits can never be far from this world. I hope you find comfort in this time. Hugs from all of us here.

  10. Kemi was the best Bear that ever was. And he had the best home a Kemi Bear could ever wish for. Warm and gentle hugs for you, Papa Miao and all the Miaos.

  11. crankypants says:

    Aw, I’m so sorry. Kemi Bear was a beautiful boy and lucky to be surrounded by Miaos furry and not so furry. Hard to believe it’s been so long since we first met Kemi and Co. *hugs*

  12. Msmouse7 says:

    My deepest sympathy on Kemi’s passing. You are all in my thoughts, every day.

  13. I am so very sad to hear of this passing, paw hugs, Savannah

  14. Oldcat says:

    I am so sorry for your loss, littlemiao. I feared this had happened, too.

    You don’t have to worry about putting your feelings into words. Cats never do, and they get the point across regardless.

  15. I am so incredibly sorry to hear this. Kemi was absolutely beautiful and I fully understand exactly what you are going through. My thoughts and prayers are with you and may God give you strength through this terrible time. My heart aches for you.

  16. Heartbreaking for you xxx

  17. We are heartbroken to hear of your loss. God bless all of you as you try to cope with moving on in some fashion. He was such a gorgeous boy and I just know that he watches over all of you still from his place over the Bridge – they may physically leave us but the love stays forever and ever.

    Hugs, Pam and Sam

  18. robpixaday says:

    Oh……no words……

    (((((((((((((((((gentle hugs)))))))))))))))))))) for all of you…such an incredible loss.

  19. Dianda says:

    I am so sorry for your loss.
    I don’t know what to say. I only hope that you are okay. We are all here to support you in any way possible. If you don’t feel like posting, we won’t go away.

  20. we are so sorry. just hold on to the good memories, know he is still part of our heart and tell yourself that there is no timeline on grief.

  21. lahgitana says:

    A terrible loss to bear, Little Miao….

  22. zigzagmags says:

    i’m so sorry to hear about kemi, little M. many hugs for you and family.

  23. Jenbug says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss! I know how hard it is to lose a love-of-your-life kitty. My heart goes out to you all.

  24. ((((((((hugs and Sofuspurrs))))))))))

  25. littlemiao says:

    thank you. i am so grateful to have so many wonderful people to share kemi’s memory with.

  26. Lurkertype says:

    We all miss the Care Bear, even if we never met him. We’ll always remember his floof, his gentle ways, his sweet toof, his tusk whiskers — everything.

  27. Wazeau says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. Hugs.

  28. leendadll says:

    I’m so sorry and send daily warm heart thoughts to you. It’s so hard to lose our “children”.

  29. e2thec says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss – Kemi was incredibly sweet and we all enjoyed seeing him here and hearing about him.

    hugs to you, little m…

  30. pyrit says:

    Huge hugs, and boxes and boxes of tissues. For those of us who have been there, your loss is our loss. I hope our sincere sympathy is your comfort. Extra hugs to you. Sending sweet thoughts up to Kemi. More hugs.

  31. I just figured this when you weren’t back. So so sorry… He was magnificently lovely, beautiful and beary. The kitties and I mourn with you. And, hugs.

Miao & Purr!

