Sprocket’s amazing leap! [miao movie]

For the first time ever, Sprocket leaped from the kitchen table to the counter! The video is only seven seconds long – blink and you’ll miss it.

I haven’t figured out how to play things in slow motion, but on my computer I was able to fast forward and rewind repeatedly over his jump, to great comic effect. I was also able to discern that at no point are all of his feets in the air.

He was highly motivated to get onto the counter because that is where we keep the crunchies so the Miao Uncles can feast at their leisure and Sprocket doesn’t become a bouncy-ball. Now we’ll have to come up with a new strategy.

Within the last few days, Sprocket has broken all sorts of barriers. He has scaled to the top of the highest bookcase in the study (by way of a kitty tree and a cabinet). He has gotten onto a bathroom cabinet that used to be a safe spot for crunchies. And now he has gotten to the most exciting place in the house – the kitchen counter!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

ooop. the photos got out of sequence and I can’t fix it.

This entry was posted in chun, miao movies, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sprocket’s amazing leap! [miao movie]

  1. All OUR treats are in jars with those impossible screw-on tops! We haven’t a CHANCE of gettin into them.

  2. Laurie says:

    Sprocket rocket has liftoff!

  3. Drude says:

    Wooot Sprockers the overachiever.
    LOL at Chun’s face in the end… he’s all “MO-om, he’s not allowed to DO that! – is he?”
    Can you move the table a bit back? If he never has all feets in the air when he jumps, he won’t be able to get across a slightly wider gap… or maybe it’s just that he didn’t NEED to get all three legs off the ground but he COULD have if he had to.

  4. Dianda says:

    I honestly am surprised! I didn’t know Sprocket was able to jump so far with only back leg. 😮

  5. That boy is simply amazing! A very Sprocketty Rocket Man is he!!! Breaking down the barriers left and right…..no mountain too high, no valley too low, no treat unreachable! Atta boy!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  6. Lauri says:

    I lol’d at Chun’s expression. Sprocket is a Special Cat.

  7. Wazeau says:

    Poor Chun, no safe spot! Way to go Sprocket!

  8. what a smart boy is Sprocket! And getting so very brave! I am too scared to jump high, and I wouldn’t even do it for treats…I don’t much care for any so far…do you think I am weird????? MOL

  9. Lurkertype says:

    Sprocket is a Longcat, not even having to move all paws into the air. He needs to be blocked off, I don’t think moving the table will be enough to stop him at this point.

    Chun’s expression is priceless.

  10. leendadll says:

    I know how to fix the picture order but, trust me, it’s not worth the effort.

    Love the jump. For some (thankful) reason, none of my kitties attempt to go on the kitchen counters. I guess cause I’m never in there (aka: nothing to get into). MeowMeow did it once – but not since.

Miao & Purr!

