Ping and Sprocket, or how not to photograph multiple miaos

Getting Sprocket in the same frame as another Miao is difficult because his boisterousness tends to send everyone running for shelter. Even if I can settle him close to another Miao, I still can’t get a good photo because he won’t sit exactly where I need, and if I put him close enough, the other Miao, Ping in this case, will leave in search of a calmer nap spot. Also, with my nikon, I have depth of field issues that are tied up with lighting issues. Basically, I need the two Miaos the same distance from the camera. All of it conspires to make group portraits extraordinarily difficult, so difficult in fact that I don’t have any yet. Here are my latest attempts from Ping’s photo session.

DSC_0109
DSC_0100
DSC_0097
DSC_0108

Ping considers this a safe distance from his rambunctious nephew. But it is not close enough for my purposes.
IMG_5722

Practice makes purrfect, but even Ping’s patience has its limits. If I put Sprocket by him every time he settles on my bed for a nap, he will start shunning my room.

This entry was posted in photography, ping, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ping and Sprocket, or how not to photograph multiple miaos

  1. Oldcat says:

    From the last picture, it looks like suspending yourself from the ceiling is the way to go!

  2. HA! The look in Ping’s eyes says it all……”uh oh….can’t a guy get a QUIET nap around here without Little Mister Ball of Energy bugging me?”…..LOL

    Pam (and Sam)

  3. lahgitana says:

    thanks for the smiles this morning!

  4. Lurkertype says, that photo is going to be the cover of their next album.

  5. Marilia says:

    So beautiful babies and photos!

  6. Perfect pictures or not – those cats are just beautiful.

  7. AuntieBellum says:

    You could make one of those morphing photos that zooms in and out of focus on alternating cats. I’d watch it for hours!

  8. Wazeau says:

    Ping is gorgeous, I love his coloration and his subtle floofage.

  9. Dianda says:

    I actually see some really good photo’s!

  10. MEOWhearthis says:

    I have the same problem with my boys, AND the same duvet cover, only in brown.

  11. Redscylla says:

    LOL! Back when I lived with my sister, I had a feisty calico and she had a trouble-making Siamese. All the photos of them together are like this–on the bed, separated by a healthy distance. Maybe this is what photoshop is for? To get a Miao family portrait with Sprockers?

Miao & Purr!

