three exciting miao movies from last night, in which Ping and Sprocket do not do much at all

Last night during the photo session, Sprocket started panting from the heat. So I turned the air-conditioning on and watered my Sprocket and let him cool himself on the vent. Tomorrow is supposed to be 99 degrees so I guess we will leave it on, for his sake. I am proud of my ability to endure extreme heat and humidity, but I shouldn’t inflict suffering on my Miao family just to save a few dollars.

The video is kind of shaky because I have no idea what I’m doing. I was trying to get Ping and Sprocket to play together, but Sprocket is too respectful of Ping to sprocket him. Ping had been playing with the feather, but as soon as Sprocket showed up, he was content with watching his silly little nephew.

Watch Sprocket panting. And yawning. Ping had decided by that point that the photo shoot was over and he could go find a quieter spot to nap. Everything looks subtly green because my camera is silly.

I can’t remember what happens in this video, probably because not much happens at all. Sprocket plays with the sheet, in sort of a languidly floofy way.

The hope is, of course, that the more movies I make the better they will get. Because it is nice to see Miaos in motion.

This entry was posted in miao movies, ping, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to three exciting miao movies from last night, in which Ping and Sprocket do not do much at all

  1. Wazeau says:

    Love the videos! Poor hot Sprocket.

  2. Poor Sprockers! I have a houseful of hot cats here, too. they sprawl out on the cool tile and nap the day away…
    Sprocket is a fiend for feathers!

  3. TBT cant stand the heat at ALL, so we have the air thing on all the time. We LOVE it!

    • littlemiao says:

      It usually doesn’t get that hot in Wisconsin. Papa Miao doesn’t appreciate the heat either.

      Sprocket wilts in the heat, and as soon as we turn the air on he perks right back up, like a little flower.

  4. Oldcat says:

    Julie used to pant quite a bit after coming in from wandering when he was about Sprocket’s age. He doesn’t do it as much now, but does lie flat on the tile flooring to cool down.

    I used to give him an ice cube in a plate or shallow bowl to amuse himself with and cool down.

    • littlemiao says:

      I should do the ice cube thing for Sprocket more often. It is so fun for him. He’ll try to fish ice cubes out of Papa Miao’s water, sometimes knocking it over. For better or worse, it is easy to keep things out of his reach.

      Chun pants when he has been playing strenuously for a while.

      None of the Miao Brothers pant that I have seen. They flop on the cool tile with their bellies up, or sit in front of the fans.

      • Oldcat says:

        Maybe if you get him hooked on ‘wild’ ice cubes he will disdain the tame kind in drink glasses…

        • littlemiao says:

          I gave SProcket a mug of water with two ice cubes in it and he had lots of fun. I put him on the counter and he was splashing water all around the kitchen. But my little point-and-shoot camera has started malfunctioning now and it won’t recognize any memory cards so I couldn’t get video. It’s confusing because it isn’t like I dropped it or trampled on it or dunked it in water. It was working yesterday.

          Maybe I shouldn’t have put the ice cubes in the mug. He can’t tell which mugs we are drinking out of and which are for him, so they are all for him.

          • Oldcat says:

            well, as I wrote to Pedro, I have been happy with Olympus cameras for thirty years or more. I don’t do the fancy lens stuff so the prices are reasonable

            • littlemiao says:

              My point-and-shoot camera is a canon and I got it in 2006. It’s one of the little ones that is the size of a credit card. Things started deteriorating a few months ago – it had trouble switching from video to photo mode. I’ll look into Olympus, if I have to get a new one.

              • Oldcat says:

                The olympus’ have a push button on the back to go into video mode. It’s handy, although my vid skills are still lacking even with the help.

            • littlemiao says:

              I’ve learned that you don’t need skillz to post videos. So long as there is a kitty or three in it, no one complains.

      • leendadll says:

        My cats HAAAATE ice cubes in their water and, rather than playing or enjoying the coolness of the water, they refuse to drink.

  5. I haven’t seen a cat pant in years! My husband probably never has. Watched all three 🙂

  6. msmouse7 says:

    Ping is looking royal, as usual. Don’t know how you deal with the heat. I would be panting way before Sprocket. Hard to believe I lived in southern Florida for 18 months without AC. Now in Washington state, my house never gets above 77. You have inspired me to try movies of the cats doing their thing.

  7. Oldcat says:

    I just noticed a mis-spelling in your title ,,, it is either Ping and Sprocket do not DO much at all,

    or P and S do not MULCH at all – which isn’t too surprising for two indoor cats.

  8. Marilia says:

    I love the videos!

  9. Lurkertype says:

    We squeed here. Ping is so playful still. Maybe he feels he needs to be extra-dignified when the sprocketty child is around, to balance the yin and yang. I’m glad Sprock doesn’t bother the King.

    Both of our cats used to pant as kittens when they’d get too excited about playing. We’d have to put the toy away or turn off the laser pointer b/c silly kittens will keep playing after they shouldn’t. They don’t play so hard now.

    I need to get a new camera too. I hope you can get one so we can see Sprock vs. ice cubes.

  10. lahgitana says:

    Calpurrnia was sitting on my lap as I watched the videos. The first one — she followed all the bell and flicking action plus sprocket moving around! I don’t think I’ve EVER seen her watch video! So thanks for entertaining us way up here, too!

Miao & Purr!

