the window-seat

Chun’s room has a lovely makeshift window-seat that is a favorite nap spot for many Miaos.

like Lotus and Kemi
DSC_0082-001

Sprockers and Kemi
sprocket and kemi in window

Chun loves the window-seat too, but he doesn’t know how to share. When someone else is there, he will check it out and then leave after giving me a disappointed look. He doesn’t seem to realize it is big enough for multiple Miaos.
kemi and chun in window

Sprockers manages to take up two-thirds of the window-seat, leaving Kemi a spot barely big enough to curl up in.
sprocket and kemi in window

When Sprockers joins Kemi in the window-seat, it usually takes him a few minutes to settle down. He’ll bat at Kemi’s tail and give him upside-down hugs and chomp on his ruff, while Kemi Bear waits patiently for him to lose interest so they can both take a nap.

This entry was posted in chun, kemi, lotus, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to the window-seat

  1. That looks like an EXCELLENT window seat. Way, waaaayyyy better than any of ours. purrs

  2. I love these photos. They remind me of a painting, or Mark Twain’s description of a character seeing cats in the windows of the houses he walked by. “A home without a cat—and a well-fed, well-petted and properly revered cat—may be a perfect home, perhaps, but how can it prove its title?”

    • littlemiao says:

      that is a great quote. Mark Twain has some of the best cat quotes, doesn’t he?

      well, I guess he pretty nearly has a monopoly on the best quotes for everything, cats included.

  3. That’s a GREAT window seat! Everybody but Sprocket seems to be happy to SHARE the space (!!)……but I have to admit – like Sprockers I’d want to SPREAD OUT and hog the whole thing too!!

    Kitty Hugs to All Miaos, Sammy

    • littlemiao says:

      Sprocket’s definition of sharing is very sprokcentric. Just like he can always fit into whatever box he wants, no matter how small it is, he expects his miao uncles to be able to fit into whatever space he has left them.

  4. Marilia says:

    Kemi is every time near the window!!!

  5. Drude says:

    It may be Chun’s room, but I definitely think it’s Kemi’s windo shleff

    • littlemiao says:

      Absolutely! He was in there most of the day yesterday and today. It’s the window Bear’s window. He also likes the window in my bedroom, which doesn’t have a trunk in front of it but is still comfy. Chun gets really perturbed when he finds Kemi there. He just looks up and stares and then walks away sullenly, so I have to go comfort him.

  6. funny, both tried to seize the good location from each other!

  7. These make me 🙂
    I love the lighting on the leaves too! Purrfect!

  8. luvluvluv that window seat! And isn’t that so cat like, …yes you can be with me…no no not now…yes you can be with me…no no not now…etc

  9. Happy I found your blog- I ran across it on Vox years ago and today happened upon it again..LOVE all the pics.. beautiful babies.. and how do you ever get shots like that ? must take all day. Thanks for sharing. CC (commenting from my husbands blog)

  10. Dianda says:

    Very, very cute!

  11. Lurkertype says:

    Since we now have TWO windo shlefs (as my tuxie spells it), there’s been a bit less arguing. They both still prefer the old one, but tortie will sleep on the new one. They each get an open window with the same view, in the room where mommy and daddy are. The only time they ever shared without fighting was once when a bird came right up to the house.

    I love the Bear’s being so stoic. He’s almost as good as Shiro.

    • littlemiao says:

      Shiro is amazing. For some reason, that reminds me I have a couple pictures Number 5 to post. snuggling with his son, who is bigger than him. But then I think of Hathor and I get sad so I don’t post anything. 😦

      The Bear would get grumpy at first, but he got over that a few months ago.

      I don’t think it is possible to have the ideal configuration of windo shlefs to please all kittehs at all times. It is a logical impossibility. The new one is probably appealing to Tortie because it smells less like TK.

      • Lurkertype says:

        The new one is appealing to Tortie b/c TK isn’t using it much. It’s been up for a month and it’s only the past few days that he’s been sleeping on it. He seemed either afraid of it or confused by it. It’s hard to tell with him sometimes since those are his reactions to anything new!

        I want to see Number 5! He is the American Shiro. I would like to know how he is.

  12. AuntieBellum says:

    Yay! It’s a Miao windo shlef!

Miao & Purr!

