not to be alarmist or anything

Ugh. So it might be ringworm. The vet originally didn’t think it likely, but the fact that Kemi has a sore spot too makes it more likely. The only way to be sure is a culture which can take up to three weeks. Depending on the strength of someone’s immune system, cat or human, it may or may not spread like wildfire, so the fact that the Miaos seem generally unaffected doesn’t mean anything. And of course once I got home I was petting Mani and I found a little sore spot on his back which has led me to conclude that ringworm is likely. I might be paranoid or overreacting, but there was enough evidence for the vet to be suspicious.

Maybe it is something that Sprocket got in the woods when he was little and he has been a carrier ever since. I don’t really have any other explanation.

This is going to be a nightmare. All of the online information screams nightmare. A nightmare that lasts for months or even years. I’m overwhelmed.

http://www.fabcats.org/owners/skin/ringworm.html
http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?c=1+2134&aid=223

Like I said, we don’t know anything for sure yet. Time will tell one way or another. And if that last statement sounds stoic, it is really just an expression of helplessness.

This entry was posted in miao updates. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to not to be alarmist or anything

  1. littlemiao says:

    It looks like I forgot how to link to things. All the better – it isn’t fun reading.

    • leendadll says:

      you have to post the URL or shortcut text, then highlight it and add the full URL as a hyperlink. i forget and have to remind myself on a regular basis.

  2. Hiya, I am a ringworm survivor. My forever Mom and Dad got me from a non-profit no kill shelter, small cat facility…but all cats come from the county shelter and are adult and/or special needs. Long story short, one of them brought in the ringworm and I was the “lucky” cat to get it. I was already terrified of the other cats and the staff (all volunteer, many with little experience with troubled cats like me) and then I had to be enclosed in one of the large enclosures and medicated at least 4 times a day. Most of the volunteers could not even medicate me ‘cuz I was really aggressive about having the ointment rubbed on the 3 spots I had on top of my head. The vet used the ointment ‘cuz the ringworm was localized, otherwise she could have prescribed an oral treatment which might have taken longer, but would have been a whole lot easier for me. Anyway, the shelter kept everyone away from me, then did a deep cleaning after I was well. I am now almost a year since being infected and free of it still. Mom watches me. Hope this helps

  3. lahgitana says:

    Online information can be overwhelmingly bad, I’ve found. Take the information a little at a time, listen to the people who make you feel safe, and do what makes you comfortable. (When I got out of the hospital, I read online about my syndrome and almost had a breakdown reading the horror stories. I quit reading them and just took things a little at a time.)

    Keep writing here. You don’t ever have to respond–and I’m sure everyone understands.

    • littlemiao says:

      The voice of moderation. Thank you. I needed to hear that. It really makes a difference to have peeps to talk to here.

      At least ringworm isn’t contagious over the internet.

      • lahgitana says:

        It has made a difference to me–so many people to see us through the rough stuff–quite amazing!

        Feeling contagious also adds to the emotional load, so be easy on yourself.

  4. jimmie chew says:

    oh i hope everything works out. this sucks if its true. good luck love

  5. Oh dear! Well, my son came down with ringworm. On his face! That was 19 years ago, and he’s fine now. Here’s hoping it’s nothing serious, and all of the Miao Brothers are okay.

    • littlemiao says:

      Oh, that would even worse of a nightmare. If it got on my scalp and I started losing hair, I would seriously have a complete and utter breakdown. Should I be scared to snuggle with Sprocket? If he has it, he has had it for weeks at least and I’ve been fine. Kemi doesn’t usually snuggle in my bed these days but we hug a lot. Chun sleeps on my bed every night and there are no spots on Chun that I can find. I would hate to ban them from my room.

      And my father is fine. They all congregate in his room but he is fine.

      • My son’s pediatrician thought he caught it at his nursery school. Kids never wash their hands, consistently, anyway, and my son probably rubbed his face after playing in the sandbox. We had three cats and a dog at the time, but none of them developed ringworm, so I don’t think he caught it from the critters. The doctor didn’t think it was that serious: he prescribed a medicated salve and suggested I wash my son’s bedding and clothes in hot water and detergent. So if it’s not serious in little boys, it shouldn’t be serious in cats, unless left untreated. Watch your dad—if he doesn’t get ringworm, I think the cats are safe. šŸ˜‰

  6. Mr. Guilt says:

    I think lahgitana hit the nail on the head: online sources will often provide extreme opinion (“I love it” or “I hate it”), and not the middle 80% of the bell curve. I honestly don’t know much about ringworm in cats, but I suspect it won’t be as bad as you fear.

    • littlemiao says:

      Thank you for the encouragement. It’s like 2012 came early. I thought we had until December until all hell broke lose. However, an hour spent scrubbing the kitchen floor has calmed me down somewhat.

  7. Have you contacted the Cat Blogosphere? There’s TONS of cat bloggers and I’m sure some of them can help…
    http://www.blog.catblogosphere.com

  8. leendadll says:

    about 8 yrs back, I had ringworm from head to toe before it was diagnosed. Fortunately, it only took a few days for the medicine to kick in and make me better. And I never passed it to the cats – I’m guessing we catch different varities (in humans, ringworm = athlete’s foot = jock itch, the name is defined by the the location of the outbreak)

    i hope it’s something else, which is easy to treat. if not, i hope it’s just easy to treat and the miaolings respond quickly!

    • lauowolf says:

      I’m pretty sure there are lots of different varieties.
      I think even ON a person there are different types.
      I got some on my boob, years ago at a campground shower.
      I was concerned about it spreading, but the doctor said the scalp one was different.
      Had cream, and pills, I think, and it was gone fast.
      I didn’t even infect me in different places, let alone the cats.

      One of the cats independently got it – again years and years ago so the memory is faint?
      But again there were meds, and it went away, and I don’t think the other guys got it.
      And that was a group of cats that liked each other.

      It is disturbing and yucky, but not all that bad, really.

      • leendadll says:

        I can’t remember where mine started. It only got bad (head to toe – but not scalp, just face) because I was pretty much in denial and didn’t see a doc till it was that severe. I can’t even imagine how many surfaces I contaminated.

    • littlemiao says:

      Thank you for sharing, leenda. It makes such a difference to know that someone made it through even though it seemed severe.

      And no passing to cats or between cats in a multi-cat household is also good to hear. I will remind myself of these experiences as I resist tearing my hair out waiting over the next days or weeks. I have a tendency to feel extremely itchy whenever I think about parasites. Usually it is ticks.

  9. Oh my…well, at least you “may” know what the scabs are and why – and once diagnosed definitively there IS something that can be done about it. There’s ALWAYS hope – ALWAYS. We hope things aren’t as scary as time goes by as they usually are in the very beginning…..you know how things are usually “amplified” in our minds in the beginning. We think you and the gang are going to be just fine – the fact Sprocket has returned to sprocketty-ness is a sign!

    Pam and Sam

  10. Dianda says:

    That sucks if it is ringworm. I hope everything is going to be ok, tho. Is there any reason on how they got it?

  11. Phwoffy says:

    I only came across your blog (and the Miaos!) the other day so I’m not caught up just yet but keeping my fingers crossed that whether it’s ringworm or not it’s sorted soon. I know a few people who have taken in cats with ringworm and it’s cleared up nicely so I’m sure it won’t be as bad as it sounds. The internet ALWAYS makes things sound worse.
    *chases ringworm away with a stick*

  12. GanLu says:

    i was talking to my friend gus about ringworm. he worked in a pet store for a few years. he said that the pet store went through ringworm shortly before he started working there, so his co-workers had a lot of stories to tell about it but it wasn’t a “nightmare” for them, even though it was annoying. he also said that people who got it on their scalp didn’t lose their hair.

    *hugs* wo ai ni. everything will be okay.

  13. Don’t fret, Littlemiao. My human would probably be humiliated to know I’m posting this, but since she’s been on immunosupressant meds she gets ringworm regularly. Once or twice a year she gets the spots and the doctor gives her cream or some pills, and a week or so later it’s gone until the next round. She’s never gotten it on her head, so hair loss isn’t ever an issue. And luckily, she’s never given it to Kitty or me. (Although some doctors tell her she must be getting it from us. Hmph!) So please don’t fret – there’s nothing too horrible about a little bit of fungus. You like mushrooms, don’t you? šŸ˜‰

  14. nadbugs says:

    Very late to this party, dear lm — but with you anyway. Nature. Not pretty sometimes. Paws crossed.

  15. Very late here, but it sounds like things are under control – I’ve had it, btw – it was itchy and annoying on my cheek and one ring on my neck, I got some ointment – and then it was gone. Oh, and it doen’t have anything to do with worms, it’s a kind of fungi – maybe that helps a bit on the urrrgh! factor of things?

    /don’t read this if you haven’t calmed down******** I did get it from a cat (hence the location – I had been snuggling some stray kittens). So *if* the miaolings have it, I would advose washing bedding and not letting them into the beds until it is under control, and wash your hands often. That is IF they have it – and it doesn’t sound like it. And even if they do, it does NOT mean that you will catch it. I really hope I’m not freaking you out all over again now, but I think you should be aware.

Miao & Purr!

