Happy Birthday Bear, Sprocket Update, and Hypochondriac Ramblings

Happy 15th Birthday, Kemi-Bear!

kemi birthday bear
That is last year’s photo. It is a gloomy day today, but I still plan to take a birthday Bear portrait.

Sprocket update:
no Benadryl yesterday or today. The vet said that it would probably be okay to skip the Benadryl so long as his symptoms don’t come back. He still isn’t purrfectly normal yet. I think he is unhappy with me. I don’t really know what to think or do. He isn’t very sprocketty and occasionally he runs off without warning, like he is trying to run away from itchiness. But he isn’t nearly as agitated as he was Monday night. He has a scab on his back that bothers him, I think. The emergency vet said it probably isn’t ringworm but after she said that it is all I can think about. Just typing the word makes me feel icky. Kemi has a scrape on his back that he keeps scratching. Our regular vet said it probably is nothing to worry about – we just need to keep his claws trimmed short so he gives it a chance to heal. Too many probablies. What if it is something contagious? But then it would have spread more by now, right? And if it is contagious to cats and humans, you’d think Chooper or I would have it by now. We’re fine. I’m thinking I will take Sprocker to the vet tomorrow. Tashi is going in anyway for a check-up. So Sprocker might as well come along just in case.

sprocker napping last night:
rainbow sprock 5-2-2012 8-48-32 PM

This entry was posted in kemi, miao updates, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Happy Birthday Bear, Sprocket Update, and Hypochondriac Ramblings

  1. orientallily001 says:

    He looks very peaceful there… napping like that. I think he’s enjoying a good sleep!
    Nerissa from Nerissa’s Life

  2. Happy birthday to my favorite BEAR! Many bear hugs and snorgles to the beauteous boy. Love him, love him, love him.

    Here’s hoping Sprockers (and Bear’s back) will soon be back to normal. I got ringworm from just brief contact with a cat once long ago, so if it was that it would have spread more quickly, I’d think. (And it was easily treated, with topical applications of stuff used for athlete’s foot! It’s actually a fungus, not a worm, I believe.)

    • littlemiao says:

      that is comforting to know. Worst case scenario-wise, I was imagining my Miaos losing all their fur and we would have to buy new bedding and toss all their toys and possibly move to a new house, after thousands of dollars in hospital expenses. Sometimes I wish I had no imagination.

      We are putting hydrocortisone on Kemi’s spot. He keeps scratching the scab, which is the problem. So, keeping his claws short, plus hydrocortisone, and if that doesn’t work the vet said we should put him in a onesie to protect the spot from scratching. since it is just between his shoulder blades, a collar would not prevent scratching.

      • nadbugs says:

        I am so with you re the imagination thing. Torment. But sometimes life gets a little too real to take, you know? Hopefully this incident is not one of those. Watching, waiting, crossing paws.

      • Oldcat says:

        Or you could sell them all as Sphynx cats for big bucks!

        Years back my kitten Angelina had a itchy scabby neck from a bad, bad reaction to one of those old flea collars. I cut the top off a gym sock and put it over the neck to help protect her from scratching off the scabs.

  3. lahgitana says:

    It’s way to easy to give way to Big Worry, I know! One moment at a time. Good to take Sprocket to the vet–share your load!

    • littlemiao says:

      Sprocket seems almost all better (maybe all better?) but I’m taking him in anyway, just in case there is something going on with that spot on his back.

  4. HAPPY BIRTHDAY BEAR!!! So sorry to hear the Sprockman is still having a bit of bother – he still looks adorable snoring away in his little cozy beddy bye but if that scab is still there – one has to wonder! Glad you’re taking him along with Tashi to the vet…..they SHOULD have some idea of what’s going on…..SHOULD being the operative word! It’s tough not knowing what’s wrong when it’s obvious something is. We’ll look forward to an update……..

    Pam (and Sam)

  5. Happy Purrfday, Kemi! Give him a few extra pets for me 🙂

  6. Happy birthday to a gorgeous cat! LittleM, don’t spoil your day by worrying so much about Sprocket. He has been through a lot for sure, but given that it’s his first allergic reaction to anything, he’ll be upset and itchy for a while. Some cats have this funny thing about blaming their humans for their problems. “I got lost outside and you didn’t come get me!” “I got hurt, and you didn’t fix it!” It’s like little kids holding their parents responsible for feeling sick or making a mistake. Nothing personal, but you’re easiest thing to blame, lol. Just smile at him and be reassuring. He will get over this. I hope you will, too! 😉

  7. Marilia says:

    Happy Birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Happy Birfday, Bear! An we hope you an Sprocket heal up fast so Mom can relax her imaginations.

  9. trishc1812 says:

    Happy birfday to Kemi-Bear. I hope he has as wonderful a day as only a 15y/o kitty can have.

    I hope Sprocket is back to his usual self real soon. It won’t hurt to take him to the vet tomorrow…since you are going anyway.

  10. leendadll says:

    I’m glad I’m coming to the story toward the end – I would have been ridiculously worried for you and Sprocket. I have several wasps around my house (I can’t find their nest!) and constantly worry about Skirtches getting stung. I never would have thought benadryl was okay for kitties – so I learned something new today!

    fyi: q-tips, and makeup brushes, are great for applying cortisone creams (or neosporin) to kitties!

  11. Lurkertype says:

    Happy birfday, Kemi-Bear! If you have to get a onesie, I’m sure it’ll be stylish.

    Sprockers probably has a hangover from the Benadryl. But you should take him in anyway.

    You can tell if it’s ringworm with a black light, that’s how the vets do it.

  12. Meowsie Birthday Bear…and purrrs sent to Sprocket…my Mom says to tell you that she and Dad have small heart attacks every time I burp, hack a furball, or just look funny…very dotting my staff

Miao & Purr!

