Sprocket update with photos

Sprocket had a quiet sleepy afternoon after he took his Benadryl. He wasn’t thrilled about the pill but I managed to convince him to take it. It will be easier once I trim his claws. He hasn’t had any twitchy episodes this afternoon or evening, although he did seem briefly touchy/snappy at one point when I was petting him. Otherwise, he has been almost normal. The weather was so nice, I had to open the windows once I had checked the screens for holes. Now he is enjoying a long post-supper nap.

Many thank-you purrs to all the wonderful peeps and your encouragement and advice. I owe Chun and my Miao Brothers thanks too because they have been extremely sweet even though I have been frazzled and somewhat neurotic today.

Here are some photos from this afternoon:

Benadryl.
sprocket 5-1-2012 1-18-35 PM

Sleepy Sprock.
sprock sleepy 5-1-2012 1-17-11 PM

roar?
sprock yawn 5-1-2012 1-18-17 PM

floofier than ever.
sprock floof

slightly sprocketty?
sprocket 5-1-2012 5-28-35 PM

This entry was posted in miao updates, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sprocket update with photos

  1. Aww. Sweet dreams, Sprocket! Hope you feel better tomorrow!

  2. Mr. Guilt says:

    Glad Sprocket is doing better. Hopefully it will be a speedy recovery and it will be a fairly simple (and avoidable) root cause.

  3. Laurie says:

    Those photos are making me sleepy! Glad he’s feeling better.

  4. trishc1812 says:

    Ah…a positive post to end an otherwise rather ‘meh’ day.
    I hope he continues to heal and feel better.
    Bless the rest of the Miaos for keeping a low profile for you today.

  5. msmouse7 says:

    Glad Sprocky seems to be on the mend. Hope you are doing better too. Nothing worse than worrying over your baby.

  6. Sounds like Sprocket is truly on the mend from the “mysterious whatever” that has all of us wondering?! Love the shot of him holding his Benadrool AND that last one indeed appears to be slightly Sprocketty which is a VERY good sight indeed!!

    YAY!
    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  7. jimmie chew says:

    so glad he is better. Try some tunafish water if he gives you a hard time take’n his meds. (they love it!)
    we crush up the meds in the water, they dont even notice it.

  8. Dianda says:

    *Benadrool. Haha.
    Jimmie, thanks for the advice!

  9. littlemiao says:

    I couldn’t get him to take his medicine this morning. I tried crushing it and putting it into tuna, but I think the taste is just too bitter for him. When I tried to give it to him by mouth, he started foaming and getting super drooly and I had to give up. I have lots of experience giving pills to cats but this is impossible. Restraining him isn’t the issue. I think the taste makes him nauseous so he can’t swallow, only drool.

    Oh, sprockers. 😦

    • mariser says:

      maybe your vet can recommend another medication? prednisone is very effective for controlling allergic reactions (especially complex, long-term ones). it is bitter, but the pills are tiny.

      • littlemiao says:

        I just talked to the vet. They said that I can discontinue the Benadryl unless the symptoms come back. Last night, I thought he had one brief episode of itchiness (he was napping and suddenly twitched and ran into the other room), but it’s hard to tell what is normal or not when it comes to Sprocket.

        The steroid shot he got Monday night might still be having an effect.

        He seems to be getting over my latest Benadryl attempt. He has come downstairs for a snack and drink. ANd I really have to rush to work. I’m still in pjs and need to leave in 15 minutes. I’ll be worrying about him all afternoon. I should have a kitty cam set up.

    • Oldcat says:

      Gus reacted that way to his valium he had to take a while back – a year and a half.

      This new medication is not making him react that way.

      • littlemiao says:

        Aw. Poor Gus. I don’t think I could have managed the drooling for a year! Well, obviously we could barely handle it for a day. I never really had a full appreciation of what ‘foaming at the mouth’ meant till now.

        • Oldcat says:

          It was only a few months, and if I got the pill far enough down it was only a little, But if I missed, and he was pretty difficult, it got messy. It was that struggle that had me do the ‘on ear’ medication the next time, which was even worse, sadlyl.

          • littlemiao says:

            Aww, yes, I remember his poor ears. 😦

            I thought I got the Benadryl pill far enough down Sprocker’s throat but after the first two times he was able to anticipate me and I think just the sight of the bright pink pill got him drooling. Prince Tweets got a tiny little blood pressure pill every day and he was such a lamb, every time.

            Ping is so bad with oral medications that when they are necessary (like when he had pancreatitis) we had to get injections instead. They were never a problem – he would barely notice.

  10. Keeping my paws crossed for him

  11. Marilia says:

    Oh my… the last photo is a masterpiece!

  12. so glad you are better Sprocket…what a scare!

  13. Lauri says:

    Wonderful pictures of Sprockers recovering from his allergy attack! I hope all stays well. HUGS, purrs and gentle woofs!

  14. nadbugs says:

    Lordy what we go through with our babies. Keep us in the loop.

  15. Aww… Poor little Sprocket. That last photo with the giant, sad eyes and the half-hearted camera strap play makes me feel a little teary. I wish I could give him a nice, long bath to make him feel better…

    You’re smarter than my human. She tried to give Kitty Benedryl once – grape flavored children’s chewables. Poor Kitty yowled like someone was killing her and then foamed purple for HOURS.

    • littlemiao says:

      Oh noes. Well, I am grateful that Sprockers’ drooling only last for about 15min. Poor Kitty!

      Sprocket could really have used a calming bath Monday night. Thank you for the sweet thoughts. As soon as I see him wrestling with Chun, I’ll know that things are back to normal. Right now he is napping after a huge breakfast, which is pretty normal.

Miao & Purr!

