Miao Musings – Cookies, cannibalism, and kitten-friendly literature

– I’m feeling sort of down (or at least I was until the three cups of strong tea and pile of cookies). Part of it is Merlin and the rest is just sort of the general angst that you get when you can’t quite see your way out of your current not-so-happy situation but you know it’s in large part because you’re not trying hard enough. Which in turn is because you sit in front of the computer blogging and browsing and eating cookies and feeling sorry for yourself for squandering all those great opportunities you had before that didn’t seem so great at the time. Oh wells.

– I fell a little behind for February Letter Month. I was ahead and then I didn’t send anything out for days. I’ll probably still be sending Miaoling Trading Cards out in March. The peeps who received Miao Mail at the beginning of the month may have been shortchanged because at that time I had a meager supply of Miaoling Trading Cards. After I received replenishments from snapfish, I became more generous. I would also like to apologize to the individual who received a seriously sprocketted Sprocket Trading Card. Or maybe I should let Sprocket sprocket more Trading Cards to make them more collectible. If any peeps still want to join in and receive some Miao Mail, just email us at miaochronicles [at] gmail [dot] com. Please indicate whether you would like extra toof-marks.

– Kemi has been even more affectionate than usual these last few days, following me around and purring and giving me bear hugs and even back massages. Thank you, Bear.

– I am seriously enjoying THE EYRE AFFAIR by Jasper Fforde. Thank you to the handsome cowkitty who suggested I read it next.

– My addiction to buying used books isn’t quite under control yet. I bought a few books this week… but they were all necessary for my Miao Library – a Terry Pratchett and the next two Little Bo (kittens!) books. Plus, the libretto to Sweeney Todd (maybe not so kitten-friendly). Oh, and there were two (or possibly three?) recommendations from peeps that I absolutely had to get. How much does that add up to? Next week I will do better.

– My book purchases aren’t always selfish. My Miaolings got this as a surprise for for someone, but they can’t tell who because it is, obviously, intended as a surprise. It is volume 2 of the four-volume mangafied version of Howl’s Moving Castle based on the Hayao Miyazaki film and published by Studio Ghibli. I think if you can only have one volume, volume 2 is the volume to have.
sprockety 2-22-2012 9-21-40 PM

This entry was posted in books, littlemiao, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Miao Musings – Cookies, cannibalism, and kitten-friendly literature

  1. Aw – I wish I was there to give you a head bump, Littlemiao. I’m sorry you’re feeling down. But at least you have LOTS of feline love and The Eyre Affair.

  2. theRibz says:

    Howl’s Moving Castle is one of my all time fave movies! Maybe it could cheer you up! 🙂

  3. Well, we’re sorry you’re feeling a bit down…..hopefully with some new reading material and all the available snuggles and cuddles from the cat brigade, things will be brighter soon! That handsome cowkitty ALWAYS cheers us up around here……no doubt his gift will do the same for you!!

    Kitty Hugs from Sam
    Human Hug from his Mom………..

  4. Lauri says:

    Purrs and slurps from the zoo here, too, littlem!
    I SO loved my mail from you and the Maios!

  5. Dianda says:

    I love Howl’s Moving Castle!

    And don’t feel down. 😦

  6. Redscylla says:

    Aw, it’s natural to be down when your friends are unwell, and it’s hard to know which opportunities are Opportunities, until sometimes it’s too late.

    It doesn’t look to me like Sprocky is quite ready to give away that gift.

  7. Howl’s is such a lovely movie – and book! Have you read the sequels as well? Castle in the air and House of many ways, if my memory serves me right 🙂 Oh, and I’m so glad you’e enjoying Fforde, I thought you would! (yeah, I’m not going to help you stop buying books – not when you have such an excellent taste!) 🙂

  8. Howl’s Moving Castle the movie is different from Howl’s Moving Castle the book by Diana Wynn Jones. Miyazaki takes so many liberties with his adaptations, I get a little irritated. (His anime version of “Legends of Earthsea” was nothing like the book and made me angry, but it did spur me to go back and re-read Le Guin’s series.) I did enjoy Howl the movie, however. Howl’s crazy castle was really done well by the artists.

    I’m sorry you’re down! February is such a blah month, especially when it’s cold and snowy outside, and particularly when people and critters are ailing. Don’t beat yourself up about the missed opportunities. If you’re busy looking after the Miaos, you don’t have time for much else. The academic year begins in August, really, so you have time to look at new opportunities for the following year. (And that said, I should be applying for adjunct jobs for next fall semester. But I feel like I already have a full-time job. It’s just that nobody pays me for it. :p)

    • littlemiao says:

      I haven’t read the book yet but I expect that I will enjoy it since I’ve enjoyed the other DWJ I’ve read. It’s my brother’s favorite movie, which makes me predisposed to like it since I have been a hopeless copycat all my life. My brother liked the book too but he said they are very different stories. I plan to read it soon (and the sequels!)! I’ve only read the first Earthsea book, but I’m looking forward to the others, I just got them recently.

      I barely even have a job but I still don’t have enough time to get my act together. You *do* have a full-time job, for all intents and purposes. I hope things will come together soon to free up time and energy for you. The miaos will send you some good job purrs.

      I was studying for the GRE until a couple weeks ago but then I got so miffed with all the math. I used to be smart (at least as measured by standardized tests, LOLz) but now I have the attention span and memory retention of a fruit fly. As immature as it sounds, I will be so upset if I can’t match my earlier score. The scoring system has changed so it may be hard to compare, *and* I abhor standardized tests on so many levels I could write a book about it, but still it matters to me. My distance from academia hasn’t left me any less invested in grades and scores.

      And as so often, the solution to avoid failure is to do nothing.

  9. nadbugs says:

    Oh dear. Hang in there, lm. You seem resourceful to find things that sustain you; work your way through this leaning on those things. Standardized tests are the absolute limit. You have been sorely tested.

  10. amyhftw says:

    I think I’ve thanked you, but I want to thank you again for the Miao letter and trading card – complete with a cow sticker! It really made my day and brings a smile to my face. Please know that your generosity and the sharing of the Miaos brings much happiness to others!

    HUGS!

Miao & Purr!

