February Month of Mail: snail mail for peeps!

The idea originated here: February Month of Mail.

When was the last time you got a letter in the mail? December sees a lot of mail and you remember that sense of delight when the first card arrives. You can have that more often.

I have a simple challenge for you.

In the month of February, mail at least one item through the post every day it runs. Write a postcard, a letter, send a picture, or a cutting from a newspaper, or a fabric swatch.
Write back to everyone who writes to you. This can count as one of your mailed items.
All you are committing to is to mail 24 items. Why 24? There are four Sundays and one US holiday. In fact, you might send more than 24 items. You might develop a correspondence that extends beyond the month. You might enjoy going to the mail box again.

Who is interested in getting snail mail from the Miaos? We promise not to include any buggies. Or mousies. Or dust bunnies. If you’d like Mail from the Miaos (and possibly a wallet photo of OMGsprocket!!), email me at miaochronicles [at] gmail [dot] com. I promise not to share your address or do anything with it other than send you a card or postcard and possibly a Miao photo.

If you want to participate too and send mail to other peeps, lauowolf is coordinating something here. It’s not just for Vox peeps – everyone is welcome to participate and your address will only be shared with peeps you approve. Go check it out!

sprocket for your wallet. collect them all!
squash 9-28-2011 1-42-14 PM

This entry was posted in littlemiao and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to February Month of Mail: snail mail for peeps!

  1. GanLu says:

    don’t forget to send me home-made cookies. and you can include mousies too as long as they’re in a ziplock bag securely seperated from the cookies.

  2. Dianda says:

    This is a great idea!

  3. lahgitana says:

    Oh lovely! My Mom has been in a nursing home again for about a month and I try to send her a note everyday. She and I were pretty good mail correspondents back in the day. I often print off a 4×6 pic onto plain paper, a pic I’ve taken, and then jot a short note. When I saw her this a.m., she practically waved one of my notes at me while smiling!

    I’m leaving the country in a few weeks, but I want to play too!

    Yes, cookies are good! hahahahaha! I meant to say–postcards are good! Yeah, sure!

  4. Lurkertype says:

    I won’t be writing to you till later in the month, but save a Sprockey photo for me! Mr. LT will be upset if I don’t get one for us!

  5. robpixaday says:

    Awwww….this is lovely. But I don’t put anything online (even within emails) if I can avoid it. No banking, no bill paying, no shopping. No anything. Freaks me out just thinking about it.

    ::shivers::

    But it’s a great idea and I think that those who do it will enjoy it.

    • littlemiao says:

      I understand your caution. A few years ago I was in an online identity theft situation that was certainly no fun, but the bank was helpful and I didn’t end up losing any money. But I guess I didn’t learn my lesson because I still shop online. I think the problem at the time was that I wasn’t using a secure wireless connection.

  6. Pingback: M-Mail: Miao Mail « Mr. Guilt's Blog

  7. Pingback: Miao Musings – Cookies, cannibalism, and kitten-friendly literature | the miao chronicles

  8. Pingback: February Letter Month: Sprocket in your mail box! | the miao chronicles

Miao & Purr!

