miao updates etc

– I’m not sure why I took a week off from blogging. I haven’t missed more than a day or two for months. I had no new photos and I was so uninspired by life in general that I took a break.

– Worrisome news: Tashi has kidney failure, and it looks like it is more severe than Ping’s. He has lost two pounds since June. He’s about five pounds now, when he should be around 10. We thought it was because the hyperthyroid medication wasn’t doing its job, but it turns out that his kidneys, which were fine six months ago, are really struggling. But he is as active and energetic as ever, and he has a good appetite, despite being a finicky Siamese. The only thing different now is that he is as light as a feather. We have started him on a subcutaneous fluids regimen like Ping has. Maybe because Tashi isn’t doing well, I’ve been thinking about his brother Prince T a lot. He’s been gone for five months now.

– Ping is doing great, by the way, floofy and majestic as ever. Merlin is doing great too. Everyone seems to be fine except for Tashi.

– It is sunny today. And it was light around 7.30am. Almost spring? I know I’m being overly optimistic. But in China new year’s is Spring Festival, and the official beginning of spring according to the lunar calendar is actually in what we consider winter, which makes spring equinox the middle of spring not the beginning. It doesn’t have anything to do with weather or temperatures – where I lived in China was just as cold if not colder than here – but more to do with the subtle shifting of yin and yang.

So yeah, happy belated Chinese New Year’s. I can’t believe I let the day pass without a post (or the photo shoot I promised). But not all is lost… Lantern Festival is two weeks after new year’s and it was always my favorite part of the celebration because I love the black-sesame filled rice dumplings (yuan xiao).

This entry was posted in miao updates, tashi and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to miao updates etc

  1. Oh noes…poor Tashi. Give him some pets for me.
    I was thinking about spring recently…mainly that Groundhog’s Day is coming up this week and that’s the official six more weeks until spring comes. Considering how January’s almost over, it should be here soon! Hang in there

  2. Dianda says:

    I hope things will get with Tashi soon. I’ll send healthy thoughts his way!

  3. Lauri says:

    It’s so difficult when our critters are getting up there in years. Lots of love to Tashi and you.
    I spent a lot of my cruise thinking about Calli. I don’t know why I have to be so sad this time of year. I am interested to see if when the “one year mark” passes if I will let the sadness go a little bit. I know in my head that she had the best possible life. My heart isn’t done grieving yet, though.
    Having all my other critters sure helps a lot! šŸ™‚
    The days are getting longer. I am thinking about ordering garden seeds. Heirloom. Can’t wait!

  4. Sorry to hear about Tashi’s health issues….perhaps the fluids will help and lots of hugs ALWAYS help. The “later in life” issues sometimes bother the caretakers more than they seemingly bother the cats though – he’s eating, energetic, etc. Sam’s twelve and according to his vet on the edge of a couple of “we’ll keep an eye on this” categories with his blood work…..I’m just loving him and enjoying every single minute as I have with all my previous cats. Happy late Chinese NY! I lived in Taiwan for a couple of years and the village near the military compound where I lived with my family celebrated like CRAZY – firecrackers day and night. They do know how to PAR-TAY!

    Pam (Mom of Sam)

    • littlemiao says:

      Thank you, Pam. Enjoying every moment is so important… it’s easy just to give in to worry and forget to appreciate what we have now. Thank you for the reminder!

      I lived in northeast China and everyone was crazy about fireworks too. The fireworks would last for two weeks. There were such fun little fireworks for children to play with. Everyone got kind of pyromaniacal over New Years. Now I believe fireworks are mostly banned in the cities, which I guess is a good thing.

  5. (((hugs))) sorry to hear that the Prof’s health isn’t optimal, hope the meds will help

  6. I’m sorry to hear that Tashi’s sick, but I’m so excited that you’re back from your blogging vacation! Hopefully fluids will perk Tashi up and he’ll put on some weight now. Maybe you should make him some cookies, complete with Chun floof?

  7. MsMouse7 says:

    Oh dear — distressing news about Tashi. I (and The kitties) am sending love hugs to Tashi and all the Miaos. Hoping there is an improvement soon!

    Spring Festival comes around just in time to provide hope for a short winter and time to plan for spring and gardening. But I am a procrastinator, so think I will just enjoy any excuse to eat Chinese food.

  8. Happy Lunar New Year to you! You were missed.

    I’m sorry about Tashi. As you know already, cats with failing kidneys can live for several years on sub-Q therapy. I hope you can enjoy your time with him.

    I haven’t had dumplings yet! Both the Chinese markets and restaurants in San Francisco were so full there were lines on the sidewalks. I wanted to buy dumplings and egg custard tarts at the bakery up the street from my daughter’s place, but the line went out the door, onto the sidewalk and around the corner!

    The peach and plum blossoms are blooming out here. It’s not a sure sign of spring for us yet, but I’m always delighted to see them. Normally in northern California it’s gloomy and gray in late January , but this year we’ve had very little rain and it’s sunny almost every day. And cold!

  9. Lurkertype says:

    Poor Prof. Tash. Glad to hear he’s still enjoying his food and observing the catly rituals.
    Good news about Ping.
    We haven’t seen a new photo of Merp in ages! I know he won’t stand for photo shoots but maybe you can get a snapshot of him.

    We had our Chinese New Year feast on Wed. 10 courses and 3 types of wine. It does provide a nice holiday and a hope for spring. We had sticky rice pudding for dessert, but I’ve had those moon dumplings in soup and could eat them all day. I think I ate most of our table’s supply of candied kumquats.

    • littlemiao says:

      Mmmm. Candied kumquats! A multi-course feast is really the only proper way to welcome the new year. Ping approves.

      You’re right, I really need to take some photos of Merp. His jaw is a little funny/asymmetrical but most of his fur has grown back.

  10. lauowolf says:

    Poor you!
    It is soo hard when the furry ones have health problems.

    Of course you still think about your lost furry brother.
    All that love is still there.
    I’m still expecting the Hen cat to come around the corner.

  11. Wazeau says:

    So sorry about Tashi. Keep the love pouring out, that is what we can give our cats as best we can.

  12. Amelie says:

    Sorry to hear about one of my favorite kitties EVER. Sending good and fluffy thoughts your way.

  13. Brown Suga' says:

    Aw. Poor Tashi. But happy to know he’s still his feline self.

  14. zigzagmags says:

    checking in after many months and sad to hear about the professor! kitteh cuddles from me.

  15. robpixaday says:

    Awwwwww……………….LittleM……..(((((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))))
    Sending purrs and healingvibes………………

  16. jimmie chew says:

    oh I hope T will be ok

  17. leendadll says:

    I hope all goes well. I had Espressa on appetite stimulants for awhile (she’s always been light but got down to 4.5lbs) but she hated them and I decided to just feed her more treats and hope for the best.

Miao & Purr!

