Light returns at last!!

Finally, the Solstice is here! The calendar says it is the first day of winter, but my Chinese lunar calendar says winter is halfway over. I prefer the latter interpretation.

chun

I celebrated the fractionally longer day with by napping with my Miaolings. Now I have that half-drugged feeling that comes after naps that aren’t quite long enough. I think it is time to make some cookies: applesauce softies from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar

sprock 12-8-2011 1-32-33 PM

This entry was posted in chun, miaolings, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Light returns at last!!

  1. elizabethannewrites says:

    Happy Solstice! I, too, prefer the Chinese lunar calendar interpretation of the day. Winter half over is a concept I can really take to heart.

    The mention of cookies appears to have caught Sprocket’s attention…

  2. Lurkertype says:

    Sadly, the weather is usually worse here after Xmas (although it’s been odd this year, so who knows?). But I never make resolutions on Jan. 1, I always wait till Chinese New Year. Which is early this year, so maybe that means we’ll have an early spring?

    I’m just so glad the days won’t get any shorter. I tend to sleep late, so winter days are very very short.

    The Miaolings are as cute as ever, of course. Sprockers in his red jingle tie is too much. Did he help you make cookies?

    • littlemiao says:

      here too. Our coldest month is usually february. But it has been so unusually warm, and no snow since November.

      Sprocket’s 1st Chinese New Year! the year of the dragon, if I’m not mistaken. I need to do photos. I have plenty of plushy dragons. And if I start looking now, I might actually find some Chinese dragon art, though I couldn’t trust Sprocket close to a scroll.

  3. lauowolf says:

    I love Chun’s butter-wouldn’t-melt-in-his-mouth look here.

  4. incaunipocrit says:

    Reblogged this on Basil Wheel.

  5. Awww – Sprocket looks so cute in his solstice attire. Happy solstice to all the Miao felines and humans and applesauce softies!

  6. The Year of the Dragon starts January 23, which seems ridiculously early. But it’s supposed to be an auspicious year for everyone, so I’m looking forward to it. Sprocket looks ready with his red collar. Chun with his beautiful blue eyes should wear jade green!

  7. robpixaday says:

    Oooo……..luscious pictures!
    Naps can be VERY icky afterwards. ((((hugs))))
    Maybe that explains why cats sometimes have little scowls on their faces?

    I hate to say this, but I love the cold weather and having all the bugs frozen…no thunder and lightning…..no tornadoes…etc. BIG fan of winter!! I don’t like driving on slippery roads and I’m not as good a shoveler as I used to be, but other than those drawbacks, i ❤❤❤ winter (someone has to like it, right?), so I’m not looking at it as half over.

    LOL!!!!!

Miao & Purr!

