Happy Hanukkah from the Miaos!

purple ping

Sprocket’s first Hanukkah! In the Miao House the youngest lights the first candle, but I think we can skip that tradition this year.

Chun and I want to do a Hanukkah photo session but I haven’t assembled the appropriate props. We already have a huge menorah and two lovely little hanukkiahs (hanukkiyot!), so there’s a start. Imagine how cute Chun would be in a little blue kippah. With silver trim! Once upon a time, we had a large see-through dreidl which would have been perfect for glitterballs and mousies. Alas, Miao Town (a short distance from the Middle of Nowhere) has little or no Hanukkah-themed gift-wrapping materials. Any ideas, O Peeps?

This entry was posted in ping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Hanukkah from the Miaos!

  1. I hear ya. When I first moved to Minnesota, I met this Jewish couple from Philadelphia who mourned over not having a ready source for traditional foods and other holiday items. They had to order everything from Chicago (and this was before the internet), or ask their family to ship things for them. Then they discovered St. Louis Park, the mostly-Jewish suburb of Minneapolis: the Coen Brothers of filmmaking fame are from there, as is Al Franken, US Senator from Minnesota. There they had plenty of kosher grocery stores and religious goods stores.

    I know you’re busy, but maybe some silver foil Stars of David glued to dark blue shiny paper will work as a backdrop? Or even alternating sheets of aluminum foil with blue foil? Dark blue and silver are the colors of Hanukkah, and can’t be too hard to find at a craft store or even Target or Wal-Mart.

    • littlemiao says:

      I wish I were craftier. Blue and silver shouldn’t be too hard to find.

      I went to St. Louis Park Trader Joe’s on an almost weekly basis. If only I had thought ahead and searched for some Jewish holiday decorations when I had the chance!

  2. Happy Hanukkah! I have a funny story for you ๐Ÿ™‚ I grew up in a small town in NW Florida. I moved away, but came back in 1997 and the place was massive! So of course I went to the (new to me) Super Walmart when I needed Hanukkah wrapping paper. The aisle for wrap was the length of the store, and I went up and down and up and down and didn’t have much luck. A sales associate saw me looking lost and asked if I needed help.
    ‘Yes, I can’t seem to find anything for Hanukkah.’
    “Um…ah…well, here’s one with the threee wise men?”
    ‘Sorry, no, Hanukkah isn’t about Jesus. Maybe something in just silver or white and blue?’
    “Y’all ain’t from around here, are you?”
    Sigh…

    • Lurkertype says:

      “No, I’ve been to civilization, you redneck hick.” I commend you for not saying something like that. But you’d think he could at least find plain silver. There doesn’t seem to be any IQ requirement for Wal-mart hiring, though.

      • Ha! I found it particularly funny since I WAS from around there, and she sure wasn’t! It’s true, you can never go home again. They had one grocery store, one Hardee’s and no traffic lights when we moved there – now it is a jam packed hell hole with no beach in sight and hardly a soul I know. Still full of Baptists, though ๐Ÿ™‚
        I appreciate what Cleveland, Ohio did for me just by existing. An incorrectly disparaged city with great diversity and little hick-ness!

  3. Lurkertype says:

    Blue, silver, and sparkly is all you need. The Miaos and Miaolings make up for any deficiencies.

  4. msmouse7 says:

    I’m with others on blue and silver. And for next year, remind eveyone of your needs (or at least me) because there is a lot of Hanukkah stuff where I shop. I would gladly send you some backdrops for the Miaolings!

  5. nadbugs says:

    What about maps of somewhere in Israel? Could you get that from AAA by any chance? I heard that suggestion somewhere from somebody (not of Israel, just to recycle old maps in general) and I tried it yesterday — with Boulder, b/c such a fine place, w/ great memories associated — and my little prezzie looked so wonderful, dressed up in a little red ribbon PLUS it recycled! This Israel idea wouldn’t have the recycling angle — but would it not be excellent cool? I would think so . . . .

    • Lurkertype says:

      Oooh, the Miaolings could be put in front of a big atlas open to a page with a map of Israel! The reference shelves must hold such a thing, with or without neighboring countries.

  6. robpixaday says:

    ื—ื ื•ื›ื” ืฉืžื—

    Silver, blue…like everyone else said.
    That see-through dreidl sounds wonderful. Too bad it’s not around now…This may sound odd, but sometimes “dollar stores” have Hanukkah (and Pesach!) supplies. Plates, wrapping paper, cups, the gelt, etc. The quality may not be great but you’re so creative you could make do.

    And there’s always cut paper. Turning cut-paper snowflakes into Magen Davids isn’t too difficult. You just need some thin paper and sharp scissors. AND I think there are websites that have pdf’s with decorations you can print out. Haven’t seen them in a couple of years but I know they were around for Pesach and Hanukkah.
    Here’s one I just found: http://printablepartykits.com/hanukkah-decorations/
    I don’t know if it’s a good site, etc., but some searching might pay off.

    A kippah for Chun would be adorable!!!!! If you go to a dollar store they’ll probably have felt squares; you can make tiny kippot with no sewing.

    OK, I’ll stop now.
    LOL…if I think of anything useful I’ll come back.

Miao & Purr!

