Bow ties for my Miaolings!!

Finally, I had a proper photo session with my Miaos! Many factors came together to make it possible (including sunshine and an injured ankle that is keeping me from running), but the most important factor was, of course, the floof factor. I am constantly amazed by the patience of my miaoly models, Lotus and Chun. I can’t accuse Sprocket of being patient, but his persistence with the peacock feather makes up for lack of patience. My Miaoly models have my deepest gratitude. Also, thanks to Mama M for providing us with the bow ties (from Target, I think).

Bow ties + Blue berets = Extreme Cuteness. Please brace yourself for the cutest striped Siamese face ever.

choo 12-8-2011 1-37-32

Cute?
choo 12-8-2011 1-44-36 PM

Very cute.
choo 12-8-2011 1-26-32 PM

Sprocket got the red bow tie with jingle bells.
sprock 12-8-2011 1-32-34 PM

Festive!
sprock 12-8-2011 1-31-09 PM

I asked them to pose together for a nice brotherly portrait to put on our holiday cards.
brothers 12-8-2011 1-34-51 PM

I think we’ll have to work on that.

Who else is cute in a blue beret?

Lotus!!
blueloto 12-8-2011 1-20-38 PM

Lotus, like Chun, seems to have a fondness for (or at least tolerance of) hats. So far, Sprocket doesn’t understand the difference between a hat and a snack.

The little blue beret is from ToScarboroughFair on etsy, the official haberdasher of the Miaos.

This entry was posted in chun, lotus, miaolings, photography, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

166 Responses to Bow ties for my Miaolings!!

  1. Dianda says:

    OH MY GOD! That is adorable! The beret matches his eyes! And the red bow-tie on Sprocket! Cute, cute, very cute! And a great idea for Christmas cards. πŸ™‚

  2. martinjh99 says:

    Aww your miaolings are so cute!

    It looks like someone has dripped ink on Sprockets nose…. πŸ˜‰ He is a lil cute one…

    I like him because he is a black and white kitty – My first every kitty Pippin was a proper tuxie – white chest and white paws – So I have a soft spot for cow kitties like Sprocket!

    *Hugs and scritches* to him!

  3. Lauri says:

    Whole lotta squeeing going on!!!
    These are simply AWESOME!

  4. Squeeeeeeee!
    I would love to see a hat or bow tie on Kemi πŸ˜‰

    • littlemiao says:

      Yes! That will be my next project. He would be beautiful with the red bow tie, and my mother gave me a Santa hat that I still need to try out.

      Whenever I start taking photos, Lotus, Chun, and Sprocket all show up even if it’s not “their” photo session. I had to close Sprocket out of my room at the end to get some photos of Chun and his bow-tie + beret. He was squeaking outside the door, poor frustrated kitten!

  5. I’m not usually one to use the word, but: adorable. I actually like the two-together pic the best, because they are acting naturally despite wearing ‘clothes!’ brilliant πŸ˜€

    • littlemiao says:

      Thank you! Surprisingly, they didn’t seem to mind the clothes at all. I kept them distracted with a peacock feather, but even without it, they didn’t seem to care. Sprocket tried to figure out where the jingle bells were coming from.

      If my mother had ever tried to get me to pose in photos like this, I would have been outraged.

  6. Laurie says:

    I love the photo of them together, too! It’s say “cheese”, Sprocky, not “chomp”!

  7. GanLu says:

    chun is stunning. really amazing. you should find some kind of print-on-demand calendar service online and sell chun calendars.

    i don’t like sprocket’s bowtie on him. it looks too small, because his whiteness is expansive. i think it would do better on kemi. you should put a big big bowtie on sprocket!

  8. Oldcat says:

    The second and third Chun pics were improved by his forgetting about the beret and opening the eye on that side up normally…

    Lotus is Blue Beret on Blue Point with Blue Eyes. That’s a lotta blue.

  9. AuntieBellum says:

    The photo of the two of them together would be a perfect holiday card as is, because they’re acting just like brothers. Hee!

    Chun is gorgeous and so is Lotus! And Sprocky looks so sincere in his bow tie!

    • littlemiao says:

      That brotherly picture would have been perfect if only they had positioned themselves better with the background behind them. I’m such a perfectionist! Maybe they’ll be willing to reenact the scene with the camera at a better angle.

  10. Lurkertype says:

    Just when I think the Miaos can’t get any cuter, I am proven wrong.

    ADORABLE!!!!!

    So cute I can hardly stand it.

    I think the pic of the Miaolings is perfect for the holiday card. And GanLu is right, Sprockey needs a bigger red bow tie.

  11. Laurie says:

    If Sprocket wore his jingly bow tie all the time, it would never be silent!

  12. lauowolf says:

    Now I hear Chun channeling Maurice Chevalier.
    Do you do voices for the guys?

    I have a feeling that if you left the jingly things on Sprocket, you would soon be very sorry.

    And who knew cats needed berets?
    Obviously someone, because there the thing is.
    And now my guys are clearly deprived.

    These are the most redonk photos ever.
    Queue group: SQUEEEEEEEEE!!
    (Except that, of course, we wouldn’t want to startle the boys.)

  13. pegoftilling says:

    SO CUTE! and Chun’s expression in the brotherly portrait is priceless.

  14. Laurie says:

    Oh, since a milliner does hats for ladies, I think the word you want is haberdasher. ToScarboroughFair is the official haberdasher to the Miaos, since they’re all male. And dashing.

  15. Msmouse7 says:

    I am so envious that you have posing cats. I have to sneak up on mine to get pictures. But the Miaos are so damn adorable that I keep trying to achieve even a tiny percentage of their adorableness factor. Of course it might help if I was a super photographer like you! Keep those photos coming as they truly brighten my day.

  16. lahgitana says:

    I’m working temp gigs right now, so am too tired to pay attention to my blogging buddies. HOWEVER, I saw the email from the Miaos and took the time to grin and “Awwww” all the way through! Thank you for brightening my day.

  17. Wazeau says:

    Lovely photos of some very patient (and one chomper) cats. Great work!

  18. leendadll says:

    TEH KEWT IS KILLLLINNNNNGGG MMEEEEEEEEEEE

  19. midnitechef says:

    This is beyond cute! Who ever thought of mini hats for cats? Do they come in Boston Terrier size?
    Happy Holidays!

  20. I am DEEPLY impressed that two of your kitties allowed a beret to be put on their heads long enough to take photos!!! They are all adorable!

  21. Awe, those are so cute! I love photographing my cats, but I don’t think they’d ever tollerate the bow tie or hat.

  22. You must have the most patient kitties EVER.

    And BTW, I’m sneezing just looking at them. But they’re absolutely ADORABLE!

    πŸ™‚

  23. Wow, those are the most darling pictures. I assume my cat would chew the beret to smithereens before I could say “cheese”. How do they sit so still and so handsome. You take amazing pictures. Congrats on FP!

  24. Arindam says:

    Beautiful pictures of cats. Great work. πŸ™‚

  25. Averil Gomes says:

    OMG! They took my breath away

  26. Just gorgeous! A cat lovers delight!
    As a kid, I watched my aunts dress up and photograph their cats. Some cats sure don’t mind and seem to enjoy the attention, which is so fantastic. (Although the scene from the kids movie Cats & Dogs does come to mind)!
    I wonder if you have seen this book? http://www.etsy.com/listing/20442487/four-little-kittens-vintage-childrens
    My copy is from the forties, it features kittens dressed up and posed. Quite remarkable. I imagine quite a long project to finish.

  27. valentinedee says:

    Oh, my God! I’m in love. And I’m not a big fan of cats, but your cats, and their little hats and bowties, have melted my heart. And Lotus, what a little doll. Thank you for this. I needed this today.

    val
    http://valentinedefrancis.wordpress.com

  28. karmagirl19 says:

    that is the cutest thing i have ever seen

    http://www.stylekarma.wordpress.com

  29. Nandini says:

    I’m so glad you are FP, otherwise I would have missed these cuties. They are very very cute! Truly creative and brilliant. Loved all of them, especially the blue eyed one. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    πŸ™‚ Happy times ahead, enjoy.

  30. 4myskin says:

    Super cute! You have very patient cats lol πŸ˜€ Merry Christmas!! You’re going to have adorable cards!

  31. ceciliag says:

    The blue eyes and the blue bonnet are PURRfeck together.. cats are such posers aren’t they? Mine are too!! c

  32. I’m allergic to cats, but these are so beautiful. Makes me want to get one. Thanks for sharing these lovely creatures. Connie
    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

  33. janine says:

    j adore ,j adore. bravo pour ces photos ils sont Γ  croquer.

  34. Paprika says:

    soooo adorable!!! =) aww… how do you get your cats to pose like that?? those wonderful eyeess… i have a dog and she turns her head whenever she sees the camera πŸ˜›

  35. Eve Redwater says:

    The. Cutest. Cats. Ever.

  36. hcfitzpa says:

    Wow. So. Cute! I tried to give my cats hats, of the knit variety. They even had ear holes for their ears. They hated them. Walked around backwards shaking their heads trying to get them off. Well done kitties! if you want to take a peak (the pic is a bit blurry as they wouldn’t hold still): http://www.flickr.com/photos/quirkycity/5304873578/in/set-72157624943280886

  37. You’ve landed on Freshly Pressed! Congrats! πŸ˜€

  38. Gigi Galore says:

    Hilarious!!!! I’m flicking around your blog and it’s really fantastic!!!! So joyous!!!! Keep going …:)
    And thankyou:)

  39. That’s just purrfect! You might like my holiday post with very cute animals in Santa hats. http://windupmyskirt.wordpress.com/2011/12/04/happy-bunch-of-days-off-in-december/

  40. Russell Farr-Jones says:

    Absolutely amazing! I’m amazed how you managed to get them to sit there quite happily! If I tried that on my cat I’d get hissed at.

  41. solarenerjii says:

    Γ‡ok gΓΌzel kedilerin var Maşşallah πŸ™‚

  42. Jenny Trozell says:

    Wonderful, I love your pictures!

  43. I’m not a big cat person, but these are ridiculously cute! πŸ˜‰ Congratulations!

  44. love these! what kind of camera is it? My kitty Meow Ze Dong never comes out looking good in his pix

  45. spock1013 says:

    The ties are definitely from Target. I know because I work there and thought about getting them for my own kitty. The pictures are soooo cute!

  46. I adore cats and kittens.. puppies, etc, these photos are adorable (as you already know, how could they NOT be!) Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed.. awesome to be the noticed one of thousands:) (How could they NOT notice these cats:)

  47. Charlotte says:

    CUTEST POST EVER!! I ❀ your kittens ^_^

  48. This post has certainly brighten my Monday! The blue beret brings makes their blue eyes stand out – oh so cute plus the bowtie factor:) Congrats on being FP!

  49. Claudia says:

    Absolutely adorable! Cutie cats.

  50. Anita Mac says:

    Awesome! That beret is great! Don’t think my girls will let me – we are still negotiating on their modelling careers! I was barely able to get to snap them in the Christmas mood!!! As they are so incredibly adorable – I must also share: http://www.anitamacphotos.wordpress.com/2011/12/12/introducing-my-christmas-assistants/
    Happy holidays to you and your cats.

  51. Lurkertype says:

    Dear people who spied Chun on FP:

    Click around here and see all the Miao kitties! All ages and colors from kitten to 18, long and short haired, there are 8 handsome boys to see here. (Over in the sidebar, where it says “Miao Brothers”, you can meet all the older ones)

  52. OMG!!! This is so cute, and I love this posting! I am also a cat lover and the bow-ties goosh I wish I could get some samples for my cat harmony. πŸ™‚

  53. Phlegethon says:

    Aaaaahhhh! Why must they be so cute! I’m petting my laptop screen (weird, I know)

  54. katybrandes says:

    These are beautiful pictures!

  55. johnhauge says:

    generally speaking i’m not an animal wearing clothing fan. however, thanks. very nice.

  56. mcolmo says:

    Those photos are amazing! Wish I could capture my kitties like that!

  57. luxhandmade says:

    ahaha I adore cats, they are my favorite animals ^^ Your miao models are so cute πŸ™‚ I’m happy to have find your page πŸ™‚ (Sorry for my english I’m italian!)

  58. Ronna says:

    These are terrific. Miaovalus, really!!

  59. Jean says:

    Wonderfully adorable photos and great quality too! Congrats. for getting freshly pressed.

  60. greceln says:

    I love it. I have cats and wish I could dress them up and take pictures. But no. It will never be. One is a princessa and even though she’ll look great, she will not have me put anything on her. The other two are just not fashionistas. Thanks for making my day.

    • littlemiao says:

      Awww, I understand though – if I were a cat I wouldn’t want to dress up and have my photo taken (well, even not being a cat I don’t want to). I’m really lucky I have kitties who are willing to model for me. I have unsuccessfully tried to convince a couple other cats to wear hats.

  61. sophie says:

    The photo of your cats together is awesome. Although I’ve never been sure if cats actually enjoy being dressed up. My cats would probably decapitate me if I tried.

  62. kev07wan says:

    Cats are so cute omg!

  63. furandsteel says:

    yes purr! I love the brotherly portrait!

  64. These are beautiful photos!!!!!

  65. Oooh, those blue eyes with that blue beret is a winning combo. But the black and white cat with the red bow-tie is such a nice color combination, too! These photos are such fun. Wish I had a knack for taking such fun pics of my kitties. I might check out that site but am not at all sure whether my cats would tolerate a hat! And I haven’t got blue-eyed cats, so perhaps another color. I do have a black and white and I’m sure she’d look good in a red beret, if she’ll tolerate one!

    • littlemiao says:

      It was definitely a risk when I bought Chun’s blue beret, but I could not resist. Their hat-maker was really sweet; she customizes hats to match the kitties. I’m thinking of getting Sprocket a red beret. He may try to eat it.

  66. Your pictures made my day so much better. Thank you and keep taking photos!

  67. Java Girl says:

    This is outrageously cute! πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

  68. So cute. They made my day! Love the beret, it brings out his or her blue eyes.

  69. Cave Story says:

    They are so cute!

  70. gamppart says:

    What an amazing pair — they obviously have prior modelling experience!

  71. Natasha says:

    My Merlin wears ties as well! Cats look so good in formal wear, lol

  72. The Hook says:

    I’d LOVE to know what they’re thinking…..

  73. John zhao says:

    I like the hat more, πŸ˜€

  74. Cuteness to the max! I want to cuddle all of them and hug’em and kiss’em those little cuties. Was so thrilled watching them. Ya, love memengs!

  75. VTP says:

    the beret matches its sparkling blue eyes

  76. Diane Landy says:

    These are such great photos. I enjoyed seeing them very much! Congrats on being fp!

  77. kofegeek says:

    I love the blue soft hat so much

  78. gaycarboys says:

    I can see a million people going “pusspusspusspusspusspusspusspussy catssss”. They are just adorable. I miss my puddins SO much!

  79. Cee says:

    omg! gorgeous eyes!

  80. mebal07 says:

    those are cute! the eyes! ❀

  81. Exodus says:

    as a cat lover, these are disturbingly adorable!

  82. I love catsss! Good thing I was able to pass by your blog. Your cats are sooo adorable and cute! πŸ™‚

  83. Fragolina says:

    wowww amazing so cute. adorable….

  84. Cathy says:

    The ‘brotherly portrait’ is sooo cute!

  85. Your miaos looking so cute.. Eyes or beret combination is awesome. Thanks for sharing beautiful pics..

  86. Michele LMS says:

    Your kitties are very high on the “extreme cuteness” scale! Simply adorable photos!

    http://arabianmusings.wordpress.com/

  87. adorable … super cute!

    my cats will kill me if I try to put a bow tie on his neck πŸ˜€

  88. malouprestado says:

    My daughter loved these pictures and is now asking for a cat as a Christmas present from Santa. Too bad that I have allergy to cats!

  89. bumpyescape says:

    I love it…I miss my Puci so much…

  90. Sabine says:

    The cats are truly adorable! Have such character and just brings a smile to my face.

    Some of the photographs can be used as wonderful Christmas cards ^__^

  91. littlemiao says:

    thanks, everyone, for all your comments. My Miaolings are honored by this recognition of their cuteness. πŸ˜€

  92. anipics says:

    Oh so cute and beautiful pictures! I love it!

  93. OMG, like cuteness beam make my eyes blind :)) I love twinkle in yr eyes

  94. Your cats are adorable, lovely, stunning, beautiful and fluffy!!!

  95. I absolutely love these photos – too cute! I’ve never seen a cat in a beret – but it seems like a natural fit. πŸ™‚ I have a collar/tie for one of my cats, and I’m thinking I might have to get some bowties now. Congrats on being freshly pressed!

  96. Cherie says:

    Just too ADORABLE!

  97. My heart totally melted. Thank you for this! πŸ˜€

  98. suusnijssen says:

    i died from cuteness.. Seriously

  99. eastsideah says:

    Reblogged this on keeping your pets healthy and happy! and commented:
    Your comments (optional)This blogger’s kitty photoshoot is almost too much to bear — from the beret, the Jingle Bell-themed collar accessories, festive bow-ties, right down to the unbelievable baby blues, the subjects featured in these pictures sure know how to work the fancy -yet feisty- look!

    These felines strike poses that even Ms. Tyra Banks, famed for her finicky flaunting and flair for the flamboyant, would find fall nothing short of FIERCE. Forreal. These kitties are certainly bringing what Little Miao refers to as “the floof factor.”

  100. Pingback: Ebony and Sneakers Favorites! « The Adventures of Ebony & Sneakers

  101. mediaudio says:

    This is indescribably cute. Ceiling Cat is probably so jealous!

  102. JL says:

    They’re sooo adorable! Makes me miss my own kitty so much – but she can’t tell the difference between a hat and a very scary dog.

  103. Karyl says:

    very cute kitties!

  104. Hej from Sweden!

    Oh my what beautiful cats! Kisses to you cats! Great blog!

    Welcome to my blog: http://gullringstorpgoatsblog.wordpress.com

  105. blondgirl008 says:

    I am a sucker for pictures of cute kitties. More! More!

  106. What beautiful eyes they have! And what lovely pictures you take! Thanks for sharing. And congratulations on being Freshly Pressed.

  107. eyeLaugh says:

    OH MY GOD! flippin’ gorgeous kitties! i want to pet them!

  108. Oh my GOD..your cats are CUTE.

  109. how sweet they are. AHHH why they are not mine =)

  110. I just can’t comprehend how so much cuteness can exist in one place! Now, if you’ll excuse me I need to scream like a 5 year old girl for a while…SQUUUUEEEE!!!!

  111. Very beautiful cats love note in which they live
    I also I have two cats and I copied the dress of the tuyyos

    Thanks

    Lara Olm

  112. Holy cow-spotted cat! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!!!

  113. newbingositesuk says:

    Damn, Christmas is expensive enough and now I’ve got to go out and get me a cute Kitty – Miaoalicious!

  114. Pingback: AnimalShak » Bow Ties and Ballyhoo

  115. I’m a total cat person. LOVED the photos and the reference to them as miaolings.

  116. Pingback: Miao Chronicles Highlights of 2011 | the miao chronicles

  117. elizabethannewrites says:

    I have just read (and been impressed by — FRESHLY imPRESSed by) all the posts. I’m so delighted to be able to say “I knew the Miaos back when…”

    I love the brotherly pose. I choose to believe that Sprockers is giving his brother a holiday kiss.

  118. yeahiloveit says:

    Nice post!
    Can we use couple paragraphes for our site http://yeahiloveit.com ?

Miao & Purr!

