Not feeling the floof today…

That is a blasphemous sentiment for Caturday!

But I am so cranky and out of sorts. Since I got home this afternoon, my Miaolings have worked hard to improve my mood. First Chun, following me around like an affectionate puppy dog, and then Sprocket, squeaking for me to set him on my lap. Floof therapy never fails. Folding paper cranes also helps.

Here is Sprocket from August. OMG. I had barely had him for two weeks when I took this photo.
sprocket

And here’s Chun-Chun.
chun

This entry was posted in caturday, chun, littlemiao, miaolings, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Not feeling the floof today…

  1. Dianda says:

    The whole collar thing makes Sprocket look even more adorable than he is already. πŸ™‚
    And don’t you love it when your cats are trying to cheer you up? πŸ˜‰

  2. minlit says:

    I definitely think Sprocket & Toko are related. In spirit. Isn’t it funny the way you always see them as tiny things even when they grow up?

  3. lahgitana says:

    Sprocket–nice kitten!
    Chun–regal cat!
    (PS. In my next life, I wish to be called Sprocket!)

  4. Lauri says:

    I hope your mood has improved. I had a crabby start to the day, so maybe it was something in the air! πŸ™‚

    • littlemiao says:

      aw. *miao purrs* for you.

      No improvement yet, unless I have a Miao(ling) on my lap. I am finding it very hard to interact with certain people without smashing my head into the wall. Grrrrr. I’m rarely in such a purely awful mood.

      I’m in the process of making cookies, so things might get better. Pumpkin.

      • Lauri says:

        Blah…certain people do have talents for making us crabby, eh?
        πŸ™‚
        Cookies should help!

      • I hear ya. I think trying to civil to everyone at Thanksgiving drained whatever cheer I had earlier in the month. Then my father threw a tantrum today, which made me want to throw him onto a rubber raft and let him drift off with the Pacific current.

        I need to get some floof too.

        • “…trying to BE civil…” Bah! See? I can’t even write anymore!

        • littlemiao says:

          Floof helps me get through the day. I don’t know how you manage without it. Sandy cuddles?

          In my case, I’m probably the unreasonable one who ought to be set adrift. I let the big things that *really* bother me go, but then I snap over any little thing that rubs me the wrong way. And then I feel guilty so I apologize, but then I get resentful for apologizing. Yeah, I need to get out of here. But the Miao House is a wonderful floofy retreat. At least I have that.

          • Sandy has fleas, lol! She’s really a sweet dog, but she’s big, 130 pounds, and she doesn’t like being snuggled. She was abused as a puppy—my brother got her from a Lab rescue group—so she has these odd phobias. She does love my cooking, so that’s a good way to get her to come to me and sit next to my chair.

            You unreasonable? Not like my parents’ unreasonable. Dad said he was so mad he wasn’t going to eat dinner with us, then he came to the table and helped himself five times to the burgers I made.Never a thanks or even a “Gee, that’s good.”

            • littlemiao says:

              Well, I do seem reasonable compared to that. 😦

              Fleas are not very snuggly at all. I’m glad Sandy is appreciative of your cooking.

              • Lauri says:

                I agree that Thanksgiving sucked all of the energy right out of me. I sort of went into a tail-spin after that. Slowly getting it back. But, wow.
                I usually have a huge Christmas Eve meal for everyone in my family (brother, sister and their families) but I told them that I will make Christmas day meal and take it wherever we are doing Christmas, but I’m not having the Christmas eve meal for anyone but my own immediate kids and their spouses. Whew.

                • littlemiao says:

                  It sounds like you’ll still have a pretty large gathering to handle, though. So you have to make Christmas Eve and Christmas day meals? Wow. You’re amazing.

                  • Lauri says:

                    Well, I volunteered for Thanksgiving and I always liked doing Christmas eve so I could make an English meat pie, like my grandma always made. But I’ll make the meat pie on the 22nd, when all my kids will be here.
                    The extended family will be on their own for Christmas eve! I told them I’d bring meat pie to Christmas day if they want, but they haven’t decided what we’re doing for Christmas day yet.

  5. I’ve been feeling pretty growly today. I hope your evening has been much better!

  6. Alexandra says:

    I always forget to ask what this blue collar is for.

    • littlemiao says:

      Sprocket’s story: Sprocket was rescued from a country road when he was teeny tiny (it was 31 July 2011). His leg was broken and most of his tail gone. The vet had to amputate his leg because the injury was at least two weeks old. The typical Elizabethan collar for recovering critters was uncomfortable for him, and we knew he’d be stuck in it a while, so we got him this inflatable donut collar. He had to wear it for almost two months, to prevent licking the sutures. When he finally graduated from his collar, he looked so funny without it.

      • Alexandra says:

        Thank you for telling me the story. Oh god πŸ˜₯ I didn’t know any of that. I’m so happy for him that you found him and that there were people who helped…It’s just not possible to imagine this guy has been through so much looking at him now. I could have never imagined it. He looks so fluffy and healthy and happy.
        I love him even more now.

Miao & Purr!

