More Sprocket to hug!

I took Sprocket in for one of his kitten shots this morning. He weighs 8.4lbs. One month ago, he weighed 7.3lbs. Based on this pattern, I have extrapolated his weight gain for the next few months:

January – 9.5
February – 10.6
March – 11.7
April – 12.8

When do you think he’ll reach 16?

He is pretty much Chun’s size now. He isn’t as long as Chun yet, but he makes up for it with the roundness of his belly. I thought the vet would chastise me for letting him get plump, but I guess it is normal kitten plumpness. I certainly don’t want to predispose Sprockers to diabetes!

This is a fresh photo of Sprocket
sprocket 12-2-2011 6-56-13 PM

and a fresh photo of Mani
mani 12-2-2011 6-56-37 PM

It was a sunny day today but I wasn’t home in time for a proper photo session.

This entry was posted in mani, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to More Sprocket to hug!

  1. trishc1812 says:

    Love the pics of the fur babies! Hopefully you will have sun this weekend and will be able to take some good shots of all the fur babies.

    • littlemiao says:

      Sunday is a possibility, slight chance of snow. I work most of tomorrow but it will be rainy/snowy (lovely mixture!) anyways. The Miaos will all be napping and dreaming of sunshine.

  2. Lauri says:

    Awwww….the beautiful furkids! They look spectacular!

    Ashlee’s Murray went to the vet today (after his six week ordeal in the foreclosed house). He weighs 7.4 pounds, but shows no sign of liver or kidney failure so he should recover just fine. talk about Murricles! 😀

  3. Lurkertype says:

    Sprockey is going to be bigger than TK any time now!

    It is impressive that he manages to be such a big boy even missing a leg and part of a tail. Not that kitty bones weigh that much, but they do weigh something.

  4. lahgitana says:

    I LOVE the snow falling!

  5. Yay new kitteh pics! ::tries to pet them through the screen::

  6. Laurie says:

    Two of my three kitties are getting a bit plump and they don’t have the kitten excuse that sweet Sprocket does. I think it’s time to cut back their foodz.

  7. Holy cow-spotted cat! Little Sprocket’s going to outweigh me by next fall. I need to get off this diet so I can keep up!

    Don’t fret about little Sprocket too much. After my human adopted me, in the first two weeks I gained 3 lbs. 😀

    • lauowolf says:

      Yes, he is still stabilizing after all the medical stuffs, and the basic life alteration and all.
      I don’t think he looks chunky, just lush.

    • littlemiao says:

      3 lb in 2 weeks… Hmmm, I think I may have gained 3lb in two days, just over Thanksgiving.

      We should celebrate when Sprocket reaches sweet sixteen. I’m thinking that he will be a big boned kitty so the vet won’t have a problem with his weight. So far, my philosophy has been to let him eat what he wants, unless it belongs to someone else.

  8. Susan Meyer says:

    My kitty, Blue, gained a bunch of weight after he came to live with us. Now, he’s just a hefty little (?) guy! More to love, though…..Sprocket and Mani look so comfy! Fun to watch the snow coming down while I’m on this post!

    • littlemiao says:

      Yes, more to love and cuddle! Since a couple of our senior cats have gone through some health struggles, I learned to be thankful of their margin of extra plump. I know diabetes is a big risk for cats, but luckily we haven’t had to deal with it. Ping’s extra weight a couple years ago helped get him through pancreatitis when he wasn’t eating anything.

      • I think the extra cushion is a fine strategy. Kitty has never been able to get back to a normal weight since her bout with pancreatitis, especially since she’s on a strict lowfat diet now. So Sprocket and I will stock up now, just in case. 🙂

  9. Wazeau says:

    Nothing wrong with a little kitten belly. Now if he starts looking like a basketball with a tail, then you can start cutting back with the kibbles 🙂

  10. Dianda says:

    He looks so cuddly!

Miao & Purr!

