Subdued Caturday at the Miao House

Again, thank you all for your good thoughts for Ping. He is doing about the same. This afternoon, he seemed a little perkier at times. Still no appetite. I think he may have vomited once. We have been keeping him hydrated with sub-Q fluids and this afternoon we gave him water in a syringe. He really doesn’t like it. He also loathes the nausea medicine. We gave him some tuna broth which he normally would have found delicious. Maybe he got a couple mouthfuls. Right now, he is napping on the comfy chair with Tashi snuggled up next to him.

In other news, Sprocket thinks paper bags make comfy nap-spots. I think he must be going through another growth spurt because his tummy doesn’t seem so disproportionately round anymore.
paper bag nap

In two-day-old news, Kemi inspects (and samples) the cookies I made for Thanksgiving.
cookies etc 11-23-2011 4-01-39 PM

And here you can see my laptop’s screensaver – the Laugh-Out-Loud Cats!! You also may be able to see the colony of miniature dust-bunnies that live in my keyboard. It is really quite disgusting but I can’t get them to move out.
cookies etc 11-23-2011 3-52-42 PM

This entry was posted in kemi, littlemiao, miao updates, ping, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Subdued Caturday at the Miao House

  1. Lauri says:

    The cookies look fantastic! Sprockey is so sweet. Mr. Orion knows how much napping is needed whilst growing. And then there is the mid-life napping and the ….um…later life napping. All very important!
    So many healing thoughts coming out to King Ping.
    I can’t see a single dust bunny on that keyboard. I have dust bunnies and Cheeto crumbs in mine. 😛

  2. nadbugs says:

    Hang in there Ping. REALLY.

  3. elizabethannewrites says:

    many many healing thoughts for the King. and many hugs for you.

    (and the cookie-taster. My Bear has good taste. Those cookies look absolutely NUMSCIOUS!)

  4. Lurkertype says:

    I have Kitteh and Pip as my wallpaper as well.

    TK is murping around and rrrowwling. It’s a lot like Sprocketting. Tortie is chasing her tail on the back of the couch.

    I hope Ping gets an appetite soon. I would feed him the finest tuna available if I was there.

    That photo of the Bear tasting the cookies is adorable! Vegan cookies may invade your cookie jar, but they will be followed by Kemi!

    (I am reading a book set in ancient Egypt, which they’re correctly calling Kemet. It reminded me of the Care Bear.)

    • littlemiao says:

      We gave Ping the fancy eco-friendly tuna from the co-op. Maybe he’ll want some tomorrow. Everyone else went crazy over the smell. I knocked the can off the counter by accident and Sprocket attacked the splattered sauce immediately. He even got growly when others approached. What book are you reading? I am curious.

      TK is a very sprocketty kitty. It’s nice to hear HRTortie being playful without TK’s interference.

  5. crankyoldkitty says:

    I can’t believe how big Sprocket is! He might just make it to 16 lbs some day. Especially if you water him!

    I hope Ping feels better soon. And in the meantime, I hope his serfs are serfing their hearts out. At our age, cats deserve some extra pampering!!!

  6. Dianda says:

    I hope Ping feels better soon.

    And those cookies look delicious. 🙂

  7. Oldcat says:

    I hope Ping gets his appetite back soon!

  8. jimmie chew says:

    i hope Ping eats soon, i hear its not good when they dont eat., eat ping eat, please!! I’m sure you have done everything for him, he is lucky to have you, good luck on monday, i hope the vet will give you good news. he is in our thoughts every night!
    love,
    Jimmie, Darnell and Fin

  9. Wazeau says:

    hang in there, Ping! We are sending out our best wishes for your health. And hopes for cookies.

  10. mariser says:

    I hope Ping gets his appetite back soon. at least with the subQ fluids he’s getting some water.
    maybe when you take him to the vet tomorrow they can prescribe some appetite stimulant to go with the antinausea meds.
    best to all the Miaos, bipeds, tripods, and quadrupeds

    • littlemiao says:

      Thank you, mariser! I like how you covered all the bases with bipeds, tripods, and quadrupeds. We’ve got them all! (along with some centipedes, but I try not to think about those).

  11. Lurkertype says:

    I am glad the Royal Vizier was attending to his King.

    TK was a tiny skinny little kitty and he weighs 16 lbs. now. He needs to lose some, though, the vet had trouble finding his bladder under the chub. But I’m sure Sprocket will be a big boy.

Miao & Purr!

