how not to declutter

Yesterday my decluttering efforts had mixed results. My bedroom is much neater, and though not clutter free, the lessening of the clutter makes it a happier room to be in. I even freed a bookshelf. I have a lot of book reorganization to do. Boxes and boxes await in the garage.

decluttered bookcase
declutterday2 11-20-2011 11-54-28 AM

recluttering the floor
recluttering 11-20-2011 11-55-01 AM

I had an audience. I felt like they were heckling me.
front row audience 11-20-2011 11-26-30 AM

here’s a before picture
declutterday2 11-20-2011 11-26-19 AM

here’s an after picture
declutterday2 11-20-2011 12-38-01 PM

Sprocket napped in my laundry basket, which now fits in the closet where it belongs.
laundry 11-20-2011 12-41-40 PM

So where did the clutter go?

This is the desk in Chun’s room. I think it qualifies as cluttered.
where did the clutter go 11-20-2011 11-57-09 AM

I put all the blankets and cushions and kitty beds by Chun’s window seat. It’s hard to figure out where to put bulky things like this.
chun's room 11-20-2011 11-57-16 AM

I suppose I’ll have to deal with it next weekend.

This entry was posted in chun, littlemiao, lotus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to how not to declutter

  1. Compared to me, you did great! I had to shift things from one corner to another as I cleaned—I just don’t have room here for all of the stuff I have plus my brother’s and my parents’. Plus I didn’t have cats watching me while I cleaned. That would have been a bonus, since I ran into the rat twice while I was cleaning. 😮

    Anyway, your photos are pushing me to keep going. I’ve only finished half my task here. I have to have everything clear before Thursday, when my daughter comes over for Thanksgiving.

  2. Lurkertype says:

    That’s a pretty good job. Even Chun’s desk could be neatened up pretty quickly.

    Considering I would NEVER get anything done with so many handsome cats around needing to be snorgled, I think you did well.

    • littlemiao says:

      Perhaps I will get the motivation to neaten Chun’s desk on Friday. It will involve sorting through papers, which I detest. But I did some preliminary stuff earlier in the summer so it shouldn’t be as onerous.

      Sprocket and Chun like sorting papers, but so far delegating the task to them has had mixed results.

  3. Lauri says:

    Success for sure!!!
    I have to get some pics of my decluttered rooms because after this weekend, with four kids and six dogs spending the weekend my decluttering will be completely recluttered! You did great!

    HG, you need to make friends with that rat. I bet he could be trained to come to you for treats. 😉

  4. Dianda says:

    I still think you did a great job. 🙂

  5. Redscylla says:

    My recommendation for bulky blankets: Space Bags. They’re the giant zipper bags that have a port to suck all the air out. They’re not that expensive and they really help with storing blankies in less space.

  6. robpixaday says:

    Wooohooooo!!!!
    Fabulous job! And all while being HECKLED!!!!!
    (they definitely look like a handsome but rowdy bunch…LOL)

  7. nadbugs says:

    The look on the cats’ faces. Like: “Mama, if you were a cat, none of this would matter.” Or, like funny-guy Roy Blount says cats must think a lot, while observing / heckling humans: “Is there a problem here? I don’t understand.”

  8. msmouse7 says:

    Excellent job on your declutter projects! My kitties were helping me too. Especially MeiMei who is not afraid of water and was helping with the dishes.

  9. Nice! I say you got some good work done 😀

Miao & Purr!

