Sprocket’s first snow!!

Yesterday, we had our first snow of the season. Almost 5 inches of fluffy fun! I’m not actually that excited about it, but I am excited that it should mostly melt off over the weekend.

I walked barefoot in the snow for good luck yesterday, when it was still fresh. I’m sure I learned this from a Vox peep, perhaps it was Lauri but I might be making that up. I’m not superstitious, really. It just seemed worth a try.

first snow 11-9-2011 11-12-14 AM

I started running again this week. It feels great. My knees are pretty much healed. Running gives me the energy to deal with stuff. It makes me happier and it even helps my back pain. It feels like blasphemy to say it, but it is even better than chocolate. It is not a cure for procrastination, though. I am moving forward and a glacial pace and it is a struggle not to give up just because I am stuck in Miao Town longer than I would like.

Sprocket is so adorably round. He doesn’t worry about accomplishing goals or making anything of his life because he is simply purrfect and he knows he will end up where he wants, and he knows that it is the journey that matters, not the destination. I can learn a lot from Sprocket.

my inspiration
blueblankie 10-23-2011 1-38-41 PM

This entry was posted in littlemiao, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sprocket’s first snow!!

  1. elizabethannewrites says:

    I feel the need to quote from A.A. Milne…

    “The more it snows tiddleypom
    The more it goes tiddleypom
    The more it goes tiddleypom
    On snowing,

    And nobody knows tiddleypom
    How cold my toes tiddleypom
    How cold my toes tiddleypom
    Are growing!”

    Brrrrr. I find both Sprocket and Beautiful Blue Blankie inspiring. The two together? Mmmmm… (And all will be well, and all will be well, and all manner of things will be well.)

  2. Dianda says:

    He looks like a happy cat!

  3. Well, consider: Sprocket has you to worry for him. We humans are cursed with the ability to project, which gives us the ability to plan and invent, but can also paralyze us with doubt. “What if….?”

    I think one blessing of having snow is that it’s nature’s way of saying, “Take a break.Time to rest.” In Cali we don’t have that. At this point we’ll get rain, fog, or clear, cold skies. And no one ever slows down for those, unfortunately.

  4. leendadll says:

    You must have a screw loose. I tried running (MANY years ago), while I was in shape even, and it SUCKED. Never ever ever again. I’m a weight-lifting kind of gal. Unfortunately, working out only calms me down while I’m working out. By the time I move on to something else, all of my anxiety returns.

    Walking barefoot in the snow for luck? I like it!

    • littlemiao says:

      I’m scared of weights. They’re so overwhelming I try not to look at them at the gym. I know you’re supposed to do both. Maybe one day, but I would need instruction otherwise I would hurt myself.

      I think there is something comforting about the pounding of feet with running. It reminds me to breathe. Five years ago, I couldn’t have run to save my life. In college, I entered a charity run and I couldn’t even make it down the block.

  5. leendadll says:

    btw: last night I found myself thinking of Sprocket and being totally envious that he seems likely to look like a kitten forever.

  6. Lauri says:

    It was me who does that! I try to walk barefoot in the first snow on the ground every year! We haven’t had any on the ground yet! Just a few flurries in the air!

  7. My feet got cold just looking at that top pic!
    I’m glad you’re getting to enjoy running again! Hurray! Enjoy it for me…I don’t like it unless I’m playing a game that involves running.
    The pic of Sprocket…wow….*melt*

  8. Lurkertype says:

    The shooting stars look like they’re springing out of Sprocket.

  9. nadbugs says:

    –and the stars echo the color of his eyes. He just is a star. Run free, LM. May your stars guide your way.

  10. Wazeau says:

    bare feet in the snow, totally cringe. I wear socks in the summer even my toes are always that cold. Sprocket is adorably squeeworthy as usual. Love the curled paws.

Miao & Purr!

