Sprocket’s October Reading

1. Invisible Cities by Italo Calvino – Sprocket finally got through this little gem of a book, his first introduction to world geography.

2. Of Thee I Sing by Barack Obama – My little Miaolings found plenty of career guidance in this beautifully illustrated book. Chun is inspired to become an artist and also win the Nobel Prize in Olympics. Sprocket wants to be a philanthropist when he grows up. He plans to start a charitable foundation for three-legged cats and children.

3. A Kitten’s Year by Nancy Raines Day and Anne Mortimer – A lovely kitten calendar book with gorgeous illustrations sure to delight all of your feline friends. Click here for Sprocket’s review.
book 10-23-2011 1-37-17 PM

4. The Reason for a Flower by Ruth Heller – This gorgeous and informative book whetted Sprocket’s appetite for botanical and entomological subjects. See his review here.
flowerbook 10-23-2011 1-47-27 PM

5. The Library Lion by Michelle Knudsen and Kevin Hawkes – This adorably illustrated book is an excellent way to introduce your kittens to proper library etiquette. The only thing it is missing is a section on when it is appropriate to chomp on books. Look for Sprocket and Chun’s joint review sometime in November.

6. Miss Fanshawe and the Great Dragon Adventure by Sue Scullard – One of my own childhood favorites. This true story, reconstructed from a Victorian adventurer’s travel journals, is accompanied by some of the most intricate and stunning illustrations in the history of dragon literature. Chun isn’t sure he believes in dragons. His state of skepticism is somewhat baffling to both Sprocket and me. I don’t know how I could possibly have raised a kitty who doesn’t believe in dragons. Sprocket may eventually write a PhD dissertation on dragonology, but until then, look for his review of this book later in November.

7. More Cricket stories. We haven’t quite made our way through September’s issue.

November is going to be an exciting month for Sprocket because he is going to read his first Shakespearean play. I haven’t decided whether to start him with Henry V (Papa Miao’s choice), Romeo and Juliet (everyone starts there, it seems), Much Ado About Nothing (short and sweet), or Macbeth (my favorite, but perhaps too dark for a Sprockitty). Any suggestions?

This entry was posted in books, chun, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sprocket’s October Reading

  1. nadbugs says:

    Oh LM, I do not recommend R&J — Romeo calls cats “unworthy things”!
    Do you know, Shakespeare is Cod this Bean, but I don’t think he is at all good for cats. No, not at all. http://www.pandecats.com/x/cats-of-shakespeare.shtml

  2. I say “Much Ado About Nothing.” Have to start with something funny 🙂

  3. “Hark, young tripod, triptree kitten! Thy purrs fall on ears deaff by hunger’s stomach rumblings–my pie’s my own, and’ll share it not! Mew to thy mistress for thy beer and kibbles!”

  4. Maybe Merry Wives of Windsor? I think Master Sprokky would like Falstaff.

  5. robpixaday says:

    So well-read! And so well-inspired!

    Lovely choices, all.

    I didn’t verify this (just grabbed it from a quotations page) but here’s another way to go:
    “The cat, with eyes of burning coal,
    Now Couches ‘fore the mouse’s hole.”
    from Shakespeare “Pericles, Prince of Tyre” act 3, scene 1, line 5
    Not sure how interesting that play is, but mousies are always cool.
    here the page: http://www.catquotes.com/catquotes20.htm

  6. Sprocket’s reading list makes mine look trashy. You didn’t tell me you put him in an AP literature class!

    I’d skip Shakespeare’s plays if I were you, and introduce Sprocket to the sonnets. “Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day? Thou art more lovely and more temperate.” (Sonnet XVIII) Actually, now that I think about it, have you introduced Sprocket to poetry yet? I used to read poems to my children, albeit they loved Shel Silverstein and Edward Gorey the best. “A is for Amy who fell down the stairs, B is Basil assaulted by bears….” My children were sadistic little creatures. 😮

    • littlemiao says:

      That is a fantastic idea, HG. In fact, that is what I will do. The sonnets come in a much more easily digestible size. I really need to remedy his lack of exposure to poetry.

      I’m sorry to say I was deprived of Edward Gorey’s alphabet as a child. 😦 But I learned about it through my favorite comic. Let’s see if this embedding image thing works. If I mess it up, at least it’s my own blog. 😛

      Laugh-Out-Loud Cats #1137

      • Aww! Poor Pip! But that’s still better than the fates of the Gashlycrumb Tinies. I used to wonder if Gorey really hated children that much, though mine thought he was hilarious.

        Sonnet XVIII btw reminds me of a cat’s purr, it’s so fine.

        • littlemiao says:

          I would like to name a child/kitty after Zillah. When they are old enough, I can show them the inspiration for their name. LOL. Makes me want to have a child just to get that chance. I would have found Gorey scary but fascinating if I had seen that book when I was little. Maybe Sprockles needs it for his library.

Miao & Purr!

