Kombucha for kitties, not for zombies

Kombucha is one of my favorite things ever. It is a fermented drink made with probiotic cultures and black tea. I discovered it two years ago when my roommate moved in with a big huge jar of symbiotic colonies of bacteria and yeast (scoby for short). Sounds yummy, doesn’t it? I’ve been making kombucha almost weekly ever since. After much trial and error, I’ve perfected my craft. My kombucha is fizzy, slightly sweet, and with a hard edge like apple cider. A couple people have asked me if kombucha qualifies as vegan. The answer is yes, because you’re just giving all of the wonderful little microorganisms a new place to live in your tummy. They will make you happy and healthy, and their vitality may confer upon you some immunity to zombie-fication.*

* This statement has not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.

Sometimes, especially when I am visiting my brother, I indulge and buy pre-made kombucha. The only brand I like is GT’s/synergy. Here in Miao Town, it is too expensive, but in larger towns it appears to be more affordable.

Ozymandias likes kombucha too
kombucha 10-5-2011 10-31-00 AM

kombucha is fun and nutritious
kombucha 10-5-2011 10-31-15 AM

Watch for exploding kombucha bottles. If it gets really fizzy as soon as you open it, close it immediately (with a fast reaction time or else you may lose half the bottle) and put it back in the fridge for at least half a day. It should calm down.
kombucha 10-5-2011 10-31-49 AM

I miss Ozy-o!
kombucha 10-5-2011 10-31-10 AM

This entry was posted in food, fox kitties and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Kombucha for kitties, not for zombies

  1. Lauri says:

    The fizziness might be enhanced by being batted around by Ozy! πŸ™‚
    Kombucha sounds very interesting and healthy. I’ll have to look around for it! In SE Michigan? I wonder…

  2. GanLu says:

    you can also open it over a big cup and let it foam and fizz into the cup until it’s content. all the little strands of culture from the bottom of the bottle come bubbling up like fishies playing in ocean currents. i bought a passionberry bliss synergy the other day and i opened it over a cup and watched 1/6 of the bottle joyfully effervesce. the foam turned back into fizzy liquid. then i drank it from the cup and it tasted… aerated, like wine or beer. i could taste the juice from the cup portion much more distinctly than when i drank it right out of the bottle.

  3. GanLu says:

    i wish i could give you ozy-o. she is sooooo obnoxious in the morning.

  4. Lifehacker had an article about making your own kombucha from scratch, but it was followed by a thread of negative comments. I didn’t realize kombucha was so controversial! Apparently there are concerns about home-brewed kombucha being contaminated by not so benign bacteria, and not everyone is sold on its health benefits. To me, it’s similar to making beer, but you don’t get drunk on kombucha. πŸ˜€

    • littlemiao says:

      I have encountered the negative perspective too. I have never gotten sick from my kombucha so I’m not too worried. People have been making their own kombucha for a long, long time.

      I know there is some minimal alcoholic content to kombucha.

  5. Lurkertype says:

    I love how Ozzy’s eyes and fur are exactly the same color.

    Nin hao, GanLu!

  6. My human LOVES kombucha! She used to make it and keep it in the closet I couldn’t open. Sometimes she would buy it and swear a lot when it would explode. But now that we are living in the Asheville area, she has found Buchi brand and she says it is the best ever! I should be their spokes-cat. The Buchi Fire flavor is the best — ginger and cayenne to give her energy to play with me. Highly recommended. Ask for it in your area. And then tell the company they should pay me for my endorsement.

    JhaJha

    • littlemiao says:

      Buchi Fire sounds like just my thing – ginger and cayenne are two of my favorite spices. I will tell my co-op about it, but they never listen to me. I’ve given them so many product suggestions over the last year… *sigh* That is one of the drawbacks of living 50 mi from the middle of nowhere.

      I think you would make an excellent spokes-cat, JhaJha. πŸ™‚

Miao & Purr!

