How I celebrated World Vegan Day with my Miaolings

My sources tell me today is World Vegan Day. I celebrated. Here’s how:

1. Sleeping in until a shamefully late hour (after 8!), anchored down by Chun, who isn’t vegan and can sometimes be a corrupting influence in my life, although he has not yet convinced me to share his breakfasts.

2. Researching, unsuccessfully, the origins of World Vegan Day to figure out why they decided on November 1st, All Saints’ Day. Is there a connection? I may never know. EDITED TO ADD: It appears that the British Vegan Society was established on 1 Nov 1944, explaining the date.

3. Emptying my compost pail outside. It was satisfying but gross.

4. Making baking powder biscuits. The recipe is probably the same, vegan or not.

5. Playing with Sprocket.

6. Pining over vegan shoes I would like to get. None of them are sturdy, weather-proof shoes appropriate for biking, though.

I also remembered my second goal for November: No frivolous spending. I remembered just as I was purchasing some animal patterned origami paper, because I want Sprocket needs a cow-spotted crane and a zebra-striped crane and an alligator-patterned crane. Overall, I’m not off to a great start with this goal, but tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet. Really it shouldn’t be too hard to curtail my spending since I am earning next to nothing, but two dollars here and five dollars there add up. So do summer sandals in winter, used books by the barrel-full, and a little blue beret for my Chun. It matches his eyes. Pictures forthcoming.

chun 9-21-2011 9-34-06 PM

This entry was posted in chun, food, littlemiao, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to How I celebrated World Vegan Day with my Miaolings

  1. elizabethannewrites says:

    If I smile and ask politely, may I have a baking powder biscuit, please? The tea place we went to in St. Paul made the weirdest scones in the world. Scones are basically baking powder biscuits, but these were more like cake inside, and they’d baked them until they were crunchy outside.

    The goal of not spending is a VERY difficult one. I wish you luck and willpower and fortitude. And I recognize the quote about the new day with no mistakes in it yet, and I applaud both the use of the quote, and the source!

    • littlemiao says:

      I thought you’d notice that quote! 🙂

      I have an easy-looking recipe for “British scones” in one of my cookbooks. I will have to see how they turn out.

  2. I made the same resolution, no spending on unnecessary things this month, and then I blew $25 on a book. A book of horror stories. I don’t know what came over me. I guess it’s hard to resist those little things, especially when we’re descending into cold, dark nights with lots of hours indoors.

    Most of the vegan clothing I’ve seen seems more appropriate for places like California or even Portland (though they sometimes get snow too). I saw some shoes made from recycled tires, but they felt like rubber bedroom slippers with no support or insulation in them. Boots might be the way to go, but bicycling in boots is really awkward. Do you bicycle much in winter weather? If you need just water-resistant shoes, you might be able to get away with just vinyl shoes that have been sprayed with waterproofing spray. My son, who is also vegan, rides in Bontrager race mountain cycling shoes, which are vegan but look like low-cut sneakers with big cleats. They’re not cheap—I think he said he paid $90 for them at an online discount store—but he says they’re pretty durable compared to the canvas Chrome shoes he bought for a similar price and which ripped apart after a few months. (He’s really hard on shoes.)

    Chun looks like a snow tiger in that photo. 🙂

    • littlemiao says:

      My snow tiger!

      I will have to look for those Bontrager shoes. I am willing to pay a good price for shoes that will last. I have one pair of winter boots (Earth shoes) and my good running shoes (not so good anymore, really), and I paid a pretty penny for both of them. I also have a pair of Simple shoes with tire soles and hemp uppers that I got half-price. I love them. They have adorable purple ribbon laces. They are pretty comfortable for me. Simple also makes ecologically-friendly leather shoes, I think.

      I don’t know how much I’ll have to bike this winter – probably not much, if I can avoid it. Winter wind is 100x harsher while biking. I used up all my endurance in the last few years.

  3. msmouse7 says:

    In the winter, I sometimes wear my Birkenstock sandals with polartec socks or the wool socks. Keeps my toesy toasty. Have never seen anywhere else except the Pacific Northwest where socks and Birks are a pair — in the winter.

  4. Oldcat says:

    If Chun is sleeping on you, it will be hard to spend money. So do more of that and feel good about it.

    • littlemiao says:

      The more I sleep, the less I spend! I must have saved at least $5 sleeping until 7.30 today, right? If Chun holds me hostage until noon, I probably saved $50. Unless I had to work that morning. 😉

  5. robpixaday says:

    A blue beret for Chun?
    Can’t wait to see that…

    And wow, I know all too well about not spending. I have no income (really: $0) and each penny I spend takes me closer to when I’ll have none at all. I desperately hope not to outlive my pennies. So I understand your concern and admire your fortitude. This world makes it VERY DIFFICULT not to spend. You’re doing great, just trying as hard as you are. You can do it!!

    Vegan Day! I didn’t know. Sweetie’s 100% carnivore. He did lick some peanut butter last night, though.
    🙂

  6. Lurkertype says:

    TK ate a piece of pineapple in solidarity!

Miao & Purr!

