Vegan Crane Pie

My Vegan Pie in the Sky arrived today, so my pie-making adventures can commence. Chun is very excited. We made our first pie, vegan crane pie. Simply mix together two dozen folded cranes, leave out until it accumulates a dusting of floof, and serve.

crane pie 10-26-2011 8-54-54 PM
crane pie 10-26-2011 8-59-35 PM
crane pie 10-26-2011 9-02-02 PM

It was quite yummy.

I am setting this post to publish just before midnight, so perhaps I can count it as my vegan post of the day for Wednesday and Thursday. It is almost the end of the month and I am determined to see this post-a-day thing through, whatever corners I have to cut.

This entry was posted in chun, food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Vegan Crane Pie

  1. Msmouse7 says:

    Gotta love cranes. Beautiful paper. And handsome Chun. What more could you ask for? (except maybe cookies 🐭)

  2. Redscylla says:

    My kitties love paper cranes as toys. I still fold a few now and then to keep them amused.

  3. robpixaday says:

    Definitely vegan (except fot the dusting of floof)…and ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE!
    I wonder if Sweetie would like me to make one of those cranes. He’s always enjoyed killing paper.

  4. I love folding cranes when I’m anxious about something. It requires concentration to make them just right, and after a while I forget about everything else except the square of paper in front of me.

    Chun biting the cranes in the dish makes me laugh! It reminds me for some reason of that song, “four and twenty blackbirds baked inside a pie.”

    • littlemiao says:

      Folding cranes is meditative. Maybe that is its attraction to me right now, because I really need to empty my mind. When I was little, I could never get the tails and heads quite right. I’m still working on it.

      Maybe the 24 blackbirds in a pie was Chun’s culinary inspiration.

  5. Lauri says:

    Awwww! My friend who lives in Colorado sent me an envelope full of cranes for Christmas last year! She did a fine job. I’m afraid to try it! I am really pretty sloppy with everything I do!

    • littlemiao says:

      What a special gift!

      I think you’ll find it is easier than you think, once you get the hang of it. Mine were sloppy when I was little but my 15 year break from crane-folding has really improved my skills. 🙂

  6. Lurkertype says:

    I haven’t folded a crane in a long time. YEARS. TK loves carrying small bits of paper around, and lots of our paper gets perforated by his teef, so I should think about doing it.

  7. AuntieBellum says:

    I used to love doing origami when I was a kid. I think it’s part of why I love paper and books and writing so much.

    Chun looks like he’s enjoying nomming the cranes!

Miao & Purr!

