Laziest post ever

I made vegan chocolate chip cookies yesterday. They were yummy, and short-lived.

I am making a soupy chickpea plus rice thingy inspired by Supermarket Vegan. I hope it will be yummy. It will have cilantro and I know not everyone feels the same, but I think cilantro is wonderful.

No pictures of any of it. The problem is I do most of my cooking at night, last minute, and even in the best daylight conditions, there isn’t enough light in my kitchen for good photographs. I meant to improve my food photography this month, but alas. Next month?

Miaoly photography suffers from the lighting conditions as well, but they are invariably snuggly-looking, unlike my food.
ping 10-21-2011 11-05-22 AM
kemi 10-21-2011 11-05-18 AM
mani 10-21-2011 11-05-11 AM

The latest with my grandma is quite funny. She thinks that my knees hurt because I don’t go to church and the devil is getting to me. Seriously, she used those words (to my mother, not to me). Going to church protects your knees against strain and sprain. My knees are feeling a lot better, I can finally go up and down stairs like a normal person, and I plan to go running again on Friday.

This entry was posted in food, kemi, littlemiao, mani, ping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Laziest post ever

  1. Lurkertype says:

    The Ping ears on the pile of soft things made me smile. He’s got all his white tucked in!

  2. leendadll says:

    Hmmm… well, I’ll proudly admit to being a heathen and my knees got so bad that I had to use crutches full time. But I’ve been nowhere near a church, celebrating winning a “basket of perv” from a sex shop (it turned out not to be too pervy), and my knees are better. But maybe the devil is just setting me up for more failure.

    • littlemiao says:

      LOL. Well, my knees got better without going to church, but I can’t tell my grandmother that. I just tell her I’m too shy or too busy to find a church. If only she knew that I hurt my knees dancing at a gay bar with my brother (I had just discovered sangria, a wine I actually enjoyed drinking). The sad thing is, our errant ways are apparently my mother’s fault. I don’t want to upset my grandmother anyways, but I feel really bad for my mother having to deal with constant guilt-trips from her own mother. I always say the right things to my grandmother but it makes no difference.

      Your knees are better, so you must be doing something right. Mine got better doing nothing, literally, for about a week.

  3. Laurie says:

    I have the same problem with photographs in my kitchen after the daylight goes. But I’m going to improve my food photography — I’m taking a one day course in it on November 5!

  4. Laurie says:

    Forgot to say yay for a Ping photo!

  5. Huh, I tried sangria and really did.not.like.it. Alcohol and my taste buds just aren’t meant to be together and I’m ok with that…I’ll take dessert instead. 😉
    I hope to be just as curled up as the Miaos tomorrow. C’mon snow!

  6. robpixaday says:

    Hmmm……too bad you can’t just send your knees there without the rest of you tagging along.

    LOVE the snuggle-pix!!!!
    And your chickpea concoction sounds good as do the short-lived cookies!

    Cilantro? OK, I don’t think I’ve ever eaten it. If I did it was hiding in something. Stealth cilantro.

    • littlemiao says:

      Cilantro should never hide. I heard a rumor that some people have a certain gene that makes it taste like soap. I am glad I am not one of those people. Cilantro an aromatic leafy thing. It needs to be added at the end and it should still be fresh green when you eat it. If you ever visit the Miao House, I will feed you floof, cilantro & chickpeas, and the cookies of your choice.

  7. Lauri says:

    Oh dear! I haven’t heard the one about the knees from any of my overly religious relatives! An aspirin is better at keeping the devil away than church is, apparently! 🙂

  8. AuntieBellum says:

    My mom used to fuss about me driving places after dark…except if I was driving to church. Apparently God will keep you from getting in an accident or something, if you’re going to church, but not anywhere else.

    • Lauri says:

      My church whilst I was growing up ended up in a horrible poor crime-ridden neighborhood. My grandparents’ had all built their homes there in the 1920s and since then it’s become a slum. But the church stayed. One night about ten years ago I was at choir practice on a Thursday night. We all went outside to drive home only to find that 6-8 of our cars had had the windows smashed in. The only thing the police officer wanted to know was if any of us had had guns stolen out of the cars.

  9. amyhftw says:

    I go to church and my knees hurt – and my hips ache something fierce. So your grandma’s theory doesn’t hold any holy water.

    • littlemiao says:

      I suspected as much. My knees appear to have gotten better without church, but we shall see how long it lasts once I resume my normal activities.

      Perhaps your kitty can soothe your aching joints with purrs?

Miao & Purr!

