Sesame-peanut pasta every night

Papa Miao will attest to my inexplicable addiction to Supermarket Vegan‘s sesame-peanut fettuccine. I first made the recipe a couple months ago, and since then, I have pined for it on a daily basis. I have eaten it days in a row, each time making it fresh because I tell myself that tomorrow I will have something different. I think, after eating it four days in a row, I am finally growing tired of it. Also, I am going through peanut butter too fast. Stirring the jars is hard work.

My version is somewhat modified from the original, for taste and simplicity. The original can be found online here. I use gluten-free spiral pasta not because I am following a gluten-free diet but because I like the texture and there are bunnies on the packaging. I added cayenne because I like it spicy. I skip the garlic because mincing garlic is too time-consuming. My garlic mincing skills have been praised by everyone who has witnessed me mincing garlic, but I like to save my talent for special occasions.

Sesame-peanut “fettuccine”
1 1/4 cup gluten-free brown rice spiral pasta
peanut butter (usually 2-3 tablespoons; crunchy peanut butter adds a pleasant dimension of crunchiness to the dining experience)
1 to 2 tablespoons lime juice
1 to 2 tablespoons soy sauce (low sodium)
1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
1/2 to 1 teaspoon ground ginger (I usually add more; probably my addiction to this dish has more to do with my craving for spicy food)
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (often I add more)
1/4 or 1/2 onion, depending on the size (you could use 2 spring onions, and add the green parts when you stir everything together later)
sprinkling of sesame seeds (not essential and usually forgotten)

Prepare the pasta. Run under cold water and let it wait. In the same medium-sized pot, now empty, heat up oil. Add the onion and cook until translucent. On medium-low heat, add peanut butter, lime juice, soy sause, ginger, cayenne, sesame seeds. Stir. Then add the pasta. Add more of whatever pleases you until the sauce is of the correct consistency and quantity to coat the pasta. Stir until it is thoroughly mixed and warmed. Plop into dish. Eat.

peanutbutter pasta 10-21-2011 8-23-59 PM

You can see, blurry in the background, the book I am currently reading is the Chrestomanci Quartet by Diana Wynne Jones. I’m still on the first one, “Charmed Life.”

Sprocket is showing off his tummy. He likes crunchies just as much as I like my sesame-peanut pasta.
sprock 10-21-2011 11-04-43 AM

He needs a snorgle.
sprock 10-21-2011 11-07-36 AM

This entry was posted in books, food, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sesame-peanut pasta every night

  1. Laurie says:

    I think I’d like to try this recipe!

  2. Oldcat says:

    I think it was the philosopher Heracletius who said “You can never step in the same river twice”. Perhaps the concept works on pasta dinners as well, and each is a unique experience.

    You can buy a little jar of minced garlic for days when you want garlic without the mincing trouble.

  3. I haven’t tried this recipe yet, but it sounds a lot like pad thai, which I love. I’m going to have to try your version, since it does sound a lot easier than the book’s.

    • littlemiao says:

      Maybe I like it because it reminds me of pad thai too. In the restaurants it always has egg and possibly fishy sauce so I have avoided it for many years. It used to be a favorite of mine.

  4. nadbugs says:

    Who needs a snorgle? Sprocket? Or you? Tell you what. I need peanut-sesame pasta and I’m going on snorgle-strike until I get some. I know the Bean isn’t gonna make me any. Will you? Please? Your friend, Bugs

    • littlemiao says:

      I hope your snorgle-strike is successful. It should be, so long as your Bean doesn’t have an alternative source for snorgles. I would be happy to make you some pasta.

      • nadbugs says:

        Will wonders never cease, I wonder? Today the Bean actually made this recipe. I almost fainted. She was very enthused but said something about adding a little tomato paste? going with a more African influence? I don’t know what she could be thinking. The worst thing is, she wouldn’t let me even taste this. She said it wouldn’t be good for me. I think that’s wrong. Is that wrong? What do you think? You said you’d make me some. Are you still good for that? Because I can’t get any over here.

        • littlemiao says:

          Oh my. Maybe your Bean is right that sesame peanut pasta isn’t good for you. Perhaps if it were made out of salmon and tuna and grasshoppers? Chun eats anything I make, but I read somewhere that onion is bad for kitties. 😦 Chun loves onion, so this restriction is difficult for him. Perhaps the cayenne is the issue. I usually sprinkle (morel like dump) on a lot and I really doubt that is good for anyone.

          Tomatoes are a good addition. I have also added red peppers.

          • nadbugs says:

            Now you’re talkin. Fish and grasshoppers. Is it ready yet?

            • littlemiao says:

              I’m trying to make it but Sprocket keeps eating all the ingredients. Perhaps if I replaced grasshoppers with fresh mice?

              • nadbugs says:

                Love the idea of sharing with Sprockie. The fresh mice? Even better. Everybody wins here. Lives are donated for the worthy. Us, that is. Hope and trust the ones who donate appreciate their important purpose. If not, RIP. Dine we must.

          • nadbugs says:

            Actually not, with the tomatoes. They make the whole taste thing “softer” somehow; take the edge off the tussle I so love between ginger, oiliness, cayenne pizzazz, nuttiness etc. Going back to no tomatoes. Have had this three days running now, and counting. A dangerous addiction, I’m beginning to see. You are responsible for it. Can you live with that?

  5. Alexandra says:

    I feel sooo hungry now after reading this!

  6. robpixaday says:

    Mmmmmm………..It looks and sounds delicious! I didn’t know they made brown rice pasta. Sprocket appears to be very very very content.

  7. Brilliant! I definitely have to try it!

  8. Pingback: The recipe for a tongue-numbing vegan dining experience | the miao chronicles

  9. Laurie says:

    I just made this and liked it! I used rice stick noodles instead of your brown rice pasta, and next time I’ll tweak it with more lime juice and ginger for my taste but thanks for the recipe!

    • littlemiao says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. Rice stick noddles is a good idea! I usually add more lime and ginger too because I like it very flavorful. I add the basic ingredients and then after I stir it I taste-test until it is just right. Once, I splashed in too much lime juice and it drowned out the ginger, but in general you can’t go wrong.

  10. Pingback: Miao Chronicles Highlights of 2011 | the miao chronicles

Miao & Purr!

