Time for something vegan

I resolved to post something vegan every day for a month, and I am not about to give up more than half-way through just because I don’t have any good ideas and haven’t made anything recently that is worthy of photographing. I was going to make chocolate chip cookies and some black beans and rice (with sweet potato, mushroom, and bell peppers), but I didn’t. The sad thing is, I promised Papa Miao I would. Ooops. He had spaghetti instead.

Featured in this photo are almost all my cookbooks. I was recently given several veg*n cookbooks by a friend and they didn’t make it to the stack because I was too lazy. Also, Sprocket wasn’t very cooperative during the photo session, so I will have to redo it at some point anyways.

Here you can see most of the titles:
cookbooks 10-20-2011 8-55-36 PM

Sprocket is blocking Donna Klein’s Mediterranean vegan cookbook, which is quite a bit more complicated than her Supermarket Vegan, my new favorite. My favorite-favorite is the Veganomicon, a gift from my brother and one of my first cookbooks ever. Both main dishes I am making for Thanksgiving (including the controversial curry) will come from the Veganomicon. The cookies will be by the same authors, different book. Sprocket is also blocking Vegan Planet, the first cookbook I bought when I officially became vegan. I should use it more. He is also blocking Voluptuous Vegan – the title sort of intimidates me so I haven’t used it yet. It is a gift from my mother and one of many culled from her own cooking library since she doesn’t cook these days.

Many of these cookbooks I haven’t used (yet). I got the Vegan’s Daily Companion when I was feeling in need of inspiration in general, but I haven’t been motivated to get inspired (yet). The Compassionate Cook (Peta cookbook, also donated to me by my mother) has a lot of easy recipes (including the sublime carrot cake I posted about earlier), but some of its recipes need to be spiced up a bit.

cookbooks 10-20-2011 8-55-01 PM
cookbooks 10-20-2011 8-55-17 PM

And this completes the tour of my cooking library.

This entry was posted in food, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Time for something vegan

  1. Brown Suga' says:

    Sprocket has the cutest face EVAR.

  2. I’m really happy there are so many vegan cookbooks out there. It wasn’t all that long ago that it was hard to find real vegan recipes, let alone a whole book, and a lot of them were frankly awful. I won’t touch tempeh on account of several terrible recipes that used tempeh as a meat substitute: real vegan recipes simply accept that you don’t need a meat substitute to cook up a terrific dish.

    Have you heard of Madhur Jaffrey’s World-of-the-East Vegetarian Cooking? Most of the dishes are really vegan, though Indian cuisine does use cheese and yogurt quite a bit.

    I showed those photos of Sprocket to my brother, and even though he’s not a cat person, he “awww’d” and “oooh’d” at them. I suspect if we found a kitten as cute as Sprocket, we might even convert my father into a cat lover. (Not holding my breath, but you never know….)

    • littlemiao says:

      Awww, Sprocket is cute enough to make everyone love cats. 🙂

      I’m lucky to have more cookbooks than I can possibly use, and then there’s all the blog recipes too. I don’t run out of ideas, I just run out of motivation and food to eat (or, alternatively, free space in my tummy).

  3. Lurkertype says:

    I just smiled at Sprockey. He is so adorable.

  4. Alexandra says:

    Wow, that’s an impressive collection!

  5. robpixaday says:

    Heeee……Sprocket’s library manners are impeccable!
    And your books look fascinating.
    “Babycakes?”

    • littlemiao says:

      I got it because of the title. one of lotus’ nicknames is babycakes. (he has a lot of fluffy nicknames so no one catches on that he’s The Batcat. He is also styled Baby Bubbles!!!! – pronounced with the exclamation points). the cookbook is from some bakery in NYC. Unfortunately, the recipes look challenging and require unusual ingredients and I have not been brave enough to try them yet.

      • robpixaday says:

        LOL re “Babycakes” as one of The Batcat’s secret identities.

        I call Sweetie Babycakes and Honeybunny often, kittenhood names that “stuck.”
        But his funniest name was “Sneezer Augustus.” When he came here he did a LOT of sneezing. He still has bouts of it, when he tries to dig tunnels in his litter pan.

        Good luck with that book! I hope that the recipes end up being great when they’re done.

Miao & Purr!

