Chun’s seal point Siameseness

I learned that Chun is a seal lynx-point Siamese. See the charts posted by ThreeCatYard. Chun has a dark nose-border and his stripes are black and his paw-pads are black.

Seal point toes
Chun Toes

Seal point nose
Chun nose

Sprocket’s toes are bicolored, pink and black, like his nose. His back foot pads are 100% pink and he loves foot massages.

Sprocket nose
sprock 9-28-2011 1-34-49 PM

This entry was posted in chun, toesday, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Chun’s seal point Siameseness

  1. Oldcat says:

    I found the nose picture when I was checking, but not the paw pad one…

    • littlemiao says:

      your instincts were right on target.

      So I’m guessing it isn’t possible to have a 98% black kitty (like Kemi) with pink toe pads?

      • Oldcat says:

        If the two percent missing was white spotting on the feet, maybe. But the skin follows the genes pretty reliably. Even ‘white’ cats like Slash on the 5 cat style blog I have a link to have black lips and paw pads – because they are black cats genetically. He’s a chinchilla Persian.

        • littlemiao says:

          Very interesting! I wish I had paid more attention to my brother’s kitten kibbles. I think that the oranges mostly had pink paw pads, and the tuxes had occasional black spots.

  2. *beep!*
    ::tickles the paws::

  3. Redscylla says:

    Does he use the excuse that since he only has the one back paw, you should massage it twice as long?

  4. Lurkertype says:

    Chun nose is some of the cutest nose ever.

    TK is solidly white on his lower half, except for that one blob of black on one of his back feets, on the pad. Mr. LT calls it a fingerprint ink stain; I think of it as a memorial to his cowkitty Daddy Moo.

    Her Royal Tortieness is really a torbie and white, which means she has pink toes from her white boots.

    • littlemiao says:

      Chun loves getting his nose beeped. I don’t think I could stand being around his cute nose all the time if he didn’t love beeps.

      I didn’t realize how much white TK has on his little feets.

  5. robpixaday says:

    Wow!!!
    Glorious!!
    VERY IMPRESSIVE.
    And absoloooooooooooootely adorable.!

  6. Hmm. I just did a search for posts about Chun to see what he ‘is.’ He looks like a Snow Bengal to me, and I wanted to ask. A trait in Bengals is the grey pads – Chun’s have a bit more pink around the edges than a typical Bengal, though. I’ll have to dig out some of my non-digital pictures of Spot’s mom – a snow Bengal with blue eyes!

    • littlemiao says:

      I just searched for snow begnals. Wow, beautiful! But they do look a little more spotted than Chun. He’s stripey, except for a few buttons on his belly.

      This is Chun’s background: His first family couldn’t take care of him. They told me that they had gotten him from a lynx-point Siamese breeder. That was the first time I had every heard of such a breed. It is apparently Siamese + tabby.

      I would love to see Spot’s mom’s photos. She must be gorgeous! My mother has Bengal kitties – they are brown and golden and spotted. I have seen marbled silver/black Bengals before, but never a Snow Bengal.

    • Oldcat says:

      The ‘snow’ part of a Snow Bengal is the same pointing genes that ‘bleach’ the warmer bits of a cat like Chun instead of him being uniform tabby all over, or a standard seal point from being black. On a Bengal this would modify the standard Bengal patterns.

      From the site I looked up they apparently use the Burmese and Tonkinese styles of pointing too, and call them all Snow.

      On normal cats, pad color follows hair color. A ‘blue’ cat has lighter pads from the lighter color fur – it is a purpley grey. I’m not aware of a difference unique to Bengals, but perhaps it comes from the wild cat genes.

Miao & Purr!

