Caturday cuddles with Kemi

I know today is not Caturday, but these photos were taken yesterday and I think that it is significant that Chun’s first ever cuddle with his Miao uncles was on a Caturday, the day of peace and love and napping, and that it was with Kemi Care Bear.

Chun was in the kitty tree first, and he stayed when Kemi joined him. Usually when he encounters one of his uncles he tries to play with them – Sprocket takes after him that way. This time, Chun was content to nap.

chunkem 10-15-2011 4-02-01 PM
chunkem 10-15-2011 4-02-11 PM

Meanwhile, Ping occupied the highest perch in the neighboring kitty tree.

pingtree 10-15-2011 4-02-16 PM

Does anyone have any suggestions for how to clean kitty trees? These are more than a decade old and they have accumulated many years of floof and dust-bunny droppings.

I am taking a break from running today even though I don’t want to. My knees are sore when I go up and down stairs, and at night, and even just sitting here. I guess I need to rest. But they don’t hurt when I run, or at least I don’t notice. I tell myself that I will take it easy, but I don’t. It’s the music, really. Maybe if I listened to lullabies while running it would moderate my pace.

This entry was posted in caturday, chun, kemi, littlemiao and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Caturday cuddles with Kemi

  1. robpixaday says:

    Awwwwwwwwww………..sweet kitties, snoozing in trees!
    Ping looks like he might be contemplating a leap. Or scratching his regal chin?

    Your knees!!!!!! (((((((((gentle hugs))))))))) Good to rest.

    Cleaning the cat trees: I don’t often (I’m so bad) but when I do, I use either a lint brush (one of the kind that looks like velour and has a one-way nap, so the fur, etc. gets pulled into it) or one of Sweetie’s brushes that’s all vinyl, with giant squishy rubbery teeth. It does a FABULOUS job! Then I vacuum the them (the trees).
    Here’s a link to a brush that looks like it. Truly…it’s great. I use it on my own furniture, too, to get the cat hair picked up.

    I hope that link works.

    • littlemiao says:

      Thank you, Robbie! I believe that Ping is scratching his regal chin. 🙂

      Thanks for the advice for cleaning the cat trees. I should have done this ages ago, but then again, I wasn’t living here. So it is something that has been put off for far too long. I like the look of that brush. I will have to look for one. It looks like it would give good kitty massages, too. I have a lint brush somewhere, if only I can find it. It is very old but I guess these types of things don’t expire.

      • Oldcat says:

        I use a cat hair brush – the kind with the little fine stiff plastic bristles that collect loose fur. I had one but the cats didn’t like it, so tried it on the cat tree and it worked like gangbusters. It even pulls out loose pieces of the carpet pile. I also use it on the stairs!

        The best brush i have for grooming Calla is a baby hair bursh with rounded tips so it doesn’t poke her skin.

  2. Alexandra says:

    How much I envy you ( in a good way)! You have all those kitties around and they have each other and they snuggle together and have their own catversations … ah, lovely, so lovely 🙂

  3. robpixaday says:

    Me, again. The link to the image works, but the picture is really tiny.
    The brush is called the Zoom Groom
    http://www.petco.com/product/106332/KONG-Cat-Zoom-Groom-Brush.aspx

  4. lauowolf says:

    I can almost hear Kemi thinking,
    it looks safe
    the new warm fuzzy has all its pointy bits tucked in
    pillow time!

  5. Awwww, Miao pile!
    It’s definitely sounding like your knees could use a rest

  6. awww, cuteness and snuggles! Robbie’s suggestion is pretty mch what i would suggest as well – good luck with that!

  7. Lurkertype says:

    If you don’t have anything to remove the fuzz with, I find that scooping all you can off, then going over it with a damp hand, and then vacuuming does the trick. Of course I only have 1/4 the amount of kitties so it’s easier. But lots of times I just get my hand (or a paper towel, or both) a little wet and kind of paw at it.

    Chun matches the cat tree!

    You need to download some mellow songs just for your running.

  8. Drude says:

    Alternatively… if you’re a crafty Redscylla style person, you could buy new carpet bits and rip the old stuff off and glue new stuff on and get a whole new cat-tree in your favorite color.
    Google ‘cat tree DIY’… there are like MILLIONS – you tubes and blue prints and OMG!

    • littlemiao says:

      I wish I were a DIY type of person. I would love for the kitty trees to have really cool purple and green carpeting but I can’t even contemplate embarking on such a project. I really admire Redz.

  9. I have a small Oreck canister vacuum cleaner that I use to vacuum the upholstery: but what worked best for me was one of those pet-hair rollers you can pick up for relatively cheap at Target or Petco. My favorite is the one made by 3M, that ran about $6. I haven’t tried that new Pledge fabric sweeper for pet hair, which looks kind of like a sandpaper holder but has an adhesive roller on it, but a cat-owning friend swears by it.

    Stains might be tougher, depending on how old they are. I don’t know how sensitive the Miaos are to cleaners, but if you have a dry, sunny day out, you can take the cat tree outside and spot clean it with a little Resolve upholstery and carpet cleaner. I also used to use a bar of Ivory soap and an old toothbrush dipped in warm water to scrub out stains, back when I had both kids and cats. Basic dishsoap works good too.

    • littlemiao says:

      I need a little vacuum cleaner. I actually have pet-hair rollers but I didn’t think of using them for this. Good idea.

      I guess a real thorough cleaning will have to wait until warmer weather. I am afraid that there are some stains. 😦

      • Oldcat says:

        The problem I have had with small vaccuums is that they suck, or rather they don’t suck enough to work. I got a Dyson years ago and it works well and keeps suction. Expensive though. They have smaller units these days, even a little portable one. But I have only have the big one in the ‘pet hair’ model now, and use the crevice tool for corners and such.

        The problem with bag vacuums I had is that the hair would clog the bag at once. Then the hair would pile up in the internal workings until it had trouble doing any work. I was poking around iwth hte bag off out back once and turned it on and it shot a column of old hair across the back yard.

      • Oldcat says:

        Nature’s Miracle is pretty good on stains, even old ones. I’ve also heard that white vinegar is good.

    • Oldcat says:

      With a longhair cat, I fear you will put the paper on the tree and it will come up furry, and you replace the sheet and do it again and get more…and so on.

      Those things work great for your clothes that don’t have a big accumulated pile of hair.

      • It might be cheaper to use a roll of extra-wide masking tape. I tried that with the hair from my silver tabby, who shedded so much she made a black futon look white. Surprisingly, it worked so well I didn’t need to vacuum for awhile.

Miao & Purr!

