a day devoted to napping, cooking, and eating hummus and chocolate and ginger chews

Today I cooked a lot of things.

First, I made some hummus. Then I ate it all. Every time my recipe varies a bit, but usually I keep it simple. This time, I wanted it coarser so I left some whole chickpeas in it and I didn’t use as much liquid.

littlemiao’s vanishing hummus
1 can chickpeas (15 oz)
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 tablespoons tahini
1/4 teaspoons salt (I used more but I think it was too salty)

That’s it. It isn’t unprecedented for me to eat a whole can of chickpeas at once. I feel slightly ill, but I think it is from the ginger chews and chocolate I ate, not the hummus. I think occasionally an instinctive need to supplement my minerals (iron, zinc, copper, magnesium, manganese, etc) prompts me to devour an entire can of chickpeas in one day. It made me very sleepy.

Other things I made today (but am too lazy to take pictures now)

– Quinoa pilaf with cranberries and toasted almonds from Supermarket Vegan
– Sell your soul pumpkin cookies from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar
– quinoa and red lentil porridge (this time with leftover squash from a week ago, leftover pumpkin from the cookies, coconut, and various spices)

I took a two-hour nap this afternoon with Sprocket. I intended it to be a 30-min nap. Related to the nap, I am too lazy to take photos of the various food things I concocted today. I miss Fox Town. I can’t believe I have been back a week. The weather was beautiful this afternoon, in a chilly, autumnal, windy sort of way. I did go to the grocery store, biking stiffly and slowly but not too painfully. I also finished reading Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I feel like I didn’t accomplish much today, but I guess if you factor in all the cooking and all the eating, it was a productive day.

Look at teeny-tiny Sprocket in his collar, playing!
playtime 9-10-2011 8-55-25 PM

A much larger Sprocket is taking a nap next to me, his belly in the air and his pawses curled. His chest floof is damp from his recent bath.

This entry was posted in chun, food, littlemiao, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to a day devoted to napping, cooking, and eating hummus and chocolate and ginger chews

  1. I fully admit to eating a can of beans in one sitting sometimes. They’re so tasty and healthy πŸ˜€

    Time to go check the black beans and make sure they’re cooked. They shall be my lunch…and dinner…and lunch…and dinner…(repeat for another day or two)

    • littlemiao says:

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who eats a can of beans at a time. πŸ™‚

      What recipe are you using for your black beans? I used to boil dried chickpeas for my hummus, but the canned chickpeas make much smoother hummus, no matter how long I boil the dried ones.

      • I say eating a can of beans all at once is like when you eat a whole can of soup. It’s pretty much to be expected. Hehe!
        There isn’t really a recipe for the beans…they soak overnight and then get thrown in the crockpot until they’re soft. I’m eating them with green beans, dried spinach, potato, parmesan, garlic powder, and salsa for lunch today. Yum!

        • littlemiao says:

          Yummy! I plan to make black beans and rice (with mushrooms and other fun things) in a couple days.

          I have a large stock of dried beans but usually I neglect them and eat the canned ones instead because I am lazy. 😦

          • I alternate between eating canned and dried beans. If there aren’t any newly cooked beans or I don’t feel like thawing a bean rock from the freezer, I open a can.
            Your black bean mix sounds promising!

  2. Lurkertype says:

    Ginger is good for your stomach, so it can’t be that.

    Are you taking vitamins?

Miao & Purr!

