bedtime snack: vegan chocolate hazelnut cookies

I am so sleepy I almost skipped posting today. But then I remembered that I had just gotten some chocolate hazelnut cookies at the co-op and they are post-worthy, especially when photographed with a sleepy kitten.

The cookies are a recent addition to our co-op’s bakery, and thus far the only truly vegan cookies they offer. I wish they had a vegan (honey-free) version of their tahini cookies, which used to be my favorite.

cookiebookkitten 10-15-2011 6-54-34 PM

The cookies are delicious, but Sprocket didn’t get to try them because they have chocolate. Chocolate is, unfortunately, poisonous to cats. Sprocket was too sleepy to notice the cookie, though.

He got his first vaccination yesterday. He was so sleepy that afternoon that I was worried about him because he didn’t even get off the couch to say hi to me. I ended up passing out on the couch with him. I think all the running is making me sleepy. But later that night, Sprocket got sprocketty and I had to close him out of our room so that Chun could get some sleep.

Six pounds of Sprocket
sprockstretch 10-15-2011 4-02-29 PM

He officially weighs six pounds now, up from 4.0 pounds three weeks ago, and barely 2lb when we first got him.

Next on his reading list is Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, but I’m not sure if I can get through such a long book reading aloud in a timely manner. He may have to develop his silent reading skills.

cookiebookkitten 10-15-2011 6-55-10 PM

This entry was posted in books, food, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to bedtime snack: vegan chocolate hazelnut cookies

  1. eLeN says:

    That is gonna be a big cat.

  2. Mr. Guilt says:

    Wow! He’s a big Siberian Tiger! Luna weighed in at 5.2 yesterday. Beso is way bigger than her.

    • littlemiao says:

      He has really overtaken Luna in size! He is also way bigger than my mother’s new Bengal kittens, who I think are about a month older than he is. They are longer, but he is rounder.

      • Mr. Guilt says:

        I’m not sure what Beso’s weight is right now, but in the last week, it’s like something happened. At first, I thought he was getting a bit…ahem…fluffy. As in “may have to meter his time at the food bowl” fluffy.

        Then, I realized: he just filled out Not a scrawny little kitten, but a cat-in-the-making. My wife observed that Luna has a “kitten tail,” where Beso has achieved cat tail state. Happy and sad at the same time. They grow up so fast.

  3. Holy cow-spotted cat! Sprocket is going to be HUGE, isn’t he? He’s looking fantastic!

  4. Lurkertype says:

    He’s going to be a giant cow tripod!

    That first picture is purrfect. So sweet.

    (Giant Cow Tripod is the name of my next band)

  5. Oldcat says:

    Looks like a plume is forming on that tail as well – he might be a bit of a longhair.

  6. robpixaday says:

    SPLENDID Sprocket!!!!!
    Such wonderful progress….

    ::grabs a cookie and runs home::

Miao & Purr!

