Lotus disapproves of this porridge

At first I thought he would like the porridge, but after one sniff he glared at it and then he glared at me for putting the bowl on his nap-spot. I know Chun would have liked it.

lotus food 10-14-2011 6-22-50 PM
lotus food 10-14-2011 6-22-55 PM

Personally, I think the porridge is rather yummy in a simple, five-ingredient type of way.

littlemiao’s favorite porrdige
– 1/3 cup quinoa, rinsed
– 1/3 cup red lentils
– 1/2 baked squash or 1 sweet potato, chopped
– cardamom or other spices, to taste
– water sufficient to boil everything

Then you just boil it until everything is soft, adding water as needed. Red lentils make it very thick and filling. Lentils and quinoa are both high-protein and they give me lots of energy. Sometimes I add ground flax seed. This porridge is good in the morning, but usually I’m too lazy to heat something up for breakfast so I have it in the evening. Perfect food for winter.

This entry was posted in food, lotus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lotus disapproves of this porridge

  1. Lurkertype says:

    That’s bunny-level disapproval. But you should know better than to put it in his spot.

  2. Oooooh, this could be a good variation along with my oatmeal. It could also take over for my weekend cereal and yogurt once it starts getting rather cold in the mornings. Should the sweet potato be cooked ahead of time? How long does it take for lentils to get soft?

    • littlemiao says:

      I don’t cook the sweet potato ahead of time, just chop it up. The squash should be baked first otherwise it is impossible to chop. I generally end up cooking it for 30-45min. I don’t think it can be overcooked. Red lentils cook the most quickly of all lentils, maybe 20 min?

      I used to make larger batches but I could never finish it within a week.

      You can make quinoa porridge with 1 cup quinoa, 2 cups water, using your choice of milk. And add sweetener and/or blueberries or whatever else you like.

      I used to eat oatmeal all the time. Now that it’s been a while, maybe I’m ready for it again.

      • Is the posted recipe for one serving or more?
        I went and got some quinoa and lentils today…quinoa is a slightly more expensive grain, lol. It’ll be one of those to-buy-once-in-awhile items (and wait for it to go on sale). πŸ™‚ Or I’ll hunt around for cheaper bulk packages. Yay!

        • littlemiao says:

          The posted recipe lasted me for about a week but I might not have had it every day. I think it is more than one serving, unless you are really starving.

          I get quinoa at the co-op bulk, and with the membership discount it is more reasonable. It was cheaper in the twin cities, at Whole Foods of all places. I’m actually still working through my stock from Minneapolis.

          Don’t forget to rinse the grains. It can be bitter otherwise.

  3. Hey, my son made that for me while I was up in Olympia! I asked him for the recipe, and he shrugged. “Red lentils, quinoa, little of this, little of that.” I think he also threw in some coconut as well. It was tasty and very sustaining. I didn’t feel like eating until late in the afternoon, and we went bicycling that morning too.

  4. mariser says:

    I love the first picture. Loty is very symmetrical in his disapproval and his ears look so tiny and prefect

  5. robpixaday says:

    Heeeee……..Lotus is stellar, even in disapproval mode.

Miao & Purr!

