coconut lentil curry recipe

Some of you may remember that Supermarket Vegan is my most recent favorite cookbook. I’ve only had it for a few months, but I’ve used it more than any other cookbook (with the possible exception of Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar). I have already made 14 recipes from it, some of them multiple times. I’ve had fun modifying some recipes, something I could not imagine was possible even a few months ago. So here is a modification of my most recent favorite recipe from Supermarket Vegan:

Coconut-curried lentils with basmati rice, miao-ified

1-2 medium onions, chopped
olive oil or coconut oil sufficient for sauteing the onions
garlic, 2-4 cloves minced
4-6 roma tomatoes, chopped
1 red bell pepper, cut into pieces
mushrooms, sliced
1 zucchini (they were still in season when I made this), chopped
1 can coconut milk (14 oz.), opened
1 cup dried lentils, rinsed
1/2 water (may need more, depending on the consistency you desire)
1/2 tablespoon molasses
1-2 teaspoons curry powder (I used 2 teaspoons, plus one each of cumin and coriander, and a dash of turmeric and cayanne)
salt to taste
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
basmati rice

This is approximately where I get impatient with the recipes and I want to say, just throw it in the pot more or less in the order listed, stir, and wait. But I will attempt to provide some proper instructions. Heat the oil in a wide pot. Cook onion and garlic until translucent, about 3-5 min. Add tomatoes, coconut milk, water, lentils, molasses, spices, salt. Bring to a boil. Cover and turn down to a simmer. Cook until the lentils are soft and yummy. The cookbook recommends 40-45min. I added the mushrooms, zucchini, and red pepper about halfway through, hoping that they would retain their color and shape. It did not work, which is why the curry in the photo is uniformly brown. Add cilantro at the very end (a step I forgot last time). Serve over rice. Actually I had leftover rice that I simply added during the simmering stage.

coconutcurry 9-25-2011 6-13-19 PM

this is a squash-free recipe, not a floof-free recipe

Yummy sprock squash

This entry was posted in food, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to coconut lentil curry recipe

  1. Yes! This recipe is really good! We have fresh-cooked rice every day here, so I like spooning this curry over the rice.

    Of course, I don’t have a Sprocket to make it cute, or to add floof. I haven’t tried curried squash yet either.

    • littlemiao says:

      Mmmm, I would love fresh-cooked rice daily but I am too lazy. Otherwise, I love the contrast between the curry and the basmati. Maybe I will try curried squash because I have half a squash languishing in the freezer. I always have a problem with accumulating leftovers.

  2. msmouse7 says:

    That looks and sounds yummy. Will have to try it. I have some tasty lentil chili mixes that I bought from a local home business and enjoy them. eastern Washington state has some great lentil growers.

  3. doranyc says:

    The curry sounds WONDERFUL. How coconutty is the flavor? (Gene’s weird about coconut)

    • littlemiao says:

      I would say fairly coconutty, especially if you use coconut oil. I think water could be used as a substitute, but it would lose its creaminess. Or maybe you could use 1/4 cup instead of the whole can?

  4. robpixaday says:

    That sounds like it smells and tastes wonderful!
    I’ll confess that if something requires more than 4 ingredients I don’t make it, so I think you’re amazing for making this one!

    • littlemiao says:

      I used to be intimidated by recipes like this, but now it seems so simple to me. It’s basically just chopping stuff and putting it in a pot. With good music on, it can be fun. I have really changed over the last two years.

Miao & Purr!

