My favorite carrot cake

I love carrot cake. The recipe from Compassionate Cook is possibly my favorite because it is the yummiest. Well, actually, I haven’t tried too many recipes for comparison, but this one is relatively easy to make and it always turns out well. I hesitate to make it because it uses so much maple syrup (1 1/4 cups) and maple syrup is so expensive. You could substitute with different sweeteners, but the maple flavor is a big component of the recipe’s deliciousness. Also, the carrots and raisins are cooked before they are added to the batter, so everything is soft and blends perfectly together.

Here is a link to the recipe on Google books.

And here is a picture I took two years ago.
vegan carrot cake

And here is something floofy that may or may not be mistaken for a carrot cake.
ping naps

This entry was posted in food, ping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My favorite carrot cake

  1. Lauri says:

    Mmmm! And *snorgle*!

  2. that looks delicious!
    I’m plotting how to make something sweet to gobble up as a protest to the rain and cold…was thinking about slicing some apples thinly, putting them in a pan, drizzle it with either maple syryp or custard sauce (if the left over in the fridge is still useable) with some sugar and cinammon on top. No idea of how it will turn out, but with those ingredients, it can’t be too bad?

  3. Ooh, thank you for the link! Trader Joe’s has the best price on maple syrup. Our farmer’s market should have some too, but it’s expensive, especially since we don’t have huge stands of maple trees out here. (And my parents dumped the last of mine on their pancakes. I was so upset—they had a half gallon bottle of pancake syrup sitting in their cabinet, but they had to use my maple syrup. 😦 )

    It is baking weather, finally. For a long while I thought we’d never see fall out here, what with temperatures in the 80s and trees turning yellow from the dryness, not because it was autumn.

    • littlemiao says:

      Ah… another reason I miss TJ’s. I’m very stingy with my maple syrup and I am sad to see it wasted.

      I’m glad you’re finally getting an autumn. We just have a beautifully warm week and I hope it lasts a while longer. The leaves are gorgeous.

  4. Now I’m hungry. Muffin time!

    …after petting Ping, of course

  5. Alexandra says:

    O’K now, I’m ready to read this and to make a comment. I opened this page several times before and felt instantly hungry. Now it’s a lucky moment. It looks incredible. Is it sweet? Is it soft? Oh god, here we go, I’m hungry again πŸ˜€

    “Something fluffy” looks like the winter is coming πŸ˜€

  6. Freedom Smith says:

    I love a piece of delicious carrot cake. The cakes here usually have icing but the one in your picture looks as if it does not need icing.

    Floofing looks so very comfortable and precious!

    • littlemiao says:

      Thank you! I haven’t quite advanced to the cake icing level yet. For a carrot cake, I would need vegan cream cheese, which is rare in these parts. I bought several containers in it in Fox Town this past week, so hopefully I’ll have a chance to experiment with more vegan frostings.

  7. Lurkertype says:

    I want to nom on both of them.

  8. robpixaday says:

    YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Oh, delightful!!
    A real, delicious carrot cake! And a real, snorgalicious carroty-color cat in the shape of a croissant!

Miao & Purr!

