Reflections on Carrot Cake Cookies

My new favorite cookie is the Carrot Raisin Spice Chewie from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar by Moskowitz & Romero. A lot of my new favorite cookies are from that book and I strongly recommend it to anyone who enjoys cookie-making, whether vegan or not. The carrot chewies taste like carrot cake in cookie form, with lemon glaze. At first I thought icing was beyond my meager abilities, but it turned out to be quite easy to mix – just powdered sugar and lemon juice. Decorating the cookies, however, was a different matter. Rather than the graceful drizzle shown in the gorgeous photo in the cookbook, my lemon glaze turned into uneven blobs smeared haphazardly onto chunky misshapen cookies. Thankfully, their aesthetic defects did not diminish their taste.

I love these cookies because they have some of my favorite spices: cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg. The coconut also adds an extra dimension of yumminess. I consider raisins to be an indispensable ingredient in carrot cake/cookies, though I understand there is some controversy regarding the raisin issue. I was just a little too lazy to add the orange zest (and lemon zest for the icing). Also, I rarely have oranges on hand. I don’t dislike the taste of oranges in an abstract sense, but actually peeling and sectioning an orange brings back unfortunate childhood memories of being forced to eat tasteless, anemic oranges by scurvy-phobic parents.

cookies in progress
carrot cake cookies 9-26-2011 3-13-29 PM

not picture perfect
carrot cake cookies with icing 9-26-2011 4-39-32 PM

As one might imagine, it can be hard to make floof-free cookies. If I start making something too close to their dinner time, then the Miao-floofs assume that I must be cooking something for them. I have learned to time my kitchen activities carefully. Luckily, no one has ever found floof in my cookies.

mani baking 9-26-2011 2-53-32 PM

I’m sure that I’ll post more about cookies from the Vegan Cookie Jar, but for the actual recipes, I would encourage you to invest in the cookbook itself. Hopefully my photographs will improve as I go along.

This entry was posted in food, mani and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Reflections on Carrot Cake Cookies

  1. jimmie chew says:

    they look good, i will try to make them, thanks!!

  2. Lauri says:

    Oh they really do look wonderful! And sound just delicious!

  3. Yum! What are you using in place of eggs? I figure it must be vegetable oil, but the original non-vegan carrot cake recipe also calls for oil with eggs and sometimes butter.

Miao & Purr!

