The Miao Chronicle’s Unofficial Vegan Month of Food

I am going to try to post about food EVERY SINGLE DAY this month, so be warned. With the post-scheduling function I can be enjoying my vacation in Fox Town goofing around with my brother and his foxkittens while my blog does all the hard work.

Here is what to expect:
– My favorite recipes, complete with bad photos
– My favorite cookbooks, modeled by Miaos
– Some odd questions people have asked me about being vegan
– Discussion of my experience as a vegan in China
– My favorite food products, including chocolate and coffee and tea!
– A furry Miao in every post!

I thought about including guide to vegan-friendly restaurants in Miao Town, but since it would have all of three entries, it is not likely worth the effort. Five years ago, it would have had one entry. Ten years ago, none. I suppose this constitutes progress.

And here to fulfill my promise to include a furry Miao in every post, I present a Kingly Banquet for all to enjoy.

A vegetarian feast! circa 1996, China
A King's Feast
The brownish stuff in the dish is a tofu (or maybe wheat gluten?) product that we called mock chicken. It is similar to the canned mock duck available in most Asian groceries but seasoned differently. I have not had it since I was 12.

This entry was posted in food, ping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Miao Chronicle’s Unofficial Vegan Month of Food

  1. It’s not a real vegan feast! You have a furry in that pot! 😀

    Seriously, I think the mock chicken is made from gluten. It’s more dense in texture than tofu. I saw a store in Portland (Oregon) that sold nothing but mock meats—mock duck, mock chicken, etc. I tried the mock barbecued pork (char siu) but I didn’t like it that much. The store was enormously popular among vegans, however. I think half of Portland is vegan or practices some sort of meatless/no red meat diet.

    • littlemiao says:

      You’re probably right. I can’t remember what it was called in China. It was drumstick-shaped with darker “bones” in the center. It was sold bulk in the indoor market.

      Alas, I have never had a chance to tour Portland’s legendary vegan restaurants. I have heard that it is rarely sunny there, but at least I would be spared the -20 degree windchills. Here in Miao Town, I count a restaurant as vegan-friendly if it has more to offer than wilted iceberg lettuce.

  2. Oldcat says:

    I suppose to remain Vegan you need to consider cat hair a plant product….

  3. Lauri says:

    Lol…oh boy, this will be fun! 🙂

  4. Laurie says:

    How do you schedule posts? That sounds like a cool trick…
    All hail King Ping! I like seeing his royal floofage.

    • littlemiao says:

      here’s how: in the compose window, there is a “publish” box on the upper right hand corner. see “Publish immediately”? That’s the default. Click “edit” and you can change the date and time. I have used this often in order to provide the world with a steady supply of miao floof.

  5. Laurie says:

    Thanks for the tip!

  6. This should be fun! I bet you’ll be having even more fun on your trip 😀
    A vegan meal in every home and a kitteh in every pot!

  7. Lurkertype says:

    I’m glad to see this photo of The Young King reappear! When we lost VOX, I lost all the links to my favorite Ping pictures.

    Since cat shedding is beneficial to the kitties, and unstoppable, I don’t think it counts as animal exploitation. Once it’s off the cat, I think it becomes… I don’t know. Mineral. Fiber.

    • Oldcat says:

      I’m not up on vegan theory, but the distinction between shed fir and a laid egg or extracted milk seems vague – an unmilked cow is in more distress than a uncombed cat. I personally would clear the cat hair as accidental unless it was part of the recipe!

      Of course that leads to the image of a pound of beef ‘falling’ into your vegan stew by accident…I think Abe Lincoln told a story about a teetotaller who hinted about whiskey being added to his lemonade ‘unbenowst to him’ as a guide to his generals to let the leadiing Confederate politicians flee the country unofficially at the end of the war to let things cool down.

Miao & Purr!

