Buttercup Squash and Other Yumminess on the Miao Chronicles

I am the proud guardian of seven winter squashes, all of which will be featured in upcoming Miao Photos. No, they don’t have names yet. I adopted four new ones today – one large, one medium, and two small. I’ve always said, squashes are like kittens – you can’t go home without them. It can be dangerous to let me loose in a farmer’s market because I have no sense of proportion, everything costs just a dollar or two, and I have no short-term memory so I forget what I already bought between one stall and the next. As you can imagine, I had a lot of fun biking home with them, but at least they are not as squirmy as real kittens. They are not furry either, yet. I am operating under the theory that they will keep well in a cool, dark place, and if disaster strikes, I can quickly cook them and freeze them.

The dark green ones are buttercup squash, the most delectable squash of all. As aromatic as sweet potatoes, they melt on your tongue like butter. The soft skin provides a nice contrast with the thick orange squashiness. The seeds can be baked and snacked on later. The rest (i.e., stem) can be composted. The orange ones are a close cousin of the buttercup, but I do not know their proper name. They aren’t quite as thick and dense as the buttercup, but they are nonetheless delicious. They go well in congees and soups or served by themselves.

squash 9-28-2011 2-11-51 PM

Chun loves squash.

It’s true. He’ll eat squash by the chunk. And sweet potato. Cheese too.

So, somewhere out in the world of cooking blogs, a bunch of peeps are preparing for the Vegan Month of Food. It’s like a NaBloPoMo but it is in October and it’s all about food. I don’t intend to participate because I’m too lazy to register and I don’t like feeling obligated to post, but don’t be surprised if you find a lot more food posts here in the coming weeks. Sorry, no bacon. I’ve been intending to blog more about food anyways, and this seems as good a time as any to start. One look at my food photography and it will be clear that I should stick with floof, but I am going to try anyways.

What am I doing with all these squashes?
Lotus Squash

Warning: If Lotus ever offers you some of his special Lotus Squash Soup, please know that the main ingredient is bugs that he has squashed.

This entry was posted in food, littlemiao, lotus and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Buttercup Squash and Other Yumminess on the Miao Chronicles

  1. Lauri says:

    Lol….I will be sure to leave Lotus to his own soup!
    I love squashes, too! Great pics!

  2. I do not think I will partake of Lotus’ soup. But I hope he enjoys it as much as you will the squashes, which I also LOVE.

  3. elizabethannewrites says:

    I thought that butternut squash was the epitome of squashitude, but obviously I need to try buttercup. I hope there will still be some in the stores when I get home in three weeks. I will be out of my place while renovations are done across the hall, and then I’m going to St. Paul for a singalong Sound of Music. YAY for the last bit of that, boo for the first bit.

    • littlemiao says:

      I hope you get a chance to try buttercup! I wish I could send you one. Maybe you will encounter one on your travels. I think the Whole Foods near Minneapolis (it’s actually in a suburb called St. Louis Park) has organic ones now and then. It is a very different squash from the butternut. I get so excited about buttercups that I neglect the butternuts, which is a pity.

  4. Oh brown sugar and butter! Oh lovely squash soup on a frosty evening! You’re making me wish it was really fall out here, instead of 95 degrees and sunny.

    Also, squash has been scarce at the local farmers’ market. The growers say that because we had such cool, late spring, the squash plants are behind schedule and the squash are still green. We might have to do with green pumpkins on Halloween!

    I got that cookbook, Supermarket Vegan, but haven’t tried any of the recipes yet—have you? I thought I’d cook for my son, but it was so hot while he was out here we mostly grilled outdoors or ate out.

    • littlemiao says:

      Green jack o’ lanterns sound pretty scary.

      I love the Supermarket Vegan. I’ve tried several recipes from it, maybe more than a dozen. They are really easy to put together and substitute ingredients depending on availability and taste. Sometimes she lists canned versions of things that are just as easily gotten fresh.

  5. Lurkertype says:

    Squash are good. Sometimes my kitties eat food with sweet potatoes in it, but I don’t know if I’ve ever tried them on just plain squashes.

    Lotus looks very autumnal there — or he would if he didn’t look so annoyed about the invasion of gourds.

  6. Veronika says:

    Aww, beautiful photos. Squash – and cats! Two of my (many) favorite things!

  7. Redscylla says:

    Hahaha! Thank you, Lotus, by I shall pass on your squashed soup. Perhaps I should check out the Vegan Month of Food scene, though.

  8. mariser says:

    my posting in WP has dwindled down to almost nothing, but your reference to Vegan MoFo has inspired me to go and sign-up.
    I’m not vegan, but have several favorite vegan meals I’ll share over the next month.

  9. doranyc says:

    “Warning: If Lotus ever offers you some of his special Lotus Squash Soup, please know that the main ingredient is bugs that he has squashed.”

    LMAO!!!

  10. LOL, I will politely decline Lotus’ soup.
    Shadow loves sweet potato, regular potato, yogurt, some cheese, warm carrots (he snubs cold carrots), and I think he likes mango too. Or maybe that was one he wanted to try but I wouldn’t let him because it wasn’t good for kittehs. I don’t remember. *shrug*

    • littlemiao says:

      Awww, I think Shadow and Chun have similar tastes! Chun will eat roasted carrot but not raw carrot. He *loves* roasted vegetables. He even likes the onion, which I’m pretty sure isn’t good for cats, right? I need to post a list of feline-friendly food. He also tries to eat onion skins and garlic paper when I’m cooking.

  11. lifewith4cats says:

    Lotus squash soup. hahahaha

Miao & Purr!

