Freedom for Sprocket!!

Sprocket has permission to sprocket about the house without his doughnut!

He still has to wear it when he isn’t supervised so that he won’t lick the teeny tiny little spot that hasn’t quite healed yet. So I’m guessing he’ll wear it at night, like the neck pillow that it is, so that I don’t have to listen for licking sounds in my sleep. Sprocket has no problem with change, but I do. I can’t keep my eyes on him when he is loose in the wilderness of the Miao House, and it makes me anxious. Sans collar, he can squeeze into incredibly small places. What if he finds a mouse hole and gets lost in the walls? What if, in his explorations, he is abducted by malcontent mousies who tie him up and try to make roly-poly pudding?

So far, he hasn’t posed much of a threat to the Miao Brothers, whose napping spots are all out of his reach. Poor Sprock.

He celebrated his new freedom by sprocketting around the house, running up the back stairs and down the front stairs a couple times and scavenging up leftover breakfast. Then we retreated to his room, with Chun, for some quiet time.

When he is not playing, he is bathing. He has a lot of bathing to catch up on.

In other news, he weighs 4lbs now – almost doubled since August!

This entry was posted in miao updates, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Freedom for Sprocket!!

  1. martinjh99 says:

    Yay for the little guy! Bet he’s happy!!! 😀 I know I am for him…

  2. There’s no harm in leaving the donut on when you’re not at home or when he looks like he might get himself into trouble, is there? Sprocket might not like it now that he knows what it’s like to be free, but you’ve been carrying a lot yourself lately. A little discomfort for him isn’t so bad if it means less stress for you.

    But good to hear he’s on the mend! Not that you could tell there was anything wrong with him, the way he’s been leaping and bouncing around the house!

  3. pyrit says:

    Biggest YAY ever!

  4. Freedom Smith says:

    I am so glad that Sprocket has some freedom now!! I bet he was so cute, running up and down the stairs. I am happy that he can now see Chun again!

  5. trishc1812 says:

    YaY for Sprocket!!
    I’m so happy for you and for him. Now he can go about learning how to be a three legged kitten!

    • littlemiao says:

      🙂 He’s so happy to be amongst his uncles, he’s a little ADHD, he can’t focus on a task for very long (run around the room, play with curtains, check out the food bowls, chase a kitteh tail – there’s just so much to do!).

  6. Mr. Guilt says:

    Congrats, Sprocket! So happy he finally gets to be a real kitten and romp around unhindered.

    I now need to go weigh Luna, who may be on par with Sprocket. Beso certainly outweighs them both!

  7. Laurie says:

    Happy Sprocket! If he goes into a mouse hole, you can always get him out by rattling his food dish. A growing kitten will always come for noms.

  8. Lurkertype says:

    I think we need some video of sprocketting up and down the stairs!

    It is best for him to wear the donut when you’re at work or asleep.

    He will always come for the noms, and to play with brother Chun.

    YAY!

    (TK sez: Go Sprokit! Complete a chaos! sho them who’s teh boss! I hop yu gro up big and handsum liek me.)

    • littlemiao says:

      Oh Gosh. None of the above. I’m not prepared at all! I’ve never had a kitty microchipped before. It doesn’t irritate them? He doesn’t even have a collar with his name & phone number. *sigh* I just assumed since he’ll be indoors there won’t be any danger.

      To TK: I ❤ u and want to skritch your nose. I think that you'd have fun sprocketting with Sprocket. So far, he hasn't completed a chaos yet so you'd have a lot to teach him.

      • Lurkertype says:

        He might get out of the car or out of the house. You never know. He at least needs a collar and name tag if he’s going to be a traveling kitteh. TK suggests red.

        You’d have to ask the vet if he’s big enough for a chip. It’s about the size of a small uncooked grain of rice, they put it between their shoulder bones and I’ve never heard of a kitteh complaining other than the original shot.

      • Oldcat says:

        Calpurnia came with one, I’ve never seen a sign that it bothered her.

    • littlemiao says:

      I just talked to his doctor, and it looks like he won’t be going with. Even if he got his vaccinations today, it takes at least 2 weeks to develop full immunity. I don’t want to risk anything. When I was in high school, we lost Tashi and Tantra’s brother (Rafi) to feline leukemia. He died two days after my mother brought him home. Sprocket needs his shots before he can travel.

      I’ll look into microchipping but I will definitely get him (and Chun) their own special engraved kitty tags.

      • Lurkertype says:

        Li’l Sprockey has had plenty of stress on his immune system already with his operation, so you don’t want to risk him. It’ll be better if he’s all healed up, bigger, and used to a donut-free life anyway.

        Tags are great, but kitties can lose them. TK is a Houdini at getting out of his collar, so there’s no question he needed a microchip.

  9. Oldcat says:

    I’m sure Sprocket will listen to his mommy and thus be safe from becoming Roly-Poly pudding.

    • littlemiao says:

      I should start reading him Beatrix Potter. Chun could use some cautionary tales too!

      This morning, Sprocket squeezed into the disgusting space between the oven and the cupboards where all the dust bunnies hang out. I was afraid they would eat him but I managed to lure him out with treats before any damage was done.

      • Oldcat says:

        When Cassie was a little kitten in the 80s, she used to eat the rubber bands that held the newspaper. I tried to keep her from getting them, but she got real good at snatching them. Then once I got to her, and opened her mouth and there was a little loop in the back and I pulled the whole thing back out like a sword swallower.

        The next time she got one ran and hid behind the stove to eat them in peace. She managed to expel them all out the back end safely. She soon got tired of the rubber bands and turned to other prey, to my relief.

  10. Jaypo says:

    I wish I could’ve seen that Sprocket popping around the house! Good news, littlem!

    And a chip is an excellent idea. Did you hear about that little kitteh who was reunited with her family in Colorado, after 5 yeas of being “lost.” She was in NYC! The animal folks found them from the chip in her ear. I’m getting moodle chipped next time we go to the vet.

    • littlemiao says:

      What a heartwarming story. I wonder, how did kitty get from CO to NYC? Wow. I bet she has some stories to tell.

      My mother was upset when I told her I might be microchipping Sprocket. I think she’s afraid it is part of some government surveillance conspiracy to track the activities of kitty revolutionaries. But honestly, I’ve never heard of any adverse reactions.

      *hugs* to big floofy Moodle

      • Lurkertype says:

        That’s just silly. I think it’s more important with disabled kitties — someone might find him and mistakenly think he should be put down. Or they might think he’s neglected and keep him. So he needs a chip so any vet can find out he is a Miao.

        Do the Kibbles or the other cats there go outside? Then they would definitely be exposed to things. They need their shots and ID too.

        I think Sprocket is too busy sprocketting in all directions to be in a revolution. When his fur grows in, you should get a good shot that shows the leg is missing and write up his story and send it to that calendar Sodapop is in. He could be inspirational!

        • littlemiao says:

          Maybe I’ll get them (Chun included) microchipped without telling her. I’m also getting Chun’s vaccines updated when Sprocket gets his. There’s a lot more where that silliness came from. I’ve gotten better at biting my tongue. I save my stories to share with Foxy later.

          It would be so cool if Sprocket got into the kitty calendar! I should work on that.

          • Lurkertype says:

            People can be as flaky as they want, that’s their choice. But we are responsible for our kitties and should do everything possible to protect them from illness or loss. Vaccines are so important.

            The chip doesn’t show once it’s in. Tortie’s in my lap now and I just tried to feel hers. I pushed really hard and there’s nothing.

          • Lurkertype says:

            Oh, you should take Sprockey for a few short rides in the car before trying him on the long drive. Always test-drive your kitty!

  11. leendadll says:

    HOOOOORRAAAAAYYYYYY!
    I would sending industrial catnip toys if I had you address!

  12. Pingback: Miao Chronicles Highlights of 2011 | the miao chronicles

  13. Pingback: Happy Donut Day! | the miao chronicles

Miao & Purr!

