How much has he grown?

Sprocket has grown a lot since he joined the Miao Family on 31 July 2011. Just how much is hard for me to quantify. When I first got him, we could share the same pillow. Now he has to sleep on his own pillow by my head. My impression is that he has doubled in size, but I know this is not accurate. If he doubled every month, pretty soon he would be bigger than all the Miaos combined, people included.

I should have taken pictures every week to chart his growth. I can start now. Pictures with Chun would provide scale, but unfortunately they have had only one proper photo session. Doctor’s orders (though I still hope that I can convince them to relax the rules a bit, once I explain that Chun doesn’t really make him more active, not really any more active than having people around). For now I will use a kombucha bottle for comparison. If only I had started this one month ago! This picture of Sprocket was taken on 1 Sept. The bottle is approximately 7.5 inches tall.

a 9-1-2011 12-02-09 PM

This entry was posted in you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to How much has he grown?

  1. Oldcat says:

    You could compare him to the doughnut. It is in all the shots, and the same size in each.

    He might well have doubled in weight – the end of his deprivation plus kittens naturally grow fast.
    He would taper off at some point but he more or less has to get to Chun’s size well before he is a year old.

    Calpurnia gained 2+ pounds since I adopted her, when she weighed 7.5, and she was never left outside to fend for herself. There was some difficulty with her home – perhaps she had an elderly owner who fell ill.

    • littlemiao says:

      I’ll try the doughnut comparison, but I’m afraid that in the earlier photos I didn’t have the doughnut fully inflated, so it might be deceptive. Then I took no pictures during the last two weeks of August when Prince Tweets was so sick. 😦

      I should ask them if they weighed him again.

      It’s hard to imagine Sprocket the size of Chun, but I suppose that will happen sooner rather than later. Is Calpurnia at her full weight now? She’s so fluffy so I’m guessing she looks larger than she actually is.

      • Oldcat says:

        I think the 9-10 is a good weight for her – she isn’t fat now but not gaunt either. Maybe a pound or so is fur. Gus and Julie are in the 12-13 range, so she was much lighter than them when she came, not so much now.

        This last winter when I had her trimmed to maybe half an inch of fur all over she did seem a lot smaller than normal. And the show Persians get their fur a lot longer and thicker than I let it grow.

      • Oldcat says:

        The other thing to remember is that if he doubled in height and width and lenght, his weight would be not twice, but 8 times larger. So to double the weight takes considerably less growth than that.

        • littlemiao says:

          I wish they had weighed him today. Last check, he was 3lb, up from 2.4 pre-surgery. But that was from early August.

          Ten more days until his re-check. *sigh* I asked if it could be a week but they think it should be longer.

  2. I can tell Spocket is bigger now. He doesn’t have quite so much of the “baby” look and his stance is more like a grown cat’s and less like a kitten’s. Maybe he’s the equivalent of a 6-year-old boy now?

    It’s amazing he’s grown so quickly. I’m glad you took a lot of photos of him when he was tiny. You’ll have to create a “baby book” for him!

    • Oldcat says:

      In the “Sprockitten and Collar” photo, the distance from the outside of left eye to the outside of the right eye is the same size as “Procoll” on the doughnut. In the latest picture, it looks like it is about the size of the entire word “Procollar”

      Too much engineer in the blood.

      • littlemiao says:

        I can see that now – eyes vs. procollar is a good gauge. He really has grown. And the collar looks so much bigger on him in the side views. I need to take photos from different angles.

    • littlemiao says:

      His floof has grown a lot too. His little tail has gotten so thick.

      I plan to make him a baby book. I made a photo book of Chun for my roommate from Minneapolis on Snapfish and it turned out fairly well.

  3. Lauri says:

    He is so cute…and those intelligent eyes!

  4. AuntieBellum says:

    He still has the stubby little kitten laigs, though.

    I love those crazy whiskers! LOL!

  5. Carlisa says:

    That look on his face is priceless! Skritches to your lil Sprocket. Hugs to you!

  6. Freedom Smith says:

    Oh, Sprocket is growing!! And still the blue pillow. Poor fellow. I love his coloring and the dots around his mouth. What a handsome kitty! I hope he gets the blue pillow off soon! I know you do too!

  7. Lurkertype says:

    Yes, we can see that Sprockey has definitely grown! He’s still a kitten, but not a tiny babycat.

    It will be amazing when all his floof fills in.

Miao & Purr!

