Eeek, a spider!

It does not take much these days for me to scream. Last night, I was rescuing a medium-sized ant from Sprocket. Just as I neared the door, my hand shook and it fell off the paper into oblivion or, more likely onto my hair or my pajamas. So I screamed three times, or so Papa Miao tells me, since my memory of it is rather blurred.

Today’s scream was a little screechier, but the Miao Bros & Co. were the only witnesses. I think my scream was more justified, though, hence the louder volume. I had just got back and was sitting down at the computer. Kemi jumped up to say hi in his cheerful, purry manner. He nuzzled my hand. I felt something wet. His sweet bear nose, of course. But no, actually he had brushed a brownish spider with incredibly long legs onto my hand. It had been trapped in his whiskers, which are apparently spiderwebs for spiders. It was as dead and limp as a spider can be, but my first impression was that I was being attacked by a mutant alien insect with a potentially lethal bite. Now I will feel spiders crawling over me all day.

spider trap
2011-01-18-kemi-nose

It is perhaps ironic that creepy crawlies should have such a strong effect on me, and it appears to be getting worse over time. One would think that years of rescuing spiders and insects would have desensitized me.

This entry was posted in creepy crawlies, kemi and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Eeek, a spider!

  1. martinjh99 says:

    Hehe You Go Kemi Bear!
    Seriously though it must have been a surprise! I think i would have screamed too!!!

  2. Freedom Smith says:

    Oh, I will never get over spider’s, bee’s, mice and many other things that cause me to turn into a, “screaming, jump onto the furniture,” type of person. It is inborn or hereditary. I cannot control. I am screaming before I even know that I am!

    Kemi is such a beautiful cat. He must feel that he did his manly duty by killing a spider (or maybe he did not know it was there). How do the cat’s react to the screaming? My older dog runs in to see if she can “catch” whatever it is. The puppy, Bella, has no idea what is wrong with me!

    • littlemiao says:

      You’re so right, it is out of my control. Sometimes I don’t even realize that I screamed until a few seconds later.

      I think Kemi was trying to eat dust bunnies and encountered some cobwebs instead. I need to do more cleaning! Perhaps he is trying to help out. I think the Miaos react like your Bella – they think I am more or less crazy. 🙂 Then they try to pounce on the bug, if it’s still moving.

  3. Laurie says:

    I would have screamed, too, LittleM. Sitting on my friends’ cottage deck on Saturday, a big beetle or something dropped out of the tree overhead and right onto the middle of my chest. I shrieked and jumped up and it fell off, right onto Shiraz’s shorts leg. He just brushed it away. I told him he’s now seen me at my most chickenshit. He thought it was pretty funny.

    • littlemiao says:

      I never really thought of myself as the kind of person who screams at bugs. But I guess I have been doing so for years.

      Bugs that fall from above are particularly startling, aren’t they? And then of course, if there are witnesses, teasing is inevitable.

  4. Lauri says:

    It is definitely built into our genes to shriek at creepy crawly stuff. I don’t mind snakes, or bugs, but this summer I was out walking and a garter snake slithered directly under my foot! I hopped away with one foot in the air (mostly afraid I was going to smoosh the dude) but I screamed loudly!
    And earwigs….if I find them unexpectedly I will Eeek!, too!

  5. lauowolf says:

    I’m sure Kemi was bringing you a gift.
    What a thoughtful and clever spider-catcher!

  6. trishc1812 says:

    Snakes are my irrational fear…any kind. Pictures in books/magazines, on TV/movies…doesn’t matter…I am terrified. Like, scream and run terrified. Especially if I see a real live one. At the old house (in the country) we were walking the yard with the Realtor and came across a big long snakeskin..yup…I screamed and ran, then proceeded to practically have a heart attack every time I had to go anywhere out in the yard other than to and from the car.

    Bugs, eh, for the most part they don’t bother me—if I’m outside. I don’t like bugs in my house and spiders tend to make me gasp. If I’m alone in the house I can smoosh a bug without a thought…if either one of the boys are home then I’m hopping around begging them to come kill it.

Miao & Purr!

