Quiet Time. Do not want.

Sprocket had his surgery today to repair the incision. Everything went well. Now he has both sutures AND staples. The top and bottom ends of the incision have healed well, it is just the middle part, the pressure point for his little bone. If it doesn’t heal properly, there is a risk of bone infection, which naturally has me worried.

As soon as I released Sprocket from his cage, he went wild. I was so worried about his sudden burst of activity that I called the vet even though I knew they wouldn’t have anything additional to say, apart from what we had already discussed.

The doctor ruled out giving him strong sedatives because he is too young. She also did not think that confining him to a cage would help much because the more he is confined, the more his boundless kitten energy builds up. She said confinement tends to work better in dogs and older cats, and for now I should just keep him in my room. As an experiment, I kept him in his carrier for a bit and all the while he was banging against the sides and rolling around in circles.

I’m not letting Chun in with him tonight because I know he will be too excited to see his old brother and it will take him a while to settle down. Poor neglected Chun will be sad.

I gave Sprocket rescue remedy for pets, something that I had gotten for Chun when he was waking me up at unholy hours of the night. It didn’t seem to have much effect on Chun, though he likes the taste, but I think it may have calmed Sprocket down a bit. Or maybe he just finally tired himself out.

I’m also playing a “CatCalm” cd for him that was, purportedly, designed to calm cats. Not so calm right now, though – he discovered how fun it is to play with chair legs.

fun 8-14-2011 12-33-06 PM

This entry was posted in you-sheng "sprocket". Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Quiet Time. Do not want.

  1. martinjh99 says:

    Awww ooor little lad… πŸ™‚

  2. That face! That face….is either full of wonder, or full of pain meds. Poor little baby! Small children have the same problem with recovering from surgery: they don’t understand that they shouldn’t pick at itchy sutures, or run around when they start feeling better. Usually hospitals will sedate children until their incision wounds are healed enough that infection and tearing aren’t a problem. I guess they can’t do that with mischievous cat children.

    You must be exhausted after sitting through Sprocket’s surgery and all that running around after him. I hope he lets you sleep tonight. Kitties are a worry!

    • littlemiao says:

      The photo was taken during a playtime with Chun a couple weeks ago, so it was wonder and not drugs. That reminds me, I have gone for a long while without taking new photos.

      If this doesn’t heal, maybe they will have to reconsider sedation. I need to ask them exactly why they are cautious in his case.

  3. Lauri says:

    Oh, Sprockie. This time should do the trick. Try to be patient. If only you could sit him in front of some Sesame Street…..kids can be bribed to sit still with tv!
    Hoping this does it!!!

    • littlemiao says:

      Sprocket can be bribed to sit still with food. I fed him larger servings today in hopes that the extra food will weigh him down a little bit. Of course, my plan could backfire and the extra food will probably give him extra energy.

      • Oldcat says:

        It used to be said that the way to keep a cat that had just moved from running away was to put butter on his paw. He would take the time to lick that off and by then would be used to the new place.

        Maybe you could keep buttering his front feet and he will groom them and stay put.

        • Lauri says:

          Ooooo, I like the idea of putting peanut butter on his paws. It would give him something to do and occupy him, but he would hopefully sit still and lick his paws. Hmmm.

          • littlemiao says:

            this is a great idea since the only thing that seems to occupy him other than eating is bathing. in fact, after his splash in the water dish last night, he quietly bathed himself for quite a while. The only thing is, he needs the collar off to do any grooming so I have to supervise him.

  4. Bounce on ALL the things!! *hugs and pets*

  5. Oldcat says:

    Perhaps if you play with him by dangling things above his head but in reach you can get him to exert energy with his front half and not his back half so much unti he tires out.

  6. Lurkertype says:

    Oldcat has a good idea. It’s too bad he can’t be sedated or made to watch TV. Solitary confinement it is. The Rescue Remedy can’t hurt.

    I hope you both get some sleep tonight. You can make it up to Chun-chun later, but Sprockey only gets one chance to heal up properly.

    TK is next to me and sends purrs.

    • littlemiao says:

      If this doesn’t work, then maybe the doctor will have to reconsider giving him sedation. I am worried. 😦 Later today I’ll try a cool compress on the incision because it is looking a little red to me.

      Chun was pretty understanding last night. Sprocket, however, did not truly settle down until early morning. At one point, he went diving in his water dish and he pounced on me with dripping wet paws while I was trying to sleep.

      *snuggles* to TK

  7. lauowolf says:

    Poor both of you!
    Such a kitten.

  8. Lauri says:

    Do keep us updated…we are worried, too, and if it helps to share, let us know every detail. (or de-tail)…no, let’s not even go towards de-tailing. πŸ˜›
    Sorry, my brain is very strange today.

  9. Val says:

    Sending quick healing vibes to Rocket – umm, I mean – Sprocket

Miao & Purr!

