No kitten-bouncing

Frustrating news for poor Sprockey! While it appeared to my untrained eye that his little staples were healing quite nicely, in fact what was happening was not so good after all. His upper skin layer has formed a callus while his lower skin layer is growing to the bone. Tomorrow they are going to have to do surgery again to disconnect the skin from bone. It probably healed wrong because, despite my best efforts, he is still too active. There is no way to prevent his bouncing and sprocketing, short of swaddling him like a baby and strapping him to my back.

After tomorrow, I expect it will be another 7-10 days in the collar.

Poor kittens is frustrated.

If this goes on much longer, he is going to need a new collar. He has grown a lot in three weeks and soon he’ll be able to stretch and reach his incision despite his doughnut.

In better news, I am much encouraged by the brotherly behavior of my Miaolings. Last night (or early morning, depending on your perspective), they both settled down by me for a nice long snuggle. So long as I stayed between them, all was restful. As soon as I would get up, Sprocket would bounce over to Chun to play.

fun 8-14-2011 12-08-41 PM

This entry was posted in chun, miao updates, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to No kitten-bouncing

  1. Laurie says:

    Poor little dude!

    I know it sounds harsh, but when I had a rescue cat recovering from a broken pelvis in my care, she was on “cage rest” till she was healed, so she wouldn’t bounce all over the place once she started to feel like she could. Me and my cats socialized with her through the bars and I took her out for cuddles and quiet face time with my cats, but she didn’t have any place to run around to. A dog cage lined with lots of towels and blankies might be what little Sprockey needs.

  2. Lurkertype says:

    Poor Sprocket! You might have to what Laurie said, ask the vet. Cranky had to do that once with Elvis. It sounds cruel, but it’s better than repeated operations.

    But it’s so good that the Miaolings are already acting brotherly!

    • littlemiao says:

      I’ll ask them today when I pick him up from his surgery. I sure hope they don’t think it’s necessary. I think he would get so frustrated he would throw himself against the door and then pee on the towel.

  3. Freedom Smith says:

    Awwww…Sprocket! I hope that he can heal quickly. He is so beautiful. The babies are so challenging with all of that energy. My 5 month old puppy has stitches and they did not put anything around her neck. I can’t tell that she has damaged them but I am surprised that they did not put a cone around her neck. I like the blue thing on Sprocket better than our cones!

    Get well, Sprocket!!

    • littlemiao says:

      The doughnut collar is wonderful. We got it specially because he hated his elizabethan cone collar and he would manage to wiggle through it so it was around his waist. His blue collar is actually made for itty bitty puppies. They come in different sizes.

      I hope your puppy-girl is healing nicely!

  4. lauowolf says:

    Poor kitteh!

    Seconding (or thirding) what Laurie said.
    I had a cat with a broken hip, and she just had to stay in a small area for a while.
    You sit alongside, with a petting hand in there.
    At the least, to leave him in when you aren’t around to supervise.

    Also – sounds as if your medical people are on top of things.

    • littlemiao says:

      I love our clinic. They are superbly wonderful.

      Sprocket is at an age when he doesn’t know what “quiet time” means. I think it would be easier for a more mellowed and mature kitty to handle this. Poor sprockles!

Miao & Purr!

