Prince Tantra’s final post

Prince Tantra is no longer with us. He died early this morning. After he bounced back a couple weeks ago, things started to go downhill again. I didn’t post about it because I was waiting for good news to share. We gave him constant attention and everything he needed to be happy and comfortable. The doctor said there was a chance he might pull through – if he stayed well-fed and well-hydrated. We did our best. I spent last night with him in our nest on the living room floor, but around 6am I went upstairs to spend a couple hours with Sprocket. When I came back downstairs, Tantra was gone.

Papa Miao gave him a funeral service worthy of a prince.

I can’t believe I’m writing this. It has been a long, tearful day and even though I know he is gone it does not seem real. I keep imagining that I see him in the window or hear him following me upstairs. My sweet, temperamental, and infinitely lovable Tantra always got his way, and I believe that he wanted to take his last breath in his own home. So he did.

His 13th birthday was August 8.

Tantra with lace

This entry was posted in miao updates, prince tantra and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Prince Tantra’s final post

  1. Barooooooooooo! This is so sad! 😦
    I know how you feel about it still being so hard to actually believe. *sigh*
    *hug for you, Papa Miao, and all teh kittehs*

  2. martinjh99 says:

    😦 Im so sorry to hear that – Just remember all the good times you had together.

    He sounded like a really good friendly cat. I do love that picture of him too.

  3. Oh, sad! But The Prince loved you so much, he wanted to make sure everything was okay before he took off to join the other kitty spirits. I think when a loved one is dying, they wait until you’ve left the room and then take that moment to leave to spare you any more grief.

    Still, it’s hard. Those kitties leave such a huge hole in your heart when they go. Hugs for you and the other Miaos.

  4. Oldcat says:

    I’m sorry for your loss, littemiao.

    I lost a cat I had had for twenty years and losing her was like losing half the oxygen in the air. But sometimes it is just time to go.

    And they are never really entirely gone as long as you remember them.

  5. Mr. Guilt says:

    So sorry for your lose. You clearly love all your cats, and I’m sure he knew it.

  6. Brown Suga' says:

    So sorry for your loss, LM. (((HUGS)))

    RIP, handsome Prince.

  7. i’m so sorry dear
    xoxoxoxoxxoxo for all the miao’s

  8. Lauri says:

    Big sad sigh.
    What a beautiful picture of Prince Tantra. He had a full, loving and wonderful life. You will miss him. But his little spirit will always be about.
    Hugs, littlem.

  9. I’m so sorry to hear that my dear. *hugs* for you and *pettings* for the rest of the miaos.

  10. crankypants says:

    Awwww I am so sorry to read this. Rest in peace, handsome Prince Tantra. and *hugs* to you.

  11. pegoftilling says:

    Sleep well, sweet Prince. Hugs to you and the brothers!

  12. mariser says:

    oh, so sorry to hear of your loss. Prince Tantra now belongs to the ages
    condolences to you and Papa Miao, all the Miaos, and especially to the Professor.

    one of your firsts posts in VOX was about His Princely Majesty – for the last five years Tantra has been the temperamental yet loving ruler of the Miao Chronicles, and his benign spirit will continue to watch over his feline peers and human subjects.

  13. Laurie says:

    I’m so sorry, LittleM. He was a cat of much character. Hugs to you and Papa Miao and all the Miao family who knew him so well and the little Miaolings who didn’t get to know him for nearly long enough.

  14. Drude says:

    Big big hugs LittleM.
    I’m glad that you have Sprocket and Chun and all the other Miaos to distract you and cheer you up a bit now… I bet you need some sleep and rest too.
    Hugs to papa Miao and cuddles to all the brothers and the Miaolings.
    We’ll all miss your beautiful Prince.

  15. Lurkertype says:

    Oh, littlem, I am so so sorry. I know how much you loved your Prince. We loved him too, in all his bossy handsome glory. I am glad he got to go quietly at home after a last night with you, and knowing that you were with Sprocket. He had a fabulous life, from “the Gizmo” to floofy royalty.

    ((littlem, PapaM, all the Miaos and Miaolings, esp. the Prof.))

  16. Lurkertype says:

    I remember I composed a haiku in honor of Ramses when he passed. Here’s one for the Prince, who would haunt me in a floofy sort of way if I didn’t do the same for him..

    From “Gizmo” to Prince.
    Tantra was royal to the end.
    Miss you, floofy Tweets.

  17. lauowolf says:

    I am so very sorry to hear this.
    What a regal and lovely character he was, and gentle with you to the end.
    I’m glad he spent his last days at home, surrounded by his brothers, old and new, and all the love any creature could have wanted.
    Hugs to you all.

  18. Freedom Smith says:

    I am so sorry! What a beautiful picture you posted of him. He knew how much you loved him. He had such a wonderful home. I know there will be much grief and sadness. I wish I could give you comfort.

  19. snoringKatZ says:

    My deepest heart hugs to you and Papa Miao and the brothers. I am so sad for all of you.

  20. pyrit says:

    I am so sorry to read this, Littlem. Prince Tantra leaves behind a legendary beauty. We will all miss him with you and all the Miaos. (((hug)))

  21. e2thec says:

    I am so sorry for your loss – he was a nobleman to the bone, a benevolent ruler and a wonderful companion to you and to the rest of Miao family (of all species).

    many gentle hugs for you, and – in absentia – for your lovely Prince T.

  22. So so so sorry. The kitty love of your life… It’s never easy and your true heart is the most difficult/. We are sad with you.

    Big hug,

    Lizzie & 3 kitties

  23. (((((((((((((((((((((HUGS!)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

    He had the most wonderful life a feline could dream of with you

  24. AuntieBellum says:

    Oh no, I didn’t see this before today! (Damn WP for not letting me see the WP Reader!) I’m so sorry, Little M.

    Prince Tantra was a beautiful kitty, and I know you’ll miss him very much. Heck, I’ll miss him, and I never met him.

    (((((((hugs to you all)))))))

  25. robpixaday says:

    Oh, no……
    (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((healing hugs for all of you ))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

  26. Carlisa says:

    I’m so far behind on posts! I’m sorrry, Lm…I’m sure you’re gonna miss him dearly! (((hugs)))♥

  27. Pingback: Miao Chronicles Highlights of 2011 | the miao chronicles

  28. elizabethannewrites says:

    I’m in tears reading this, even though I knew of the Prince’s transition into the other realm, I hadn’t read this post. I know you still miss him — he was a treasure, in all his Princely, Tantrolly glory.

    I think it’s still appropriate to say, “Good night, sweet prince, and flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.”

Miao & Purr!

