A tough week for Prince Tweets

This has been a tough week for Prince Tweets. Thursday, he inexplicably lost his appetite, but he was acting fine again on Friday. We weren’t too worried since he tends to get tired of his food now and then, and make up for it voraciously in the form of snacks. But Saturday and Sunday he became increasingly lethargic and wouldn’t eat or drink anything. Papa Miao gave him some food broth by syringe. I stayed up two nights with him snuggling in our cramped little upstairs hallway. This sudden turn of events was after he got an excellent report from his checkup last month – he was gaining weight again, his kidney values and blood work were stable, and the doctor was quite pleased.

We took him to the vet on Monday, fearing the worst. I couldn’t put a sentence together without breaking down in tears. What the doctor found was somewhat encouraging – his kidneys were stable (taking into account some dehydration), everything in his physical exam was normal, and the only change from three weeks ago was anemia. The doctor thought that his hyperthyroid medicine (which I suspect is slightly radioactive?) may be inducing anemia. She told us to stop giving it to him and nurse him through the next few days to see if he would bounce back. He has chronic renal issues from his acute pyelonephritis from two years ago, so ever since he was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism at the beginning of the year we have been struggling to find a delicate balance between controlling his hyperactive thyroid and protecting his kidneys. Like I mentioned, it seemed like we had reached a good balance, but suddenly things changed.

Since Monday, Papa Miao and I have been giving Tweets high calorie recovery food by syringe every few hours. We have been keeping him warm with hot water bottles and fleecies. For the first couple days, we didn’t see much change for better or worse. Then yesterday, he started to perk up. Today, he is eating by himself again and coming when he hears the sound of crunchies. He is walking around normally, grooming himself, and the tired look is gone from his eyes. I think he is still a little weak, but he is doing so much better. We take him back to the vet on Monday, and hopefully the report will be good. He has pulled back from the brink before, and if any kitty has the willpower or stubbornness to do so, it is Prince Tweets.

Poor Sheng has gotten neglected a bit, at least in terms of photos. His stitches come out on Monday, but I’m taking him in tomorrow just to make sure they are healing properly. He is currently purring on my lap. Poor Chun is so confused about things. I haven’t slept on my bed in more than a week, because first I was with Sheng in his room, and then when Tweets got sick I started snuggling with him downstairs on the living room floor since he would stubbornly return there no matter where in the house I brought him. His favorite spot is the bottom shelf of a rather elegant little end table.

Papa Miao has been so wonderful, tending to Tweets’ every need. I’m afraid to hope because things were looking so bleak, but all the signs are positive now.
Prince T, Jan 2011

This entry was posted in miao updates, prince tantra. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A tough week for Prince Tweets

  1. Oldcat says:

    Best wishes for you and Prince Tweets. Here’s hoping he keeps bouncing back.

    • littlemiao says:

      thank you! He had a nice supper all by himself tonight. He wouldn’t eat the first flavor of crunchies we offered everyone else, but when we specially opened a bag of chicken crunchies for him, he was satisfied.

  2. doranyc says:

    I hope the Prince keeps improving!

  3. leendadll says:

    awww. it’s sooo difficult when our little ones are sick and can’t tell us what’s wrong! sending good jujus.

  4. AuntieBellum says:

    Aww, hang in there, oh Princely One!

  5. Lauri says:

    He’s done so well for so long. I hope he pulls through again. It sounds encouraging!

  6. Aw, what a week for the Prince Tantra. I hope things stay complication-free

  7. Lurkertype says:

    I was wondering last night why there weren’t more photos of Sprocket (I’m going to keep calling him that till the fur grows in) (he’s so Sprockety in his collar!).

    What you and Papa Miao did for Tantra is what we used to do with Previous Kitty. I had a flashback to the syringes full of oozy fud. Glad to hear the Prince is eating again.

    • littlemiao says:

      He sprocketted down the stairs yesterday and ran into Chun, who looked thoroughly confused. He also got too close to a napping Mani who woke up to give Sprocket a full-face bop with his bigfoot paw. Since then, I haven’t let him loose amongst his uncles.

      The Prince ate some crunchies a while ago – actually, I think he ate quite a lot. He turned down some tuna & salmon gooshy food and pork flavored crunchies before we offered him the chicken, which he found acceptable. But we’re still supposed to syringe-feed him the recovery diet for him to gain weight. He doesn’t like the taste of that enough to eat it by itself. Syringe-feeding actually isn’t as difficult as I thought it would be and Tweets doesn’t seem particularly offended by the process. He has been grooming a lot today, which I take as a very good sign. He’s getting back to his preening little princely self.

      I plan to take more Sprocket photos tomorrow.

  8. I caught this late, but in a way I’m kind of glad. It sounds like the Prince is bouncing back nicely! I hope you also get some rest: between Sprocket and Tantra, you must be run ragged.

    • littlemiao says:

      Thank you! Last night I got five hours of sleep, and while it was not continuous, it was a lot more restful than before and I felt marginally human today. Tonight should be even better, as we don’t have to get up to feed Tweets as frequently. I couldn’t do this without my father. I think we make quite a good kitty-care team.

  9. Laurie says:

    I’m glad to hear Prince T is doing better, and that you have your father to help. Cat crises are hard enough, not having to manage them alone is a godsend.

  10. pyrit says:

    Aw, Prince T wanted some one on one time with you? 🙂

Miao & Purr!

