Snuffle Snuggle Mew!

Last night, I woke up to a snuffly Sheng. In my somnolent state, I panicked that he might be having trouble breathing, so I immediately took his collar off. It was difficult to manage the tiny buckle while half-unconscious. His snuffling stopped but I fell back asleep and his collar was still off. Then I woke a few minutes (hopefully not longer) later to the sound of licking. I put the collar back on.

Now, this morning, I can’t really remember what happened. He has given no evidence of having trouble breathing or having head congestion or a cold or anything. I don’t know what the snuffling was about.

sprockitten 8-3-2011 7-39-36 PM

This entry was posted in you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Snuffle Snuggle Mew!

  1. leendadll says:

    teh kewt in these photos is killlling me!!

  2. robpixaday says:

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sweetest little face!!!!!
    (((((gentle hugs))))))

  3. Laurie says:

    Was he possibly snoring? Or snuffling your hair? (My cats like to do that sometimes.)

    • littlemiao says:

      Hmmm, snoring is a possibility that I hadn’t considered. Like the faster snores they get when they’re dreaming. Maybe he was trying to snuffle his way out of the collar.

  4. Oldcat says:

    Cats have a extra scent organ, the Jacobson’s organ, in the roof of the mouth. They use the Flehmen response to draw air into the mouth. Its that look when the mouth is a little bit open and the lip is a bit curled. It gives them information about smells in the air, especially that of other cats and animals. I’m not sure if there’s any sound with it, but it’s possible.

  5. I’m going with the snoring theory since it was at night, though one of our cats had asthma and would make these odd “herk-herk” noises that would wake me up. I don’t know if that’s what you heard, but it wouldn’t hurt to tell the vet the next time you see him/her.

    • Oldcat says:

      the collar and doughnut could also be forcing him to sleep in an unnatural position thus making breathing noisy rather than blocked. Or at least at that moment, anyway.

      A while ago I heard my cat Julius ‘snoring’ which he never does, but he was sleeping with his throat on the edge of the cat tree platform and his head drooping down.

  6. Lurkertype says:

    I think he was snoring. It’s just that teeny kitten snores sound different than grown cat snores.

    Or he might have been snorting. Sometimes when kitties are sniffing something really hard, they breathe out too. TK is big on this. Snuffle. Snorfle.

    If he does it again, try rearranging him into a position where the collar isn’t pressing on him, it might have been what Oldcat said above.

    Or perhaps he has invented an entirely new noise exclusive to him!

  7. Vered says:

    i’m sure he was snoring. or maybe he was purring. or both at once.

Miao & Purr!

