monsters under my bed

Chun and Lotus have convinced me that there is Something in my room – or possibly in my walls. I have had this suspicion for months, mostly due to rustling noises in the wall, odd feline behavior, and my innate paranoia. Usually I bring Lotus into my room at night to convince myself that the Something is a figment of Chun’s imagination, and usually Lotus calms my fears by taking a nap on my bed. I know that if there is anything worthy of concern, be it a buggie, a mousie, or a dust-bunny-monster, Lotus will be the first to smoosh it. So when Lotus joins Chun in staring at the air duct (Chun’s nighttime obsession of late), I get concerned. When Lotus stalks the perimeter of my room and attacks my wastepaper basket before standing sentry in the shadows by my closet, I get even more concerned.

*gulp*

Chun’s obsession
chun meets lotus 2-1-2011 3-53-15 PM

When Chun first started getting excited about the air duct, I thought there must be something sinister in the adjoining room because the air ducts connect the two rooms, but whenever I check, there is no evidence of mice*, bugs, or monsters.

* I don’t dislike mice, but I know they make me scream and I would rather not encounter them in my house, unless they are invited guests.

This entry was posted in chun, creepy crawlies, lotus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to monsters under my bed

  1. littlemiao says:

    or maybe I just gave them too much catnip this evening.

  2. Lauri says:

    Hmmm. It could be anything! Any little noise from anywhere in the air ducts and the cats would be fascinated! I would think a mouse would have better sense then to enter the Miao household!

    • littlemiao says:

      last fall and winter the Miao House was host to a number of mice. I haven’t found evidence of them in a while. Funnily enough, more cats around does not mean fewer mice.

      • Lauri says:

        Now that you say that I remember the stories!
        It’s exactly the same here. Our cats catch voles outside, but inside the mousies play wherever they want until WE set out traps for them. I hate that!

        • littlemiao says:

          I bought two humane traps when I moved back in December (at the height of our mouse problems), but all signs of mice disappeared before I even took them out of their packaging.

  3. Lurkertype says:

    I’m not sure Chun is a good thing to go by. He is a little…. different…

    what he thinks he sees or is fascinated by, may not be anything the rest of us care about.

    • littlemiao says:

      Chun is different all right. That’s a kind way to put it. His first family would have described him as neurotic. But that’s what makes him so special and lovable, and if he hadn’t been so neurotic, I never would have gotten him.

      He might be smarter than TK in terms of IQ, being a Siamese, but in the end they’re both equally silly. I wonder how they would get along. If TK likes playing tag, they would get along great. If only we lived close enough for play dates.

  4. I’m going to bet it’s mice, but then it’s summer and you live in the Midwest. It could be bats, which could have gotten in through the vents in your heating system. We had them in our attic back in Minnesota, and they made these mysterious noises, like someone in a heavy coat creeping around upstairs. My kids thought we had a ghost, but when I finally got the courage to go in there and check, I found mice with wings! I wasn’t sure whether to be fascinated or to run down screaming.

    I put one of those sonic repellers upstairs, and within a month, our flying mice were gone.

    • littlemiao says:

      Oh, bats! I never even thought of that. Maybe some of the sounds were coming from the ceiling, too… I think when we first bought the house my parents checked out the attic but no one has been up there for years. I would be too scared to.

  5. Jaypo says:

    I bet it is mice. A friend told me her cat stares at the wall and ceiling when the meece are active. Dawn can’t hear them but the kitties do. Make sure it’s not red squirrels, they’re really hard to get rid of.

    • littlemiao says:

      I don’t think there are many red squirrels in this area, but I could be wrong. They’re so cute. Why do cute things have to be so bothersome sometimes? I’m thinking of squirrels, mice, and Chun.

Miao & Purr!

