bad day

Today was an awful day. One of those days where you wonder if you are doomed to perpetual unhappiness and your whole life has been pointless. Clearly I’m trying to run away from something but I don’t know what. And I’m afraid that most of my bridges are burnt or rotten so I don’t really know where to go.

I don’t know how I can pick up the pieces.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to bad day

  1. *hug* What happened? (you can email me the answer if you want)
    I hope tomorrow is a much better day.

    …and I still think you should come here for a visit 😀

    • littlemiao says:

      thank you, Stephel. I’ll email you, maybe in a day or two once my thoughts have settled. I think I make my life a lot more difficult and complicated than it has to be. I feel like I’ve made more bad choices than good ones and they’ve sort of led me down a dead end. *sigh*

      I’d love to visit you. 🙂 When’s the best time of year? I’m going to spend a week with my brother in July but that’s just in WI, not much of a vacation.

      • AuntieBellum says:

        There’s not really a “bad” time of year to visit Colorado. The winter weather can be iffy sometimes, but it’s not like we have a blizzard every weekend for a month. (At least, not very often, lol!)

        In my opinion, however, the weather is most pleasant in the fall. (The older I get, the the less I can tolerate temperature extremes…)

      • Who knows, the dead end might have a back alley that you haven’t found yet. I hope everything works out.

        I was thinking fall and late spring (May/early June when everything is green) are the best, although you might find the summers amazing because there humidity levels are so low. It gets hot, but it’s a dry heat

  2. I’m so sorry you had a crappy day. I want to tell you like Scarlett O’Hara, “Tomorrow is another day,” but that always seems so facile, so pat. I will keep you in my thoughts and hope things get resolved with time. Big ((HUGS)) for you and the miaos too.

    • littlemiao says:

      Thank you. I guess Scarlett was right this time, things aren’t looking quite as apocalyptic today. But I’m going to have to work hard to get out of this trap that I’ve helped set for myself. I need to trust my instincts for once even if they lead me down a more difficult path. I just hope I’m not too lost to find where I’m going…

  3. Lurkertype says:

    Kitty hugs will help. The Miao Bros. and cousin love you and we do too.

    You can always visit here, too — I’m sure TK would love to meet you!

  4. Drude says:

    Big hugs (((Little Miao))) it’s just a bad day… some days just are that way… other days aren’t.
    – and no, even messed up major mistakes in life aren’t pointles – you live, you learn.
    You burn bridges, you build new ones… building new ones is a skill you can get better at with practice – like everything else… and sometimes it’s also worth it to try whether those old bridges are really completely burnt or just a bit blackened on the surface…

    • littlemiao says:

      Thank you, Drude. I do plan trying out those old bridges. To continue the metaphor, I’m kind of scared they’ll collapse and I’ll fall into some deep chasm but I guess if I don’t try I’ll never know.

  5. Laurie says:

    I’m sorry you’re having a rough time. (((hugs)))

  6. crankypants says:

    Yeah, what Drude said. Often we make choices that seem so right at the time, and end up wrong, but later on you may see the value in them, or at least just the lesson that you learned from making the bad decision, it makes you smarter in the end. And, dead end, shmed end, you never know where life, and your decisions, will take you. Even if you’re in a rut, just keep trudging through it because it won’t last. I hope today is better for you, sorry you’re feeling bad. Go huff some kitties!

    • littlemiao says:

      I’ve huffed a lot of kitties today and I do feel better. And I keep reminding myself that if I had made different choices, I probably wouldn’t have had the chance to adopt Chun. So that makes every wrong turn I may have taken worth it.

  7. Lauri says:

    So many good words here from the peeps!
    Some days are days that just have to be survived. Then, for reasons unknown, the next day or the next one feel better and solutions start to appear.
    I always tell myself to let the bad things go over and through me like a wave in a lake. Tolerate it, live through it and it passes.
    And what everyone said….some decisions do seem like bad ones, but every single one is a learning opportunity, so nothing is ever wasted.
    Big hugs, little miao!

    • littlemiao says:

      Thank you, Lauri. A wave in a lake… I like that image. Solutions are what I need, and I guess at this point it is up to me to figure them out. Yesterday things seemed so hopeless and I felt like such a failure and so angry at myself for making choices that I knew at the time were not a recipe for happiness but they were easy, less risky choices. Now I’m stuck with the consequences and, as predicted, not too happy. But I’m tired of living like that and hopefully I will now take steps to assemble the pieces of my life in a better way.

  8. AuntieBellum says:

    Sorry you had such a rotten day yesterday! (((hugs)))

    I hope today is much better.

    And if you visit Cap’n Stephel, I wanna meet you, too!!! (Ooh…maybe we can go back to the Cheeky Monk and have another cinnamon cream cheese waffle!)

  9. LBeeeze says:

    I’m so, so sorry you’re having such a tough time. Give yourself some breathing space and try not to panic. I hope you’ve got someone to talk to. Take care.

    • littlemiao says:

      thank you LBeeeze. I can’t imagine where I’d be without people to talk to, my brother in particular who has patiently put up with my angst over the last few days and has even given me sage advice.

  10. Jaypo says:

    I’m adding lots of (((hugs))) to all of those up there. I so hope you’re having a better day today, littlem.

    With my typical realistic-optimism…hard times are valuable times, even when we’ve done things we’re embarassed or ashamed of. They’re so worth examining, inside and out. You’ll be ok. I’d simply say this: Make sure you’re the responsible one for the mess. And always listen to your instincts. Moar fuzz hugs and email if you want.

  11. leendadll says:

    so sorry. sending jujus for fancy new bridges to take you where you want to go!

  12. elizabethannewrites says:

    Oh, LittleM — I haven’t been around here nearly enough, but I want to add my warm thoughts to all that everyone else has sent. Sometimes what looks like the bottom of things is just the part of the trampoline bounce that has to go low before it can send us up into new heights. That sounds corny, but some of my lowest times have led to some of my best growing, learning, stretching times full of possibility. I hope it will be so for you. *many many hugs*

Miao & Purr!

